Reviews - A1 Summerville Guest House


33 Orchard Road, Whickham,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4TG

Price From 136.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (23)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • R Gardner

  • October 2014

good quiet location if you have a car to get into Newcastle

This is a semi-detached house In Whickham, quite close to the A1 by the metrocentre turnoff, and about 15 minutes drive from the centre of Newcastle.

I understand there are restaurants within walking distance if wished. Parking is on the street, just off the main road. Paul was very helpful and did a good breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds, and a bath. A couple of small points for improvement: the towels had seen better days - time for replacement - and the radiator could do with a lick of paint, but otherwise a quiet and comfortable stay.

  • Carol I

  • August 2014

Friendly, excellent value

An unexpected visit to the hospital meant I didn't get breakfast.

The proprietor was really friendly, couldn't do enough to help. The breakfast room has facilities like TV, ironing board etc for guests- and a phone book which was very handy for finding a local taxi at 5.20 on Sunday morning. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Basic but up to date fixtures and fittings, plenty of hot water on Saturday evening. Brilliant value for money, strongly recommended.

  • S Pearce

  • August 2014

I stayed here following the other reviews on Late rooms and would throughly recommend it.Paul was really welcoming and helpful throughout my entire stay.

The room was clean as was the ensuite. The area was quiet yet close to the A1 for travellers. Paul recommended some nice Pubs to eat in and his local knowledge was excellent. The range of breakfast choice was far more than more expensive places that I looked at and also delicious . I throughly recommend this B&b and if I return to the area I will certainly stay again.

  • A Rayner

  • August 2014

Small but perfect

Small friendly guest house at the right money.

My room was small but perfectly functional, very clean & did the job. I was working long days, out by 07:00 and not back till after 23:00.

Breakfast started at 07:00 as I was leaving but the host but me up Bacon & Sausage baps to go - top fella.

  • jackie b

  • July 2014

Fab & friendly place to stay

Paul, the owner is a really nice friendly guy.

the place itself was so easy to find and spotless with a really homely feel to it.... our first ever trip to Newcastle and Summerville was literally minutes away from the place we needed to be. Nice quiet area but minutes from restaurants/Metro Centre. Lovely comfy bed and full en-suite bathroom. Breakfast good variety from cereal to cooked. Would definitely recommend/stay here again....... A real little gem!. thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Mike Kay

  • June 2014

10 out of 10

everything well good

  • Andrew R

  • May 2014

wish I had found here sooner

Wish I found this place sooner and then I would not have wasted a lot of expence on other well known over priced and over rated establishments who do not deliver what they say.

A good comfortable and welcoming B&B which does what it says on the tin. Location is ideal for visiting anywhere around the Newcastle area and Paul the owner does a mean full English, other options available. Will be using here again definitely.

  • D Purves

  • April 2014

Nice quiet place to stay.

Me & a friend very much enjoyed this stay, great value for money.

I would say it's more for someone that wanted a quiet night away but would most definitely still stay here again.

  • Warren J

  • March 2014

Spot on accommodation

Really nice room & the proprietor was genuinely friendly, would not hesitate in recommending this B&B whether on business or touring the area.

  • Jeanette R

  • March 2014

Excellent!. Would recommend this B&B to anyone,

Could not fault this place.

It was great value for money, the cleanliness , food and customer service were of a very high standard indeed, The location is perfect too - pubs and restaurants only a very short walk away virtually on the door step. For keen shoppers, the Metro Centre is also within walking distance.