No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old School

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Newton-on-the-Moor, , , Alnwick, NE65 9JY
Nestled in the heart of rural Northumberland in the tranquil conservation village of Newton on the Moor is the 2010 winner of the national B&B of the year - The Old School. Ample on-site free parking Free wifi access A short easy walk to one of Northumberlands best coaching inns - offering exceptional bar meals and fine dining in it's restaurant Easy to find - a half mile off the A1 Short drive to Alnwick and coast A short drive from the acclaimed Northumberland coastline. Designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, this superb stretch of coast is also home to one of Britain’s best views - Bamburgh Castle - and other jewels including the Holy Island of Lindisfarne and the Farne Islands. Nearby is the bustling market town of Alnwick where you’ll find attractions such as Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter fame, The Alnwick Garden and Treehouse and superb Alnwick Rum!
Picture of The Old School, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old School, Newton on the Moor
The Old School B&B is one of the very best we have stayed. The owners, Yvonne and Steve made us feel very welcome on our arrival. The room we had was excellent with all the facilities you need. It was very evident they had gone to great trouble to think of everything a guest would need for their stay. Breakfast was freshly cooked and generous and prepared from locally sourced producers. The location is very attractive and peaceful with a beautiful garden. It is easy to access from the A1 and the local pub/restaurant serves excellent food and is only 5 minutes walk from the Old School. In short it is a superb place to stay and relax. I would recommend it to anyone without reservation as it is one of the very best.

Reviewed by
Rodney Herbert

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived to a warm welcome from Yvonne and Steve given a tour of the school then tea and cake which after a very long drive was very much appreciated. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We most certainly will be going back.

Reviewed by
Y Anderson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
My partner and I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Schoolhouse. This really is a gem. A warm welcome and lovely house. The room was lovely with a lot of attention to detail, very comfortable. We had a room overlooking the garden which was very beautiful with woodland beyond the lovely garden. The setting is idillic with a wonderful Inn a short walk from the B&B. I can honestly say this was one of the highlights of a wonderful stay. The food was excellent and the dining room at the Inn is very nicely decorated. Breakfast at the Schoolhouse was fantastic, all freshly cooked to order, in fact the whole experience was faultless. We will certainly be returning in the near future.

Reviewed by
H Lewis

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful birthday weekend at The Old School
We received a very warm welcome from Yvonne and Steve on arrival and were served tea and cake which we had on the balcony in the sunshine overlooking the beautiful garden.
The room was lovely, the breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
Yvonne had booked us into the nearby pub/restaurant ,Cook and Barker, in the village for the Saturday night, we had a fantastic meal there, so good we returned on the Sunday evening.
We had a wonderful time in Northumberland and will definitely be back to stay at The Old School.

Reviewed by
Catherine Kirkland

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome on our arrival, Yvonne and Steve could not have been more friendly and treated us as friends to their delightful home, would highly recommended the old school . Thank you both so much for your kindness.

Reviewed by
N HARNESS

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation in a Beautiful Location.
We were looking for somewhere to stay for a relaxing and romantic weekend away; and a weekend escape from the kids. After reading some great reviews on trip advisor we booked up and were not dissapointed. We were greeted with a warm reception, and were offered cake and beverages which we enjoyed outside our bedroom over looking the gardens. I couldn't fault the bedroom it was clean, comfortable and the ensuite was spotless. I felt there was the right balance between being friendly and not intruding on your holiday. We enjoyed a lovely day out at Cragside and Alnwick and finished off with a sumptuous meal at the 'Cook and Barker' which is just walking distance from the b&b. This B&B is ideally located in the heart of Northumberland, one of englands true hidden secrets.

Reviewed by
Gary Higgs

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old School House
My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay with Yvonne and Keith. They made us very welcomed from start to finish. The accommodation is to a very high standards. It is in a very rural area but near enough to get to the local attractions. A very good public house near by for meals. Will be returning again

Reviewed by
Hazel Page

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant little find!
We stayed for two nights and can't praise this place enough. We were greeted with tea and cake and the resident partridge. Yvonne and Steve made the stay an absolute pleasure and couldn't do enough for us. The pub and the end of the road is really lovely and although we didnt eat there, the menu looked very appetising and the place had a great atmosphere. The bedroom was comfortable with a nice en suite and view of the gardens. You can understand why they have won awards for their breakfasts - perfect poached eggs. If we head back up north-east we will definitely stay here again (if they're not fully booked!)

Reviewed by
Amy Dobrucki

From IPSWICH, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northumbrian short break
Everything about this accommodation and the couple who own it could not be better.Both Yvonne and Steve could not be more hospitable and deserve every success in this venture.We will certainly be back to this bed and breakfast and its beautiful location.
Christine and Brian.

Reviewed by
Brian Gilmour

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.