No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beach House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Beach House Hotel, 12A St Aidans, , Seahouses, NE68 7SR
The Beach House is family run and is praised for its relaxed "home from home" atmosphere, which the owners, Malcolm and Hazel, have striven to create. In its idyllic location, the Beach House is set back about 60metres from one of the most beautiful stretches of heritage coastline that Northumberland has to offer. The golden sands stretch to the neighbouring village of Bamburgh and beyond, where one of the most magnificent castles in England can be explored. The Beach House has proved over the years to be the place to stay if you love walking. bird watching, photography etc, the list is endless, or just a place to relax and enjoy the magnificent scenery which begins at the Beach House and continues in every direction for miles upon miles of unspoilt coast line and countryside which must be one of the best if not THE best in England. The lounge, dining room and bar have panoramic views of the Farne Islands, situated 3 miles out to sea. The Farnes are now a nature reserve, home to a large seal colony and many different species of seabirds including puffins, cormorants and oyster catchers. However they will always be famous for their historic past, once being a sanctuary for St Cuthbert, and more recently for the heroic efforts of Grace Darling in her bid to save the survivors from the Forfarshire steamship. With boat trips available from the local harbour hundreds of visitors return year after year to enjoy the many delights to which this group of no fewer than 28 islands have to offer. There is a good choice of Restaurants. A file containing the menus of these Restaurants is available in the Reception area. Our staff are very approachable and will see to all your needs, making your stay relaxing & enjoyable. Enjoy the freedom and space this County has to offer and leave all those worries and stresses behind. Simple.
Picture of Beach House, Seahouses at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B by the sea
Great staff, lovely breakfast, superb location with views to the Farne Islands and a clean tidy room. Great value to. What more could you want from a B&B.

Reviewed by
Kerry C

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The main issue was that the hired staff were not very good, namely during the breakfast service. Food orders were late, incorrect and the waitress was not trained

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief stay but lovely
My partner and I were on a lightning visit and only stayed one night but the room was very nice, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was prompt and nice; served by friendly staff and the location was brilliant - away from all the hustle and bustle but only a few minutes walk away from everything. My only issue was the curtains were so pale and flimsy the sunlight came thorugh easily and I could not sleep, I was awake from around 2am trying to get back to sleep, but I do find light more disturbing than the average person - I sleep with a blackout blind and curtains at home!

Reviewed by
Yvonne L

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beach house review
The accommodation was in a lovely location, beautiful sea views from our room window. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was busy at breakfast time maybe extending the breakfast period may help.

Reviewed by
s melrose

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beach house

Reviewed by
Phil E

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exsellent place to use as a base for Coastal Stay.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was a delight that set you up for the entire day! We founds the beds too soft for our sleeping arrangements. Staff are a delight and hold a good knowledge of the area.

Reviewed by
Leigh Walker

From Meldreth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disabled
The best room we have stayed in with regard to my diability. Provided much more than expected. Very impressed.

Reviewed by
D Fitzpatrick

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was sparse & could have done with a console & mirror. Walls thin & noisy

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seahouses revisited
Staff were very friendly (we've read several reviews that said this) but often not very efficient. They couldn't cope at breakfast because there were so many guests and one waitress was also in charge of reception. Tables were missing certain items etc. - extra staff should be employed at busy times. When we asked about vegetarian sausages the waitress said the chef was unable to provide them However, as we were leaving and talking to the chef he said he had got some vegetarian sausages in his freezer! We had stated on the booking form that we didn't eat meat. Needed help with the tv remotes - a note about this would have been helpful. Also instructions about the shower as we didn't seem able to change it from being far too hot!

Reviewed by
helen c

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb View
We stayed for 3 nights at The Beach House and I paid extra for a seaview room. It was lovely looking out of the window and seeing the sea. We were lucky with the weather. It was just a short stroll into Sea houses.
The room was on the small size but very clean and comfortable.
One girl seemed to man the desk, serve breakfast and also run the bar! She did well but I think an extrapair of hands were needed.
All in all though an enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
D Blair

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next