No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Beach House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Beach House Hotel, 12A St Aidans, , Seahouses, NE68 7SR
The Beach House is family run and is praised for its relaxed "home from home" atmosphere, which the owners, Malcolm and Hazel, have striven to create. In its idyllic location, the Beach House is set back about 60metres from one of the most beautiful stretches of heritage coastline that Northumberland has to offer. The golden sands stretch to the neighbouring village of Bamburgh and beyond, where one of the most magnificent castles in England can be explored. The Beach House has proved over the years to be the place to stay if you love walking. bird watching, photography etc, the list is endless, or just a place to relax and enjoy the magnificent scenery which begins at the Beach House and continues in every direction for miles upon miles of unspoilt coast line and countryside which must be one of the best if not THE best in England. The lounge, dining room and bar have panoramic views of the Farne Islands, situated 3 miles out to sea. The Farnes are now a nature reserve, home to a large seal colony and many different species of seabirds including puffins, cormorants and oyster catchers. However they will always be famous for their historic past, once being a sanctuary for St Cuthbert, and more recently for the heroic efforts of Grace Darling in her bid to save the survivors from the Forfarshire steamship. With boat trips available from the local harbour hundreds of visitors return year after year to enjoy the many delights to which this group of no fewer than 28 islands have to offer. There is a good choice of Restaurants. A file containing the menus of these Restaurants is available in the Reception area. Our staff are very approachable and will see to all your needs, making your stay relaxing & enjoyable. Enjoy the freedom and space this County has to offer and leave all those worries and stresses behind. Simple.
Picture of Beach House, Seahouses at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beach house hotel
Booked for two nights for our anniversary but stayed for four nights to make a long weekend it Malcolm and Hazel were very helpful and accommodating

Reviewed by
M Griffiths

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay

Reviewed by
Frances H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seahouses guest house/ hotel
Superb guest house with friendly helpful staff our third visit and will return again. First class breakfast and good service. Sea view rooms are excellent and comfortable

Reviewed by
robert w

From Bishop Auckland, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing, not as advertised
Cramped twin room and very cramped en suite shower and toilet, only one bedside table and lamp to share, thin walls, television in room not working, bar not in operation, no wi fi in room and fitful and slow in lounge area close to router, never anyone at reception. However breakfast very good served by friendly staff. Wouldn't stay again and would't recommend.

Reviewed by
Janis B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great sea View
Lovely hotel, booked late
Included a lovely cooked breakfast
Room was clean and tidy, quick walk into Seahouses and beach

Reviewed by
Dallas Newton

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, clean, good food,great location, would recommend to others

Reviewed by
Valerie P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great View
Very good sea view from our room. We discovered the fold up chairs for watching TV (located in the wardrobe) as we were about to leave. Maybe, permanent chairs would be better. There were 3 of us in the family room - beds all sorted but only 2 lots of glass tumblers, mugs & towels .... we needed to ask for the extras.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only issue we had was the bed. The mattress could do with replacing.
The bathroom was lovely but the shower wasn't very powerful.

Reviewed by
P Frost

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A overnight stay on way to Aberdeen.
A little disappointed requested Sea view, got back of property. TV so small difficult to operate gave up in end. We came back at 8.45pm from a meal in town only to find Bar was being shut as we entered the doorway. Very Clean, breakfast good room very small and overall Travel Lodge standard! Would not recommend.

Reviewed by
T Buck

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange One - I go along with 'Trevor D' review
The Hotel is in a really great location and is well presented and decorated. However a few things things really let it down for us. Firstly on arrival a woman at reception (the owner?) was on what was clearly a private phone call and nodded us towards a bell push so we could check in as reception isn't always manned... First impressions and all that...reminded me of 'Sybil' from that infamous hotel in Torquay. Parking is not great. We had to wait to try and get a parking space - an Asda van was doing a delivery to a neighbouring property which was blocking access - but ended up having to park in the front of the hotel, which was reserved for disabled residents and as the hotel in situated in a private road, one can't on the street. The TV in the room was mounted on the wall but was so small one needed binoculars to see the screen from the bed as there were no chairs in the room. Also, although there were two remotes, I could only get BBC1 with subtitles as none of the two remotes worked properly. Every hotel nowadays offers wi-fi but like so many other places, it is worse than useless. Ok I know one is on holiday and TV / wi-fi shouldn't be vital, but when you want to check the weather for travel (the tail end of a hurricane was being promised) one can feel you're not getting a proper service / value for money. If one offers a TV in every room and free wi-fi, it should be appropriate and properly working. Finally, and this clinched it, the food was just poor. The waitress 'forgot' us and when the fried breakfast arrived, on a side plate, it was very small - apart from a slice of bacon, there was one Chipolata Sausage, a Fired Egg was that was dried up and the Fried Bread was 'one quarter' of a large slice of bread. I particularly wanted to stay at Seahouses and the ad for the Hotel sounded great, but for us, this place didn't meet my expectations and was a disappointment all because, for us, a lack of customer focus.

Reviewed by
Steve Brind

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next