No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ravensmede Cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
6 Ravensmede Cottage, Alnmouth Road, , Alnwick, NE66 2PY
Ravensmede cottage is an old Victorian cottage which dates back to 1870. Originally built as stables and outbuildings to Ravensmede House. The cottage is situated on the outskirts of the old historical market town of Alnwick in Northumberland. Ravensmede Cottage is close to the centre of Alnwick, an historic market town and County Town of Northumberland. Situated on the River Aln, this picturesque place has a theatre, a good range of quality shops and a wide range of restaurants and public houses. Nearby, the famous Alnwick Garden is only a short walk away. It's the perfect base for whatever kind of break you need - romantic, active, entertaining, relaxing. Alnwick is of course well known due to its historic castle. To many people, their first sight of this glorious medieval castle can seem foreboding, and certainly its history lacks nothing in drama and intrigue. Some of you may recognise it as a film location, for everything from Harry Potter to Elizabeth to Becket to Blackadder. NO CHILDREN, NO PETS. PLEASE NOTE: When you sign the registration form on arrival you are agreeing to respecting our property and our other guests by not smoking and keeping the noise down and obeying the internet laws which include NO illegal downloads or hacking. You will be removed from the property if you do not abide by these requirements.
Picture of Ravensmede Cottage, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful owners.

Reviewed by
John Dodd

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice little place
very comfy room indeed. i would deffo stay again.

Reviewed by
M M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place
Ravensmede was a lovely little place with only two rooms. Our room was beautifully kitted out with little touches like bath robes and slippers. The bed was one of the comfiest hotel beds I've slept in for a long time. Breakfast was excellent quality and plentiful.
One minor criticism is the late check in. 16.30 is quite late especially when you've had a long drive. Mind you it was a lovely place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to friends and family :)

Reviewed by
ANDREW D

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful in every way.
Lovely room overlooking garden full of remarkably healthy hostas. The couple could not have been more welcoming or helful. Breakfast delicious with wide choice. I'd certainly stay again if back in Alnwick.

Reviewed by
Donald H

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet property in a convenient location for car access and local attractions.
Ravensmede cottage was a pleasure to stay in. We were made very welcome by the owner who kept our room well prepared and supplied during our 3 night stay replenishing water, tea, coffee and biscuits every day. Good choice of cooked breakfasts + cereals, fruit and yoghurt.
It is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Alnwick, the castle and gardens and local restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending Ravensmede to other travellers.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely B&B located just on the outskirts of Alnwick. Clean and very contemporary. Loved the room.
A lovely little B&B in a quiet location on the outskirts of Alnwick. Ideal for exploring the area , though i was here on business. Very clean , warm , comfortable and quiet. Nice touches in the room with bottled water , biscuits , posh toiletries etc... Friendly host who was there if you needed anything but left you to yourself.
The room was very contemporary and well styled with a very comfortable bed and huge bathroom. couldn't fault it - all perfect and great value for money. Would easily say its 4* plus. Ideally one of the best B&B's I have stayed in to date.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend of peace
A nice quiet bed and breakfast with a short walk to town centre. Good quality food. Comfortable room with ensuite.

Reviewed by
Caroline H

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely Stay - Highly recommend. Owners really friendly, room great, lovely food.
I really enjoyed my time at Ravensmede cottage, its in a very quiet street. The room and ensuite bathroom were immaculate, and beautifully decorated. Its in a good location, nearby to Alnwick town centre and really close to Barters Books. Very small B&B, which was nice. The lady who ran it was very friendly and gave useful information about the surrounding area. Breakfast menu was great really yummy food!

Reviewed by
Kim H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good better than most hotels
This B and B is very good, very clean tidy and decked out like new. service is great and better than some hotels

Reviewed by
Martin Tomkins

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ravensmede Retreat
A very nice and cosy B&B, well run and friendly. I would happily stay here, again.

Reviewed by
John T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next