No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Post Office

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7 Spinnerbottom, , , Birch Vale, SK22 1AA
Located approximately 300 yards from Sett Valley Trail, two miles from foot of Kinder scout,of mass trespass fame,and two miles from Torrs millenium walkway, New Mills. Ideal for walkers and cyclists or lazy breaks. The Old Post Office - Around Us is The Peak District is famous for walking and many quality local walks can be taken right from the door step. The most famous local walk being Kinder Scout but that is only the start. With the “Sett Valley Trail” (reaching from Hayfield to New Mills) within a few hundred yards, bike rides are also a big favour with visitors. Even if your stay is to be more sedentary our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible. Our rates are some of the best around with service and comfort coming first what ever the price! Nobody likes it when prices are hiked up during so called “high seasons”, so we don’t! Same rates all year round, nice and simple.
Picture of The Old Post Office, Birch Vale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly couple very helpful always a smile and nice greeting.
Good advice on where to eat.

Reviewed by
alan edwards

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming from the moment I arrived would defiantly recommend.

Reviewed by
Mike Tring

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My accommodation
It was a very pleasant and relaxed place to stay, the only down side was I didn't have a television, but I don't have them whenever I go anywhere under canvass and also when I go abroad, even if I do have one, there's nothing I can do with it because everything's in a foreign language. So overall a very nice quiet accommodation.

Reviewed by
M Liberty

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and personable hosts
John and Joan the couple running the B&B very personable and very helpful. Clean room, comfy bed and a great breakfast

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality
Only thing was no TV all else spot on.

Reviewed by
S Mirfin

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Post Office

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value and Lovely Hosts!
Although this was a very short stay, it was a warm and welcoming B+B.
The hosts, Joan and John, are genuinely nice people. Because of them it felt like
a familiar place rather than an anonymous B+B chain.
I would love to visit again.

Reviewed by
Farshid M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A few suprises
Although the accomodation was adequate, it was not as advertised on the late rooms.com website.
e.g. It was a shared bathroom and not en suite, there was no telly in the room.
I think it's time to sort out your advertising, you never know when someone might inform your governing body of the discrepancy!

Reviewed by
m Collins

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
The room was ok. Very basic.

Reviewed by
Aneta O

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Hosts
Room not ensuite and no TV, but made up for by the friendly hosts. Be prepared, this is a proper old-style BnB, i.e. rooms in someone's house.

Reviewed by
A Ineson

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next