No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innisfree Cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Tideswell Lane, , Eyam Hope Valley, Eyam, S32 5RD
Our double ensuite has stunning, uninterrupted views towards Bretton and the twin room with private bathroom have views over the village and adjoining fields. These rooms are the only rooms situated on the first floor and ideal for two couples or families. Our new double room is situated on the ground floor and has a private bathroom with shower. Bath robes are offered in the twin room and downstairs double room for use when accessing the private bathrooms. Unexpected luxuries such as chocolates, biscuits, fresh flowers and fluffy towels ensure an unforgettable experience at an affordable price. The breakfast room is delightful with individual tables where guests can enjoy a full English breakfast with local produce complimented with a fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. There is a library of DVDs, books, maps and magazines on offer for guests. Packed lunches are available on request at £3.50 each. Innisfree Cottage is situated on the edge of the village but within easy walking distance of the village pub where excellent evening meals are available. There are several tea rooms and within the Eyam Hall complex there is a craft centre and a Greek restaurant. There are several excellent pubs and an Indian restaurant within a 5 - 10 minute drive of the village. Eyam is famous as the historic plague village; the stories behind this are depicted in the village museum and church. The original cottages and buildings from the era still remain and can be visited by guests as they wander through the village. The Peak District is an exceptional area renowned both nationally and internationally for rock climbing and caving and there are also ample cycle & walking trails. The famous Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall (featured in the film 'Jane Eyre') is a 15 minute drive from us and further afield are varied attractions such as the Blue John Stone in the caverns at Castleton, the architecture and baths of the spa town of Buxton and the famous market town of Bakewell.
Picture of Innisfree Cottage, Eyam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at Innesree Cottage
Very friendly service from a lovely host Pauline, excellent accommodation with comfy beds and a superb breakfast to set you up for the day, we will be returning hopefully summer 2015, The Miners Arms is 15 minutes walk and is well worth a visit for dining also The Bulls Head Inn in Foolow has excellent food, the Landlord even gave us a lift back,
Dave and Jane from Grimsby.

Reviewed by
D Stenhouse

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a break
The room, service and food was perfect, in an excellent but quiet location. Everything was done to make you feel at home. I would heartily recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Martyn Clarke

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, lovely service, great breakfast
Very pleased, lovely little place with lovely service and a cracking breakfast. Just a very short walk away from the village centre, perfect location.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and very accomodating!
We used a satnav to find the b&b, which was great getting us there but unfortunately took us round the houses a bit and we ended up not quite knowing whether to go up or down the road to find it. The owner told me this happens a lot so it is worth ignoring satnavs and driving through the village before going up the hill to the b&b.
The owners were outside waiting for us when we arrived, which was nice and there was plenty of space for car parking. (This is always a worry for me as I am a new driver and parking isn't my strongest point!)
We were shown to our room, which was nice but quite cramped. We had an upstairs room with ensuite. All decorated wonderfully and lovely and clean. But as it was upstairs in a loft conversion, my 6'2 boyfriend did bump his head a couple of times! The view from our room was amazing over the hills.
It was a hot night so we needed to keep the windows open in the bedroom and the bathroom to let the air travel through. The bedroom window was a small and we could have done with a fan.
We decided to eat at the local pub the Miners Arms but after our stroll through the village looking at all of the interesting plague plaques we were disappointed to learn that the pub stopped serving food at 8pm! It was only 8.10 :( We are used to pubs serving food a lot later than this in our area so maybe we were a bit naïve there!
We drove to a spar shop which was in the next village about 5 mins drive away and had to buy bread and make sandwiches instead of eating out which was a shame.
We slept very well, apart from being a bit hot. The bed was lovely and comfortable. I am quite a light sleeper in the mornings though and I did get woken up at 6.15 by the owners going about their business. I also think there was a toilet next to our room as I heard someone going very early through thin walls!
We went downstairs at about 9.15 for breakfast after having a shower. The shower was nice but the power did cut off at one point for about ten minutes and I had no water. My boyfriend was told they get a lot of power cuts and this was quite normal!
Breakfast was served in a lovely sunny room and was very tasty. The owner was accommodating with our various menu changes.
Overall it was a lovely stay and I definitely would recommend staying here if you are an early riser and don't mind driving up steep hills. The only reason we wouldn't come back is we felt a little bit too much as though we were on top of the owners as the house is quite small. (even with our own entrance and hallway)

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for a very informative review on Innisfree Cottage. For future customers I would like to clarify a few points made in the review. The Miners Arms generally stop serving food at 9.00 pm. However on occasion they have been known to send the chef home early if they have no customers, which is why I always advice guests to phone ahead and book to avoid this happening. As this was a Monday evening I suspect they were not too busy and this is what happened. There are also several pubs all serving late within a 5-10 minute drive, plus a lovely Indian Restaurant, which will serve until 11.00 pm and the owners have even been know to offer guests a lift home!! The problem with the shower was not caused by a power cut as first thought but a household fuse which had tripped the main switch. It took a few minutes to realise this and retrieve the power, so once again apologies for the inconvenience. Innisfree Cottage has its own guest entrance and the owner's accommodation is separated from the guest accommodation by a door marked private. Sometimes guests require an early breakfast and I cannot remember if this was the case on this occasion but generally I do not enter the dining room to put breakfast items out until 7.50 am in order that guests are not disturbed. Once again many thanks for some very positive comments and I hope this has clarified a few of the negative comments.

Reviewed by
Georgina Richmond

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint Peak District Retreat
Perfect stay when going on a couple of days walking in the Peaks. Brilliant host and lush full English. Could not have asked for more.

Reviewed by
J McLaughlin

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, home from home
Cosy room, very clean, well decorated and furnished. Nice quality touches.

Reviewed by
L Richardson

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean room, friendly hosts and delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
m s

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Lovely accommodation in a beautiful village with easy access to nearby places of interest

Reviewed by
Graham Caffull

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

innisfree cottage eyam
exceptionally clean room and bathroom. There was a good choice of breakfasts and they were an excellent quality. Very friendly, helpful service.

Reviewed by
M Scott

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you are travelling to Eyam area you will not find a better place to stay.
Absolutely superb - Pauline is so friendly and nice and could not do enough for us. The breakfast just could not be beaten - wonderful. I can definately recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next