No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Causeway House B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Back street, , , Castleton, S33 8WE
Welcome to Causeway B&B. Come and Stay in our delightful 14th Century Cruck Cottage Causeway House is a gem. Comfortable accommodation with all the conveniences of the 21st century in a 14th century cruck cottage with huge original oak timbers that ooze history. Whether you’re staying for a single night or a whole week, Janet and Nick Steynberg will make sure your stay is an unforgettable experience; one you’ll want to return to again and again. We have five bedrooms, three luxurious en-suites and two with shared facilities. Our Garden Room is on the ground floor and is ideal for guests who prefer to avoid stairs, although there are a couple of steps to access it. Our stunning four-postered room just oozes history and character and our double room is a perfect place to relax. Each room have been tastefully decorated and have an hospitaility tray, a colour TV, clock radio and hair-dryer. To see our bedrooms in greater detail click on the following links. We have prepared an Accessibility Statement for your information. Our nearest train station is Hope Station, Derbyshire. Castleton does not have a train station. Luggage Transfers are available up to maximum of a 10 mile radius of the guesthouse at a charge from £10.00. Collection from Hope Station Derbyshire must be arranged in advance of check -in dates directly with The guest house.
Picture of Causeway House B&B, Castleton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in wonderful location
This is an excellent B&B, in a great location. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are excellent.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hospitable owners, veggie friendly
I was very well looked after by the couple who run the B&B. Breakfast included vegetarian rashes and a choice of 4 different vegetarian sausages. Fortunately I didn't have to take them up on their kind offer to help with an intermittent car problem

Reviewed by
C de Groot

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would gladly recommend
We had an excellent stay, and the best breakfast you could imagine :-D

Reviewed by
Adam W

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wondeful Derbyshire Welcome!
I stumbled upon Causeway B&B and Castleton making a last minute booking to spend the weekend away. A comfortable B&B with access to great faciities nearby including tearooms, pubs, attractions and, of course, great walks. Janet and Nick were lovely hosts. The breakfasts were amazing! Really set you up for the day. A great base to travel around the Dales.

Reviewed by
Alison B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
This was my boyfriend and I's first trip away together and we loved Causeway House, the owners are lovely (particularly the breakfasts which are amazing!) and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
Would highly recommend and I'm sure we'll be back soon!

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definite friendly stay
This is a very friendly B and B with Janet a natural at making everyone welcome and introducing people staying there. The breakfast is first class - you probably won't need lunch. There are lots of nice touches from the dressing gown to the lovely towels.
The only slight downside - and I hesitate to say this as the overall experience is so positive and I don't know how this could be rectified - is that sound insulation in bedrooms does not damper noise effectively. Apart from that this is one of the best BnBs I have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B and B in a lovely part of the world.
warmth of the welcome to the comfort of the room and the quality

Reviewed by
Jan S

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Memorable short break
Causeway House is a fantastic B & B, beautifully furnished and excellently situated in the heart of Castleton, close to a variety of restaurants. Nick and Janet are marvellous hosts who created a friendly atmosphere between their guests and for whom nothing was too much trouble to ensure our comfort. We would definitely go back!

Reviewed by
Susan McGuire

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
We stayed in the Four Poster bedroom which was a good size, bright and airy with views directly towards Mam Tor, positioned in the heart of the village next to the Primary School.
The off road parking was very useful as it is a small village but be advise Back Street is a segmented Road so look for the Primary School as the landmark.
The room was very clean and tidy and the hospitality of the Nick and his wife was first class and very helpful. We look forward to staying again next year, would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Tony Scott

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Consistantly Excellant
Second stay here with an excellant welcome & fantastic food. All aspects of the stays have been great for a break in this lovely area

Reviewed by
IAN C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next