Reviews - Forresters Hotel and Restaurant


52-53 Market Place, Middleton-In-Teesdale,, Barnard Castle, DL12 0QH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Liz W

  • October 2015

Fantastic restaurant

Had two nights here early October.

Friendly staff and wonderful French menu with high quality food both for breakfast and evening meal. Rooms small but nicely decorated. Only downside is the fact the rooms are positioned above the sports bar side and can be a bit noisy until midnight but soon quieten down after that. Would definitely visit again.

  • joann n

  • September 2015

good value for the money

  • Jane C

  • June 2015

Top nosh food

Food was excellent.

Rooms needed TLC. Staff very nice and looked after us well.

  • D forde

  • May 2015


Nice place, nice set up however unfortunately it has a pool table and sky sports and all that comes with that.

Was kept awake till 2am on a week night due to loud customers in the bar. Both inside the premises and outside the front under the guest accommodation windows. Won't be recommending to colleagues, management should have dealt with the crowd but they didn't.

  • B Frankland

  • February 2015

excellent in every way

Lovely little quirky hotel with liads of personal touches that make it special, we will be returning soon, just too good to stay away.

Restaurant is amazing quality at an afordable price. If you want something different and a little special then this is it

  • stuart a

  • November 2014

Moder day prices with out of date standards ...

Room was a basic double, facing the main road, single glaze sash windows, constant trafic noise, room directly above restaurant and was able to hear every conversation over the tv (volume on 22) . Sockets comming away from the wall and extention cables all over the floor, poorly decorated, bathroom walls had more marks and stains than painters apron

Breakfast from 8am .. so not good for those travelning early morning. Was told cerial and croissents wold be available .... These were left out the night before - cold stale croissants , No tea or coffee unless you made it in your room and took it with you for breakfast...

Not a place i would go back to or recomend to anyone .... Very poor. And Not worth £40.50. Travel lodge is. Far better and better value

  • A Macdonald

  • October 2014

Convivial and satisfying

From start to finish this was a great weekend stay.

Frank, the owner, is a great host and his wife Jo is an even better cook. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and quiet, the power shower was great. The dining room is really superb with a huge fireplace and stove, great décor and lots of space. We ate dinner on both Friday and Saturday and both were delicious. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and we were never rushed or pressured. So the Forresters exceeded our expectations by far. At the price it was a real steal.

  • M Gowland

  • August 2014

Fantastic value for money

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, the room was very cosy & comfortable.

The customer service was very good and the food beautiful.

  • James Burns

  • August 2014

French restaurant was excellent I have visited a few places in the French province but I can honestly say the food in this restaurant beats them all my beef bourguignon was absolutly gorgeous the beef brisket was so tender it just fell apart and the deep red wine sauce was to die for !.

brilliant chef .if I lived a little closer I would go there every week , absolutely first class we will be back ;))

  • Geoffrey Jenkins

  • August 2014

Great centre for walking

Very friendly and clean hotel with excellent menu and wine list in the restaurant