No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ryles Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Hollin Lane, Higher Sutton, , Macclesfield, SK11 0NN
Set along the Gritstone Trail amid the rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside, the 4 star Ryles Arms is renowned across the region for quality homemade food, real ales and fine wines. The surrounding views are breathtaking - a favourite starting point for walkers and the perfect place for meeting friends, dining out in our award winning restaurant, hosting a family party or taking a short break in our luxury ensuite accommodation. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available throughout the building. We have a selection of three ales on every day and will happily let you have a taster of each to decide on your perfect pint. If Ale isn't your thing, we also have lager on tap and in bottles and a beautifully selected wine menu where you can choose to drink by the glass or buy the bottle. Our mouthwatering menu is also accompanied by our specials board, of which we have up to SIX running everyday. Please ask your hostess for when you come in for more details. We pride ourselves on selecting the finest cuts of British meat. The whole joint is aged for a minimum period of 21 days before we cut. We cut our meat as thick as possible to ensure a superior juicy taste and texture. We also own the Brownlow Inn just on the outskirts of Congelton, and a mere stone's throw away from Littel Moreton Hall. Our Big Brother as it's affectionately called, due to the thousand plus customers it serves each week, offers a similar menu to ours. Please Note dining reservations are not made through room bookings. Please call the Restaurant on 01260 252244 to reserve a table.
Picture of The Ryles Arms, Macclesfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room couldn't have been better and the staff friendlier or more helpful.

Reviewed by
A Peck

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ryles
Good clean and comfortable accom
Great food and service in bar/restaurant

Reviewed by
Melvane D

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A late season break
Booked for two couples to do some walking in the Peak District. Very well placed for access to both the Dark and White Peak areas. The hotel is fine for relaxing after a day's walking with generous amounts of drinks in the room and breakfast buffet. Dinner was taken for both nights at the hotel and food was very enjoyable. The popularity of the restaurant with non-residents was testimony to the quality of its service.
Our friends however found their room to be quite dusty and in need of cleaning when we arrived. Staff were very apologetic and immediately moved them to alternative accommodation and also offered complimentary drinks! Appreciate the Hotel is in the countryside and spiders are having a busy time but amount of dust was unacceptable. Wouldn't put us off using the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Excellent hotel. Very peaceful. I'd definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
V Robinson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
The four of us enjoyed our nights stay,the good standard of meals,the comfort of our rooms and the friendly staff.This was enhanced by the fantastic scenery round the area,would happily spend a few more nights at this destination.

Reviewed by
David Smith

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

couldn't fault the place or the team

Reviewed by
Simon Talbot

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gastropub with rooms. Very friendly staff and good food. Decent Black Sheep bitter. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
Arrived late to a very pleasent welcome from some helpful, friendly staff and the fantastic smells coming from the restaurant. The rooms are in a seperate barn conversion, which is nice and quiet with no sounds from the restaurant/pub or car park. The room was plenty big enough for a single occupancy and in general very smart.
The food was excellent and as a breakast lover my Farmhouse Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered!!
I would highly recommend The Ryles Arms.

Reviewed by
C Hamilton

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
Fantastic food / room unsure

Reviewed by
Chris T

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice country pub with a good atmosphere and a good menu. Friendly staff and good service.
A very nice traditional country pub, nice atmosphere, good food and friendly staff. A nice room, very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
I Davies

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next