No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Woodman Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
ThunderBridge Lane, Kirkburton, , Huddersfield, HD8 0PX
The Woodman Inn boasts the exceptionally good walking country of the southern Pennines nearby as well as a fascinating choice of attractions a few minutes drive away. These include Holmfirth, Bronte Country, the Royal Armouries, The National Mining Museum, The Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Chatsworth House, Nostell Priory and Harewood House. Shoppers can enjoy a morning away in Leeds, Manchester or Sheffield only 30 minutes away. The woodman is the perfect place for small and large parties, weddings and family celebrations. Many guests return just to enjoy our excellent food reflecting the true taste of Yorkshire in a relaxed atmosphere and to sample our first rate casked conditioned ales or extensive range of fine wines and continental largers.
Picture of The Woodman Inn, Huddersfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Room was immaculate and perfectly located, out the front door onto the main street. Lucky to have found the place at such short notice. Breakfast as nice too, not too greasy. Would recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
K Johnston

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
Lovely inn, with lovely rooms. Would definitely stay again. Only complaint was that the duvet was not feather as it said on the website, and the pillow was not great, far too big and hard.

Reviewed by
Tamla Gale

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
can't fault it. Superb in every detail
The standard other hotels and pubs should try and achieve
Well done Woodman Inn

Reviewed by
Dave Scott

From Pocklington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two pieces of ice
As my job takes me to different places all over the country, I have to say this has to go down as one of the nicest relaxing stays I've had in a long time, the room I booked was brilliant as was the food in the restaurant. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, Thanks to all.
Rob.

Reviewed by
R Broadbent

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
We stayed here for the night after being at a concert in Holmfirth. We arrived about 5 clock & nicest showed us to our room. The room was absolutely fabulous, bathroom lovely nothing to complain about. We had a meal down stairs really nice, but my husband did think it was a little on the expensive side. Breakfast was included in our stay again really nice. Was a lovely place to stay & would def stay there again

Reviewed by
A Carter

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovley airy room, fantastic room. The perfect romantic break, could not falt it.

Reviewed by
S Asquith

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stop over
Would recommend and use again.

Reviewed by
paul c

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodman Inn
Excellent all round

Reviewed by
P Ford

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left Hungry
I have stayed in this hotel a few times and each time the accommodation itself has been very good, the rooms are clean and well presented, the TV channels are varied which helps when you travel on business alone.
the things that let the hotel down is time the kitchen closes at night, on my last visit I went down stairs to the bar to order some food for my room, it was 9.00pm and although the waitresses where still serving food I was told that I could not order anything as the last order was taken at 8.45pm.
now I understand if I was a casual diner but I was staying at the hotel and no exception was made in fact the person I spoke to was very abrupt when he informed me of this.....I was left with no food that evening as the hotel has no places near by to buy food from, very disappointing.
the other thing that spoilt my stay was when I checked out, the person doing the breakfast was very busy and it became clear far to busy to check me out in a manner that would encourage me to book that hotel again.
overall the hotel is nice but they need to raise there customer service to a higher level or they will lose business.

Reviewed by
p scarborough

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why is there always a but ..
First impression was great, a lovely room and accessible without going through the bar which I thought was a good idea. There had obviously been a lot of money spent and a great attention to detail. But .... only one very small bedside table and no light although the ceiling lights were adjustable it still meant having to get out of bed to switch the light off and there was nowhere to put the usual glasses, book or glass of water. The bathroom was very smart and beautifully finished but the mirror is high and poorly lit for putting on make up. The same goes for the mirror in the bedroom. The people upstairs were not particularly noisy but we could hear their every move, even their shower! The breakfast was good, particularly the coffee but the service was very slow and it took 20 minutes to get a second cup of coffee. We probably wouldn't stay again as there are so many other hotels without the little niggles

Reviewed by
S M

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next