No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holly Trees Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Hollytrees, 183 Warwick Road, , Carlisle, CA1 1LP
The family run, Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Holly Trees Hotel Carlisle, is run by Pauline and Steve and is situated on Warwick Road within easy walking distance of Carlisle city centre yet just over a mile from junction 43 of the M6 motorway. This puts Holly Trees Bed & Breakfast Carlisle Holly Trees Hotel in an ideal position for an overnight stay for anyone going to and from Scotland and England as the Scottish Border is only 12 miles away and also for anyone on business in Carlisle and looking for a hotel. Some 100 years old Holly Trees Bed & Breakfast Carlisle Holly Trees Hotel retains many of its original features.All our rooms are en-suite with colour TV and welcome tray and are tastefully decorated to the standard you would expect of a Bed & Breakfast Guest House with parking available. Bed & Breakfast Carlisle Holly Trees Hotel is situated in the historic 2000 year old city of Carlisle. Close by are Hadrians Wall with many historical sites to visit: also the village of Arthuret- the land where King Arthur and Merlin roamed. Brampton and Longtown are nearby with traditional farmers markets and river walks, and the Scottish Border towns of Gretna Green, Annan and Langholm are a short distance away. The Solway Coast , with its abundance of wildlife and well known to bird -watchers is a short trip away. Also the beautiful Lake District is easily reached by car, bus or train. Holly Trees Hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from the city centre, train station and bus station and has easy access to the M6 motorway at Junction 43. We are also close to Rickerby Park which has a lovely walk along the river Eden into the city.This walk has views of the historical Carlisle Castle, Tullie House Museum and our beautiful Cathedral. There are several popular pubs and eating places on Warwick Road and we are ideally situated for a visit to this lovely historical city.
Picture of Holly Trees Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
As far as B&B's go, this hostelry is excellent! The owners are lovely people, breakfast plentiful and very high quality, and my room was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Walsh

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
A really lovely B&B. The house is spotless whilst being full of interesting things to look at. There were 3 friends staying in the family room and it was perfect. Our host was very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast too. Would definitely go back here if visiting Carlisle again.

Reviewed by
Dawn H

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Bed & Breakfast
We stayed recently at HollyTrees B & B and would thoroughly recommend it, we have just booked to go again in December. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, the room was warm and comfortable. This is one of the best B & Bs we have stayed in, wonderful full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
G Willett

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
The accommodation is a lovely Victorian terraced house and, despite arriving in Carlisle at the same time as a lot of football traffic, we were able to park right outside (guest house parking permit available from the b&b). Our host made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The double room and en suite were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy. The shower, whilst quite small, was lovely - great water pressure (sometimes a problem in older properties). Holly Trees is only a 10 minute flat walk away from Carlisle town centre - lots of shops, bars, restaurants and things to see (in fact we ran out of time so a return visit might be in order!). Breakfast was fabulous - we were so full we didn't need to eat anything all day :) Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Gem H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent breakfast, very comfortable guest house, made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Marion N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with location and the warm welcome of the proprietor - nothing was too much trouble. A good 10 minute walk from railway station and within easy reach of a variety of restaurants.

Reviewed by
L owen

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best ever guest house
We had a wonderful stay at Holly Tree Guesthouse. Steve was most welcoming and helpful making us feel special. Will definitely be staying there again.

Reviewed by
Kathleen Stiles

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
We were made to feel very welcome by our host he told us where the best local eatery was and helped in the morning by packing us some food for the journey. We will definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
jennifer c

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at the Holly Trees
Lovely stay at this Hotel
Owner was very friendly and cooked a great full fried breakfast
Great night sleep bed very comfortable.
Would definitely stay at the Holly Trees again

Reviewed by
H Bowness

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem in carlisle
could not fault this hotel it was very comfortable absolutely spotless and the breakfast was first class no hesitation in recommending it to anyone

Reviewed by
JAMES DUFFY

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next