No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village, , Durham, DH7 8ST
This truly wonderful public house offers a restaurant and accommodation. Being on the doorstep of Durham, it is an ideal location to enjoy the area's heritage. Brandon Village is only 3 miles from the centre of Durham City. The building itself is over 300 years old which still retains a lot of the charm of the old ages being an old Coaching Inn. It has been tastefully modernised, with the old stables and courtyard now providing excellent detached accommodation. The Inn is ran by Phillip and he offers a warm welcome to all guests. There are ten ensuite bedrooms, four doubles, five twins and a family room which can sleep four people. We are located 3 miles west from Durham where you can visit the wonderful Cathedral, Castle or stroll along the banks of the River Wear. A great day out can be had at Beamish which is only 8 miles away. The two major cities of the North East, Newcastle & Sunderland, are within 20 miles. For a more relaxing day out, the unspoilt countryside of the Durham Dales are only 10 miles away. The fantastic site of High Force is easily accessible too.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I wanted
A very comfortable room; I couldn't make the TV work but that was probably my fault. I didn't go there for the food so that was alright. A good night's sleep. Pleasant people.

Reviewed by
Audrey L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three days at the Bay Horse Inn
Friendly and pleasant staff, decent room, decent food, cheap beer!, nice quiet area, great value for money. I'd happily stay there again (and probably will do) and recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
N Goodwin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room itself could do with a few improvements, no need for the two table lamps as you have wall lamps, if you do want to keep them buy matching shades, the shelves need securing to the wall as we couldn't put anything on them without it falling off, the shower could do with being more powerfull, mugs in the bedroom instead of tea cups. Overall a very pleasant stay, staff were friendly and food was nice.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value base for Durham
For £40 for a triple room INC a cooked breakfast, this can't be beaten. I don't think I've ever had better value in the UK.
It is not going to win awards for sparkly new decor or being pristine and shiny, or for haute cuisine. But it has clean enough if 'tired' rooms, fresh bedding on comfy beds, lots of hot water and plenty of nice big towels, a warm and friendly welcome and a substantial breakfast. And it is just a few miles from Durham in a quiet location. I would absolutely recommend this as as a budget great value stay. If you like your hotels shiny new and immaculate, pay more for elsewhere, but I'd definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Nicki S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous food, floor coverings a bit ropey, take your slippers.
Friendly cheap and cheerful pub with accommodation to match. However, they do have a very good chef, the food was excellent. Stayed with a KGB deal, great value for money. On the down side, carpets were very dirty and stained both in the room and in the bar where meals and breakfast was served, could definitely do with new carpets. If you go expecting top notch furnishings, you will be disappointed. Staff were very friendly and gave you a warm welcome, it is clean and has everything you want for a short stay. I have stayed here 4 times on a KGB weekend deal over the past 3 years, yes the place could do with a bit of a facelift but if your expectations are not too high, it really does offer excellent value for money. Room 10 is the best, it has a 4 poster bed and is much larger than the other rooms. I have never had cause to complain and the food really is the best pub food I have ever had, steak and ale pie was lovely.

Reviewed by
Susan Allinson

From March, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bay Horse Inn May 2014
I needed cheap accommodation to stay at for a visit to my son in Ushaw Moor for a couple of nights. The Bay Horse Inn provided exactly what I had asked for ie a twin room near to Ushaw Moor which was spacious and clean. There was storage in the form of a wardrobe with drawers that would have been enough for a longer stay. Breakfast was included and we could choose whatever we wanted. It was good value for money and ideally situated for what I wanted.

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A basic hotel but will all facilities and good value / quality food
As a basic hotel this was quite good. The room had a very slight musty smell, maybe because it was early in the season after the winter dampness. There was also a severe mildew problem on the ceiling above the shower (and in other places in the bathroom. This did let down the overall feel for the place. The venue is very quiet and I would recommend the bar food (two courses and drinks for three people for £42).

Reviewed by
Richard Fuller

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character and VFM
Room was a little tired but adequate. Mattress could have been thicker. Only stopped one night so good value for money. This hotel was friendly and had ambiance lacking in more modern places. Food was good and overall nothing to complain about.

Reviewed by
M Ford

From Dunfermline, England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely large room. Shame the sink, bathroom radiator so dirty. Carpet very worn.

Reviewed by
Keith L

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
The room was clean and basic. However, at the price they charged I have no complaints. I only had a light breakfast so can't really comment on the food but the service was very friendly.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next