No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village, , Durham, DH7 8ST
This truly wonderful public house offers a restaurant and accommodation. Being on the doorstep of Durham, it is an ideal location to enjoy the area's heritage. Brandon Village is only 3 miles from the centre of Durham City. The building itself is over 300 years old which still retains a lot of the charm of the old ages being an old Coaching Inn. It has been tastefully modernised, with the old stables and courtyard now providing excellent detached accommodation. The Inn is ran by Phillip and he offers a warm welcome to all guests. There are ten ensuite bedrooms, four doubles, five twins and a family room which can sleep four people. We are located 3 miles west from Durham where you can visit the wonderful Cathedral, Castle or stroll along the banks of the River Wear. A great day out can be had at Beamish which is only 8 miles away. The two major cities of the North East, Newcastle & Sunderland, are within 20 miles. For a more relaxing day out, the unspoilt countryside of the Durham Dales are only 10 miles away. The fantastic site of High Force is easily accessible too.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Friendly & helpful staff. Comfortable (but basic) and clean room. Very convenient car parking and good "local" pub.

Reviewed by
Trevor E

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay in a place that was recommended to us
The staff were great from start to finish and could not have been more welcoming. The room was clean and tidy. It was a really cold day but the room was warm but quickly became toasty warm with the heater provided in the room. At night the central heating made the room really comfortable to be in. The bed linen was really freshly washed and so were the towels. We had a great nights sleep and had a great cooked breakfast in the morning which was very good value for money.
I have stayed in all types of accommodation all over the world but have not enjoyed such value for money and a more enjoyable stay. We will be booking again in the near future

Reviewed by
Alan Horton

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding weekend visit
Friendly, welcoming reception staff
Room very spacious, clean and adequate for our family. Warm, well heated for a cold January weekend. Tea and coffee making facilities. Clean bed linen and towels (towels changed daily).
Although the room was nicely decorated, a stain on the ceiling and a broken drawer unit under the kettle detracted from the overall appearance.
Evening meals were home cooked, good traditional pub food, with hearty portions. Highly recommend the beer batter Yorkshire puddings!
Breakfast was a choice of cereal, toast, fruit juice, tea or coffee, at a small additional cost a full English breakfast was available.
Check out was simply and straight forward.
A very enjoyable stress free stay, giving us a nice base to attend our friends wedding.

Reviewed by
David K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb new years eve exceptional for the price
Cant fault the place at all. We arrived at 6.30pm after work on new years eve were given our key and went across the car park out the back to our room. these are all side by side chalets with your own front door, en suite with bath shower toilet and sink, room had a double bed, huge radiator, wardrobe, 2 side tables, draw with flat screen tv and a side unit with tea coffee etc. Room was warm, we did turn up radiator and were given an electric heater too. All rooms had recently been refurbished and it showed it was spotless.
The pub was homely and very cheap for drinks and food. We will certainly be returning specially as for £40 we got all this and a full English, choice of cereals, fruit and fruit juices.

Reviewed by
C Pritchard

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wouldn't go back
Firstly, I see the most recent reviewer said she stayed in a lovely refurbished room, well ours (family room - No. 6) certainly hadn't seen any refurbishment and was in desperate need of it! The first thing we noticed as we entered the room on a freezing cold December afternoon (the rooms are separate from the pub across the car park at the back) was that the room was freezing as their was no heating on at all. All we had, until the heating came on later, was a small convector heater. We put it on but as room 6 is a large room it took ages for it to make any difference. I then went to put the tele on but there was no socket next to it on the worktop, I had to crawl under the worktop to plug it in under there. As we looked round the room there were damp patches on the walls and also on the ceilings, where stuff was hanging down from the dirty patches. Also we could only get warm water in the basin and the bath all evening, although it did get hotter in the morning. I know we could have reported that, but neither of us wanted to go out in the cold again across to the pub! As for breakfast it said breakfast was included on laterooms and we'd assumed this would be a cooked one, but when we went for it we found out it was only cereals or brown toast, absolutely nothing else provided. If you wanted a cooked breakfast it was £3.95 extra, but again very basic. The only thing I can praise about the place is the staff, as everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The locals we met were very friendly too. We only paid £40 for the night, but the following night we stayed in motorway services accommodation for £10 less and it was far superior...and lovely and warm all the time!

Reviewed by
SUSAN A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly cosy B&B
Nice and spacious rooms, a good restaurant and friendly service. I would certaintly go visit a second time!

Reviewed by
Auke F

From Romsee, Belgium
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slept very well
What a good find. Superb old Inn. Easy access to Durham and a good size comfortable room. Tea in the room was much appreciated. An improved decor in the bathroom would make this excellent all round. This said,a great nights rest making it value for money. Thank you and would love to return.

Reviewed by
V Hutchinson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor quality
no heating.
Electric convector heater only had one leg, the heater was hung on the radiator valve.
Health and safety in big question.

Reviewed by
T Robson

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Stopped whilst working in area - poor room in need of updating and decorating clean bed but smell of damp and clearly had roof leak food plain but very good breakfast not tried not served until 8am no alternative offered , No internet poor telephone signal - could be good -just needs updating

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Southwell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good break
a very enjoyable stay close to all features in the area .friendly staff

Reviewed by
g dunse

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next