Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

3

The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village,, Durham, DH7 8ST

Price From 61.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (39)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alex Brown

  • January 2016

Nice little Inn

Great value ...cracking food ..very nice people

  • A S

  • December 2015

The room was clean but the tv didn't have any channels.

We were given 3 remotes to try, none of the worked and still no channels found.

  • David H

  • December 2015

Shocking!!

Shocking room was mouldy as well as the bathroom and tiles broken in the shower on the floor.

cups still had old coffee in them, didnt want to risk eating the food as per the state of the room didnt trust it or the fact the cook was smoking in the kitchen. staff behind the bar were brilliant really helpful. owner seamed to preoccupied with his phone on facebook when I asked him were to check in as it wasnt clear. couldnt get parked as car park was full from drinkers in the pub. so had to park across the road and carry 2 little kids both under 2 around the whole building, rooms werent heated. will never stay again, regret every minute of going there, after 10 years in the hospitality trade I have never seen a place this bad. would highly recommend people avoid it

  • M Slater

  • November 2015

Very good value for money.

  • Maria D

  • October 2015

The Bay Horse Inn

Value for money, pretty location,staff very friendly and helpful but could do with a little updating but wouldn't complain for the price would recommend.

  • Angela W

  • October 2015

Value accommodation

Room was clean but a little tired

Response from hotel

Thank you for taking the time to offer The Bay Horse Brandon a review. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. Re the accommodation we are in the process of a full renovation of all rooms.

  • Alison S

  • August 2015

Ok for a couple of days but very tired.

The staff were lovely and the room was spacious but definitely needed a lick of paint.

Small details lol no teaspoons or milk in the room on arrival and we had no shower or hot water for the duration of our two night stay, despite mentioning. We used the next door room but this was not ideal and obviously only possible because it was vacant. We ate in the restaurant once, food was tasty and good value. Breakfast was included and was okay.

  • D Pathak

  • July 2015

Great Customer Service...

Great customer service - staff pleasant and friendly; rooms a little tired but adequate for our stay.

  • Kevin T

  • May 2015

staff were welcoming but went down hill after that

Room cold, shower - dirty, broken door.

batrhroom radiator leaked. no remote for TV. wall lights didnt work. Enough tea and milk for two drinks- asked for more. Photos on web of pub way out of date. Only small bar menu available. Ordered gammon, only to be told none left, nor half menu. So had burger and chips, - very disappointing - got impression it had been microwaved then put in pan. Chips weird - never had chips like this before, - werent frozen, possible fresh chips that had been stored and refried?.

It says breakfast included you only get cereal, toast, juice and coffee or tea. If you want a full English you have to pay an extra £3.95 which is not mentioned when booking. I was intending to have the cooked breakfast, and passing the kitchen there was one on the hotplate, but no one in breakfast room. I decided someone had made the breakfast assuming someone would order at some stage and it would appear secounds later as if by magic. I decided cereals were safer bet. Would I stay here again - not a chance.

  • Tracey A

  • April 2015

value for money

Made to feel very welcome on arrival, room initially cold but soon warmed with heated, room very basic, but for price value for money.

Only grumble was bath mat wet, shower riser broken, some mould round edge of shower tray and shower tray dirty due to what looked like a mop bucket being emptied into tray and not rinsed but removed with ease with a blast of water