No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Bay Horse Inn, 8 Brandon Village, , Durham, DH7 8ST
This truly wonderful public house offers a restaurant and accommodation. Being on the doorstep of Durham, it is an ideal location to enjoy the area's heritage. Brandon Village is only 3 miles from the centre of Durham City. The building itself is over 300 years old which still retains a lot of the charm of the old ages being an old Coaching Inn. It has been tastefully modernised, with the old stables and courtyard now providing excellent detached accommodation. The Inn is ran by Phillip and he offers a warm welcome to all guests. There are ten ensuite bedrooms, four doubles, five twins and a family room which can sleep four people. We are located 3 miles west from Durham where you can visit the wonderful Cathedral, Castle or stroll along the banks of the River Wear. A great day out can be had at Beamish which is only 8 miles away. The two major cities of the North East, Newcastle & Sunderland, are within 20 miles. For a more relaxing day out, the unspoilt countryside of the Durham Dales are only 10 miles away. The fantastic site of High Force is easily accessible too.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slept very well
What a good find. Superb old Inn. Easy access to Durham and a good size comfortable room. Tea in the room was much appreciated. An improved decor in the bathroom would make this excellent all round. This said,a great nights rest making it value for money. Thank you and would love to return.

Reviewed by
V Hutchinson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor quality
no heating.
Electric convector heater only had one leg, the heater was hung on the radiator valve.
Health and safety in big question.

Reviewed by
T Robson

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Stopped whilst working in area - poor room in need of updating and decorating clean bed but smell of damp and clearly had roof leak food plain but very good breakfast not tried not served until 8am no alternative offered , No internet poor telephone signal - could be good -just needs updating

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Southwell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good break
a very enjoyable stay close to all features in the area .friendly staff

Reviewed by
g dunse

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast
breakfast there was no bacon and the portion size was
smaller then a childs meal the two sauages we got
were like little cocktail sauages

Reviewed by
natalie may

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want somewhere to sleep with no frills this will suit you. There was a broken bed light that was not fixed satisfactorily, the TV was an old set with a poor signal for much of the time, there was discolouration to the ceilings in the bathroom and bedroom from water. We did not eat there so can't comment. No wifi in the rooms. Basic.

Reviewed by
m dexter

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I wanted
A very comfortable room; I couldn't make the TV work but that was probably my fault. I didn't go there for the food so that was alright. A good night's sleep. Pleasant people.

Reviewed by
Audrey L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three days at the Bay Horse Inn
Friendly and pleasant staff, decent room, decent food, cheap beer!, nice quiet area, great value for money. I'd happily stay there again (and probably will do) and recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
N Goodwin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room itself could do with a few improvements, no need for the two table lamps as you have wall lamps, if you do want to keep them buy matching shades, the shelves need securing to the wall as we couldn't put anything on them without it falling off, the shower could do with being more powerfull, mugs in the bedroom instead of tea cups. Overall a very pleasant stay, staff were friendly and food was nice.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value base for Durham
For £40 for a triple room INC a cooked breakfast, this can't be beaten. I don't think I've ever had better value in the UK.
It is not going to win awards for sparkly new decor or being pristine and shiny, or for haute cuisine. But it has clean enough if 'tired' rooms, fresh bedding on comfy beds, lots of hot water and plenty of nice big towels, a warm and friendly welcome and a substantial breakfast. And it is just a few miles from Durham in a quiet location. I would absolutely recommend this as as a budget great value stay. If you like your hotels shiny new and immaculate, pay more for elsewhere, but I'd definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Nicki S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next