No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
The Bell Guest House, Sunderland road, Horden, Peterlee, SR8 4PF
A warm friendly welcome awaits you at The Bell Guesthouse, located on the coast of County Durham. We are a coach style pub built in 1925 and a recently refurbished guesthouse who pride our self in offering excellent customer service and making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are located very near to the A19 near the business parks with great links to Hartlepool, Sunderland, Newcastle and of course the stunning historic city of Durham, which offers museums, cathedrals and churches as well as river views and stunning walk ways. Our 9 rooms have been furnished and decorated to a very high standard and come with little touches that make you feel instantly at home.
Picture of The Bell Guest House, Peterlee at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel, Comfy Stay & Modern
My grandparents moved back up North years ago, and my Grandad recently passed away at Christmas so needed somewhere to stay over in Peterlee.
The Bell is a really nice place to stay, the hotel is clean, modern and easy to get to.
The included breakfast was A1, one of the best Full English's I've had in a while.
Will definitely stay here again when I'm back up visiting relatives, and recommend it as a great place to stop over either for a quick one night visit or a break away.
A. Lombardi
Date of visit: 7/1/15 - 8/1/15

Reviewed by
A Lombardi

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice B&B, I'd stay again

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms
breakfast nice too. shame there was no food at the bar

Reviewed by
K Ransome

From Kings Lynn, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and Comfortable
It was lovely for a night's stay, the staff were attentive and pleasant, the room was comfortable and I slept well. Very good internet. I was there for an overnight business trip, the pub did not serve food on a Monday and the amenities are limited in the vicinity so for an extended stay may be worth checking food availability.

Reviewed by
rhea d

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking and was ideal for a couple of nights stay.
The hotel was near to where I was working so was an ideal place to stay. The bedroom was spacious and clean. The food was better than pub grub. You ordered your breakfast choice the evening before.
The staff were all extremely helpful.
Car parking is on the front of the pub on the roadside.

Reviewed by
G Noble

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely budget place to stay
Lovely budget guesthouse but I did not have a good sleep due to several fire alarms went off that evening. The room was nice and clean and got everything I need but I can hear my next door neighbor talking, coughing all night long. The music from the bar downstairs was a little too loud too. Staff are very friendly though. I cannot comment on food as I did not eat there.

Reviewed by
K PICOT

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place
Excellent service and a very nice guest house

Reviewed by
Gary Wilson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

better than i expected
Would stay here again. Friendly place.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Dundee, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the bell, Horden.
We enjoyed our stay at the bell. It was very clean good food, friendly staff . Only one thing is car park is a bit small, only room for four cars at front.

Reviewed by
L Wood

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding guests
This hotel doesn't strike me as being regularly full of people who have been out drinking all night however when we stumbled in very late and quite drunk with all our keys mixed up the staff were brilliant and patient whilst managing to clearly look after their other guests. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Hannah W

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next