No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
The Bell Guest House, Sunderland road, Horden, Peterlee, SR8 4PF
A warm friendly welcome awaits you at The Bell Guesthouse, located on the coast of County Durham. We are a coach style pub built in 1925 and a recently refurbished guesthouse who pride our self in offering excellent customer service and making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are located very near to the A19 near the business parks with great links to Hartlepool, Sunderland, Newcastle and of course the stunning historic city of Durham, which offers museums, cathedrals and churches as well as river views and stunning walk ways. Our 9 rooms have been furnished and decorated to a very high standard and come with little touches that make you feel instantly at home.
Picture of The Bell Guest House, Peterlee at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place
Excellent service and a very nice guest house

Reviewed by
Gary Wilson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

better than i expected
Would stay here again. Friendly place.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Dundee, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the bell, Horden.
We enjoyed our stay at the bell. It was very clean good food, friendly staff . Only one thing is car park is a bit small, only room for four cars at front.

Reviewed by
L Wood

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding guests
This hotel doesn't strike me as being regularly full of people who have been out drinking all night however when we stumbled in very late and quite drunk with all our keys mixed up the staff were brilliant and patient whilst managing to clearly look after their other guests. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Hannah W

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The friendliness of The Bell Guest House.
On arriving at The Bell Guest House with my 12yr old Grandson I was a little perturbed at the outside of the building there were cars parked on the frontage with my Grandson expecting a Travel lodge or Premier Inn I thought he would be disappointed but we were met at the door by Kim who throughout our stay couldn't have been more helpful. The owner was there for breakfast time and again was so helpful giving my Grandson a picnic as we were going to an airfield to watch a Skydive.

Reviewed by
Beryl Reeves

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back home trip
got a lovely surprise to see just how nice our accommodation was. Room was very pleasant and absolutely spotless. Breakfast cooked to order and such a huge choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed for 2 nights and wished it were for a week. Would definitely visit again and not hesitate to recommend it .

Reviewed by
Ann Greenaway

From Slough, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Had a daughter starting at Durham university so we decided to drive up the night before and stay overnight.
Was a bit worried about booking- not sure what the room would look like and with very picky teen daughters, it's a bit of a risk.
Was pleasantly surprised that the room was recently refurbished- clean, modern and comfortable. Lovely double bed and single bed (so no horrible sofa beds in family rooms, thank-god.)
Good quality bedding, tea making facilities and very cosy. Would stay there again!

Reviewed by
S Jiwa

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just What Was Required
We needed a room within travelling distance of Durham and those nearer were full.
Comfortable, clean and warm room and friendly welcoming staff.

Reviewed by
T Perry

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room size
the single room is normally £45 per night, it is so small you can't take any luggage, I was going to stay for a week but had to upgrade to a double room just so I could put my bag on the floor. The single room is overpriced, I would not recommend this if you intend to stay more than one night. The double however is fine.

Reviewed by
john s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bell (Peterlee)
The rooms were ideal for what we needed, we basically need a place to sleep after attending a gig, the en-suite was fine, no complaints.
Breakfast was great and there was a varied choice, the host was very nice and made us feel very welcome.
I would say i was very happy with my stay there, would most probably go again but as a couple.

Reviewed by
Karen F

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next