No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Nether End, Baslow, DE45 1SR
The Devonshire Arms Inn & Kitchen is located in the picturesque village of Baslow a very short distance from the stunning Chatsworth House and less than 15 minutes from Bakewell, Sheffield and Chesterfield.
An impressive stone Inn the new owners took residency on the 30th July with a clear ambition to provide the best experience for guests whether dining, drinking or staying in one of its 12 guest rooms.
We welcome dogs but only in certain rooms - it is therefore essential that guests wishing to bring their dog along confirm with property.
Picture of The Devonshire Arms, Baslow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff appreciation
the young staff were competent, helpful and friendly. They made the visit enjoyable.

Reviewed by
J Stowe

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small, rather dated but clean and certainly adequate for a 1 night stay. Perfect for what we wanted. Staff friendly. Breakfast simple help yourself but ordered our cooked breakfast which arrived in 10 minutes and was extremely good quality ( not at all fatty) Perfectly situated for an after breakfast walk in Chatsworth Park.

Reviewed by
John B

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff room very basic

Reviewed by
CLAIRE S

From SHEFFIELD, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average stay
Stayed for 2 nights for The Bakewell Show. Felt the room was a touch expensive for what it was. Mixer type shower was poor as we could only achieve boiling hot or freezing cold, no intermediate temperature. Food was excellent despite the long wait, although they were very busy. Breakfast only served from 8.00am, no good for us as we left to work at the show before then. Despite paying my bill the night before we left we were rudly challenged the following morning as we got into our car by a lady asking if we had paid. Poor internal communication? The hotel layout was nice with a good selection of bars and eating areas and a nice atmosphere. Shame!

Reviewed by
Alan H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Lovely staff, good basic room, fantastic breakfast!

Reviewed by
Jane E

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location is very good for Chatsworth House. The staff was very friendly. Their food was excellent. Only one thing needed to improve as the wifi signal was poor in the room. Overall, it is a good value for money.

Reviewed by
H Wu

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big and clean room shame about decor very tired looking really need to up-grade.Water was far too hot could burn yourself taking a shower which was not easy to use hard to get to taps.Breakfast was amazing,staff good and nice location.

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE W

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good position for a 20 min walk to Chatsworth house.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Wendy D

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying for a wedding at Chatsworth
Check in was smooth, we stayed in the Chatsworth room. It was the most expensive room with its own patio. Room was tired and wall paper had mould growing on by the patio windows. Patio had overgrown bushes and a picnic bench not exactly comfy! Shower was good. Bed was ok. Arrived back at 1am no late hotel bar. All night we couldn't sleep due to noisy pipes. Sounded like an emersion heater relaunching every 10 seconds. Don't stay in that room. Breakfast was good, would have preferred a later breakfast time (latest is 10am).

Reviewed by
S Fawcett

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location, great food and excellent service
This hotel is situated within a few minutes walk of Chatworth Park. The room was big and the bed really comfortable. The shower had excellent water pressure which was very welcome after a long day at work.
I had steak and ale pie for dinner which was delicious and Bakewell pudding for dessert - the service was warm and friendly.
The breakfast was great, a real treat, and plenty of cereals to choose from.

Reviewed by
Esther Preston

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next