Reviews - The Devonshire Arms


Nether End, Baslow, DE45 1SR

Price From 198.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (68)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephen P

  • October 2015

The Devonshire Arms

The accommodation was great and the food was exceptionally good.

The only slight criticism I have is that we arrived at about 1930 and there was no-one on reception and no obvious way of gaining attention. We managed to attract the attention of one of the chefs in the restaurant kitchen and then someone came to give us our keys. When we left the next morning I mentioned to the receptionist that the wifi wasn't working in our room and that it was very limited in the restaurant. It turns out we should have been given login information upon arrival but we weren't and there was no information in our room that we could see. It's only a small thing but important when people rely so much on the internet these days.

  • D Russell

  • October 2015

Nice place, lovely (but small) rooms

Well we do like the Devonshire arms been there several times now, used to love their menu but that's all changed so we didn't eat there this time.

My only gripe is that the room was very small, nice big bed with just enough room to squeeze past 3 sides and a very small bathroom when you have to sit at a funny angle to even use the loo. Will try not to book this particular room again but will certainly stay there again given the chance.

  • Robert Harrison

  • July 2015

Very friendly very comfortable

We felt very relaxed with our stay, only the walls where a bit thin as you could hear the other guests moving around.

But over all a really nice place to stay.

  • J Blagden

  • April 2015

Really good stay

Stayed here last year but a different room this time.

We had room 6. Lovely refurbished room to a high standard. But the noise of a pump or something, perhaps heating or macerator, woke us in the night and it continued each 20 seconds until very early morning. Very intrusive and annoying.

Bar staff, waiting staff excellent. Very friendly, chatty, attentive. Their aim was to please and they did a very good job


Ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was excellent. Booking essential.

Breakfast Sunday was good, despite a few issues in the kitchen, and the two waiting staff were excellent, kept their cool and did a great job during a difficult couple of hours.

  • jackie W

  • March 2015

The best hotel I've ever stayed at

The hotel and staff we're excellent from the moment we arrived till we left, very friendly and helpful, delicious food, good prices, can't wait to stay there again.

  • Nick D

  • March 2015

Devonshire Arms , Baslow

  • Charlotte O

  • February 2015

Recommend highly!

Outstanding value for money.

Superb customer service. Lovely atmosphere and very good food, although service a little slow one night. Very well located in a pretty village on the boundary to Chatsworth house and the National Park. I couldn't recommend the Devonshire arms more highly, and will be returning again!

  • C Jones

  • February 2015

Lovely hotel, shame about the weather!

We were very pleased with the room, which had been recently redecorated and had all the expected amenities.

Staff were helpful and polite, the hotel pub and restaurant were also very nice. Well worth a stay.

  • Ruth S

  • February 2015

Really wonderful

Really can't say enough good things about this hotel.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the bar/ restaurant is relaxed and we really enjoyed being the and the room was comfy and well done.

  • G Breitenstein

  • February 2015

Peace and Quiet

Just a good, homely experience with friendly staff.