No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Nether End, Baslow, DE45 1SR
The Devonshire Arms Inn & Kitchen is located in the picturesque village of Baslow a very short distance from the stunning Chatsworth House and less than 15 minutes from Bakewell, Sheffield and Chesterfield.
An impressive stone Inn the new owners took residency on the 30th July with a clear ambition to provide the best experience for guests whether dining, drinking or staying in one of its 12 guest rooms.
We welcome dogs but only in certain rooms - it is therefore essential that guests wishing to bring their dog along confirm with property.
Picture of The Devonshire Arms, Baslow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A winner!
Booked this very late, but an amazing bargain. The food and accommodation were outstanding and the staff were very friendly and professional. The reason why I highly rate my stay is the effort and attention to detail taken in respect of the delightful cuisine, well-priced wines, my favourite real ale and even the selection of teas in my room. A real winner and I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Steven H

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff really attentive, friendly and wanting to please. Rooms comfortable, water really hot for bath, not always the case in other places. Food good value and wholesome, with nice touches added. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
ciaran walmsley

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
One night stay for 3 couples. What a lovely place! Sunday lunch was the best I've had in years - this sentiment was shared by 5/6 of us. My husband opted for gammon which wasn't! Rooms were lovely but compact.The bar and waiting staff were excellent - the management should be very proud of their team. A special mention for Lottie and the chef for impromptu cheese and biscuits and for batman (Michael?) for the photo! Breakfast was fab. I really can't fault anything other than the rude awakening by faulty alarm - which could not be helped. Plan to return in Feb!

Reviewed by
Sandra R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby chic
My boyfriend and I stayed in the Peveril suite and were pleasantly surprised by the room. It was extremely cosy and didn't feel like you were in a b&b at all. The bed was pretty creaky but that would be our only negative from our stay. The staff were extremely lovely and welcoming and the food was beautiful. We are both excited to hopefully stay there again in the near future!

Reviewed by
F Child

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Devonshire Arms
Service at breakfast by waiter a little slow that had to chase for toast and replenishment of coffee but manageress came to the rescue and was very good.
Room a little tight for space that felt hat boxes and the like took up space like on top of chest of drawers that guests might use even though aesthetically pleasing. Even in bathroom don't think hat box to hold toilet rolls a good idea really from hygiene point of view and top of the table it stood on would better for placing toiletries instead.
Location excellent if visiting Chatsworth House as we did and Hattie's tea room in Devonshire Arms very good.

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a stay
Cosy well decorated clean room. Very good customer service. Excellent food. Would definitely recommend and will stay again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Carol A

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break in a friendly place.
A lovely place to stay. Friendly staff and an ideal setting for the Chatsworth Estate. I wish them well with their future plans for the hotel it will be a credit to all their hard work when it is all completed.

Reviewed by
l skelly

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Devonshire Arms
Gorgeous country hotel, would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
K Pidduck

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, shame about the room
We really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner in hotel with great food and value for money but the room was dour. Nowhere to sit, small TV, poor beds and bedding and sadly very noisy plumbing for most of both nights!
The owner was concerned and brought us a chair and his own TV to use for our second night which was good service.

Reviewed by
carole B

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Chatsworth
Good Pub with rooms, very cosy. The shower was uncontrollable,and very hot water, dangerous if young children around. Breakfast was lovely although very busy could have done with more staff, instead of given excuses about no Chef available not the customers problem! Evening meal lovely and evening staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next