No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Nether End, Baslow, DE45 1SR
The Devonshire Arms Inn & Kitchen is located in the picturesque village of Baslow a very short distance from the stunning Chatsworth House and less than 15 minutes from Bakewell, Sheffield and Chesterfield.
An impressive stone Inn the new owners took residency on the 30th July with a clear ambition to provide the best experience for guests whether dining, drinking or staying in one of its 12 guest rooms.
We welcome dogs but only in certain rooms - it is therefore essential that guests wishing to bring their dog along confirm with property.
Picture of The Devonshire Arms, Baslow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good 70 birthday treat
Hotel was very good, staff was friendly and nothing was too much for them, and the times we eat in the hotel the food was excellent. In a very good position for Chatsworth house, short walk and you were in the grounds. We had booked afternoon tea as a birthday treat, we spent all day in grounds and house, and it was a short drive back to the hotel to change and go back to Chatsworth for tea. The hotel had a stock of tickets for the house and grounds at a cheaper price. Also hotel is located in a good position to see the area.

Reviewed by
Carol O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the griffins sept 2014
this is our favourite place - food and customer service both exceptional, made to feel very welcome, nothing too much trouble, location is lovely a small park separating the hotel from the main road, public walk to Chatsworth round the corner, the very pretty town of Bakewell about 10 minutes away by car.

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasent stay
the only comment to make is that the room could have had a couple of more comfortable seating and have 2 larger glasses for cold drinks rather then us use the small bathroom glasses.

Reviewed by
Michelle Hill

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff appreciation
the young staff were competent, helpful and friendly. They made the visit enjoyable.

Reviewed by
J Stowe

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small, rather dated but clean and certainly adequate for a 1 night stay. Perfect for what we wanted. Staff friendly. Breakfast simple help yourself but ordered our cooked breakfast which arrived in 10 minutes and was extremely good quality ( not at all fatty) Perfectly situated for an after breakfast walk in Chatsworth Park.

Reviewed by
John B

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff room very basic

Reviewed by
CLAIRE S

From SHEFFIELD, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average stay
Stayed for 2 nights for The Bakewell Show. Felt the room was a touch expensive for what it was. Mixer type shower was poor as we could only achieve boiling hot or freezing cold, no intermediate temperature. Food was excellent despite the long wait, although they were very busy. Breakfast only served from 8.00am, no good for us as we left to work at the show before then. Despite paying my bill the night before we left we were rudly challenged the following morning as we got into our car by a lady asking if we had paid. Poor internal communication? The hotel layout was nice with a good selection of bars and eating areas and a nice atmosphere. Shame!

Reviewed by
Alan H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Lovely staff, good basic room, fantastic breakfast!

Reviewed by
Jane E

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location is very good for Chatsworth House. The staff was very friendly. Their food was excellent. Only one thing needed to improve as the wifi signal was poor in the room. Overall, it is a good value for money.

Reviewed by
H Wu

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big and clean room shame about decor very tired looking really need to up-grade.Water was far too hot could burn yourself taking a shower which was not easy to use hard to get to taps.Breakfast was amazing,staff good and nice location.

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE W

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next