No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Nether End, Baslow, DE45 1SR
The Devonshire Arms Inn & Kitchen is located in the picturesque village of Baslow a very short distance from the stunning Chatsworth House and less than 15 minutes from Bakewell, Sheffield and Chesterfield.
An impressive stone Inn the new owners took residency on the 30th July with a clear ambition to provide the best experience for guests whether dining, drinking or staying in one of its 12 guest rooms.
We welcome dogs but only in certain rooms - it is therefore essential that guests wishing to bring their dog along confirm with property.
Picture of The Devonshire Arms, Baslow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a stay
Cosy well decorated clean room. Very good customer service. Excellent food. Would definitely recommend and will stay again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Carol A

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break in a friendly place.
A lovely place to stay. Friendly staff and an ideal setting for the Chatsworth Estate. I wish them well with their future plans for the hotel it will be a credit to all their hard work when it is all completed.

Reviewed by
l skelly

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, shame about the room
We really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner in hotel with great food and value for money but the room was dour. Nowhere to sit, small TV, poor beds and bedding and sadly very noisy plumbing for most of both nights!
The owner was concerned and brought us a chair and his own TV to use for our second night which was good service.

Reviewed by
carole B

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Chatsworth
Good Pub with rooms, very cosy. The shower was uncontrollable,and very hot water, dangerous if young children around. Breakfast was lovely although very busy could have done with more staff, instead of given excuses about no Chef available not the customers problem! Evening meal lovely and evening staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel with very relaxing atmosphere

Reviewed by
peter jackson

From Liversedge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Stayed here for a night as were going to a wedding locally. The room was cosy, staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious. Great value for money!

Reviewed by
Jessica W

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and great food
Only stayed one night to attend a local wedding but very friendly staff and good personal service. Great food but mattress a little shoddy.

Reviewed by
Graeme B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Excellent hotel, from initial contact when we arrived right through to checkout, every member of staff was so friendly. Service and food was superb. Room could do with decorating, that was the only issue we could really have.

Reviewed by
Martin Carran

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top dollar for a grubby room!
I cannot believe that we paid £95 to stay for one night at this hotel! The room was tired and grubby .. and the entrance leading to the room was dreadful. The TV was tiny.. so glad that we only stayed here one night. The food in the restaurant was good - but again I felt that it was over-priced.

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff,great size room,and wonderful breakfast..
the bedroom-with patio- was clean, comfortable and large.It would have def benefited from a larger tv and a desk\dressing table .The staff were delightful .I would also have liked to have had the choice of another steak as well as sirloin-ribeye would have been perfect with mushroom and tomato rather than a small amount of salad.Breakfast was terrific!

Reviewed by
bernadette hadkinson

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next