No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Nether End, Baslow, DE45 1SR
The Devonshire Arms Inn & Kitchen is located in the picturesque village of Baslow a very short distance from the stunning Chatsworth House and less than 15 minutes from Bakewell, Sheffield and Chesterfield.
An impressive stone Inn the new owners took residency on the 30th July with a clear ambition to provide the best experience for guests whether dining, drinking or staying in one of its 12 guest rooms.
We welcome dogs but only in certain rooms - it is therefore essential that guests wishing to bring their dog along confirm with property.
Picture of The Devonshire Arms, Baslow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, shame about the weather!
We were very pleased with the room, which had been recently redecorated and had all the expected amenities. Staff were helpful and polite, the hotel pub and restaurant were also very nice. Well worth a stay.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Quiet
Just a good, homely experience with friendly staff!

Reviewed by
G Breitenstein

From Seaview, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really wonderful
Really can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the bar/ restaurant is relaxed and we really enjoyed being the and the room was comfy and well done.

Reviewed by
Ruth S

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, accommodation needs improvement
This pub is fantastic, its a shame the b&b side doe s not meet the same quality. I m sure the rooms and landing/hall ways will be done over time.

Reviewed by
Tom L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well Worth a Visit
In a good location, The Devonshire Arms impressed us from the start. The young, courteous and friendly staff impressed us from the beginning with a good check-in despite our arriving at dinnner time on a Saturday night when it was quite busy. We then took an evening meal in very pleasant and recently refurbished surroundings that still had a traditional feel. The food does take a while but as stated it was a busy Saturday night and the food was fresh and prepared to order. They do some very good sharing platters and a rather pleasing local ale which did not pass without comment.
My only gripe for what was a perfectly reasonable room was that the bed was a bit small and there was a noisy pub which kept me awake awhile. Breakfast was also of a good hearty standard.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A winner!
Booked this very late, but an amazing bargain. The food and accommodation were outstanding and the staff were very friendly and professional. The reason why I highly rate my stay is the effort and attention to detail taken in respect of the delightful cuisine, well-priced wines, my favourite real ale and even the selection of teas in my room. A real winner and I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Steven H

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff really attentive, friendly and wanting to please. Rooms comfortable, water really hot for bath, not always the case in other places. Food good value and wholesome, with nice touches added. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
ciaran walmsley

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
One night stay for 3 couples. What a lovely place! Sunday lunch was the best I've had in years - this sentiment was shared by 5/6 of us. My husband opted for gammon which wasn't! Rooms were lovely but compact.The bar and waiting staff were excellent - the management should be very proud of their team. A special mention for Lottie and the chef for impromptu cheese and biscuits and for batman (Michael?) for the photo! Breakfast was fab. I really can't fault anything other than the rude awakening by faulty alarm - which could not be helped. Plan to return in Feb!

Reviewed by
Sandra R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby chic
My boyfriend and I stayed in the Peveril suite and were pleasantly surprised by the room. It was extremely cosy and didn't feel like you were in a b&b at all. The bed was pretty creaky but that would be our only negative from our stay. The staff were extremely lovely and welcoming and the food was beautiful. We are both excited to hopefully stay there again in the near future!

Reviewed by
F Child

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Devonshire Arms
Service at breakfast by waiter a little slow that had to chase for toast and replenishment of coffee but manageress came to the rescue and was very good.
Room a little tight for space that felt hat boxes and the like took up space like on top of chest of drawers that guests might use even though aesthetically pleasing. Even in bathroom don't think hat box to hold toilet rolls a good idea really from hygiene point of view and top of the table it stood on would better for placing toiletries instead.
Location excellent if visiting Chatsworth House as we did and Hattie's tea room in Devonshire Arms very good.

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next