Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
81% would recommend it to a friend
Annual trip for work .
This hotel is fine no problems .
An excellent vegetarian breakfast
The veggie breakfast was really hot and obviously freshly cooked (and large!).
That's it now, I deserting the other hotels on the front and will always use the Ellan Vannin from now on. There's nothing wrong with the others but the EV was friendlier, cosier and did a proper veggie breakfast.
If only all hotels were this good
This hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade and right next to the main shopping and entertainment area of the town.
The room was smart and fresh with a luxuriously comfortable bed and a fully tiled en suite shower room with a lovely big shower cubicle. Everything was spotlessly clean throughout the hotel. Thoughtful touches like complimentary cake and shortbread, and smart toiletries, added to the polish of the place. Along with the great price, all this made it a real pleasure to stay at the Ellan Vannin. The only improvement I could suggest would be a full length mirror in the room, rather than just the dressing table mirror, but this is a very minor point. Best of all, though, were the staff. The welcome was natural and friendly, with none of the scripted simulation of congeniality common to the chain hotels. This was real people being really helpful, from check-in to check-out, and it lifted a good stay into a great one. The hotel is outstanding and the staff are exceptional.
Great place, great staff, great location, great food.
Clean and roomy accommodation.
Overnight Stay visiting family
The Ellan Vannin is well placed on the sea front and was ideal for our purpose.
The room we stayed in (16) was lacking on some very basic maintenance - the bathroom was very modern and lovely BUT the ceiling was awful - nothing a bit of mould & mildew cleaner and a coat of paint wouldn't make good. The bedroom itself also had some holes that needed filling and painting over - what a shame otherwise this would have had a glowing report.
Stayed with my wife for 8 nights.
Seafront location. Good so far............... Arrived at Midday feeling tired and was informed we could have our room at 3pm or pay £15 to get it earlier. Decided to return at 3pm. Being almost 60 years old my wife and I were given a room 5 flights upstairs and being the only guests could not understand the logic behind this. Our room no 16 was very small with dodgy crackling electrics on the bed lamps and a risky home made extension cord under the bedside table. The walls were as thin as cardboard. The alarm clock needed new batteries. The door closer fell off on a regular basis. Our view was of the sky, a wall and next door's roof. The bathroom ceiling was damp and peeling and had no radiator. Heading down for breakfast each morning we were greeted by the smell of strong pine disinfectant and some young male employee having a cigarette on the front steps
We found the breakfasts repetitive and never changing and when my wife asked for a croissant she was told that they were not in season. On 2 occasions my wife found hairs on her breakfast. The coffee pot was never refilled and always seemed to have only the dregs left in it. The staff although pleasant did not seem to be well organised and never seemed to refill or tidy up the breakfast bar.
The cost of our stay was not cheap compared to other similar accommodation. Overall we were very disappointed and felt that the place was being run as a training centre for young people and would not recommend or revisit this place. You might think that we should have brought these things up with the owners and demanded a resolution but, there were so many things that were wrong, the obvious option would have been not to have stayed there in the first place. So I thought this review would give them a chance to buck up their ideas and sort things out for future guests.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your comments. You opted for a budget room located on an upper floor accessed by stairs only and you decided against the lower floor, sea view room. You paid £49.00 for your double room which is the cheapest price on Douglas Promenade, not the dearest. The breakfast has 5 main course choices including Manx Kippers and Omelettes and a vegetarian option, this is not considered by most of our Guests repetitive and at £5.00 per person considered to be fantastic value for money. The Hotel was not empty during your visit we were 70% occupied and on two nights we were fully booked so we were not able to give you a free room upgrade. Some of your concerns could have been addressed very quickly and I am disappointed that you would not share your dissatisfaction at the time. We do have two new dining room staff and if their performance was disorganised then I apologise. Everyone has to start somewhere. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Ellan Vannin Team.
Good value lovely room
I stayed for 6 nights out of season and forgo is value for my money as I had a twin room with a seaview, comfortable and quiet.
Walking up several staircases was ok for me as I was right at the top of the hotel with good views and quiet. The owners were really helpful and the staff left me to get along. I enjoyed and appreciated the cake treats left daily, a nice touch.
An expensive mistake
I stayed for one night and thanks to the non-refundable clause it cost me a whopping £300 and that one night was truly awful.
They allocated me the numpty room which was above the front door and that door banged incessantly throughout the night as people came in and out. The neighbours were also banging in the next room which wasn't pleasurable for me but I know it was for someone else. When they say you have a sea view don't forget the sea is across the most noisy road on the IoM. So don't expect to have a silent night. Don't even think about going out for an excursion either as you have to be back to move your car every two hours. So much for the free parking that they claim. Disappointing isn't even close.
Superb location, friendly staff - breakfast lovely,the omelettes are not for the faint hearted -
View left a lot to be desired looking over some back alley but that didn't detract from a good stay !!!!
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Overall we enjoyed our stay and the great location near the sea.
However there were a few issues. The towel rail in our bathroom was only warm at the bottom, and we think it needed to be bled. The pillows weren't that comfortable and the bedding was itchy. We also couldn't understand why (in the hotel manual) it said that a complimentary breakfast was a benefit of staying at The Ellan Vannin. When we read the breakfast menu, (despite saying it was complimentary) we were told we had to pay an unreasonable amount if we wanted to have breakfast there. We found this misleading. The size of the room was fine and the bathroom was clean, but the bath mat was very frayed. There were a few black streaks on my duvet too. For the price I paid, the room was good.