No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roomzzz Newcastle City

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Clavering Place , Newcastle, NE1 3NG
Roomzzz Newcastle City opened in November 2012. With 14 luxurious apartments with studios, one bed apartments and a penthouse suite to choose from, make yourself at home. Each apartment has been individually designed to create a spacious, well-planned living area. In fact, you'll find the rooms are 50% larger on average than comparable hotel rooms. All are fully-equipped for day to day living. And, you'll always rest easy on our generous, comfortable beds. Possibly the best night's sleep in Newcastle? We think so.

Newcastle Central Station is just half a mile away and St James Park the home of Newcastle United Football Club is under a mile away. During the day you can take a leisurely stroll to the nearby Quayside or visit the Castle Keep, one of the country's finest example of a Norman Keep, situated only 250 yards away. Or go shopping at Eldon Square, the UK's largest city centre shopping complex. For live performances try Theatre Royal or go to The Sage Gateshead for top class entertainment day and night. If you're in the city for its famous nightlife you're spoilt for choice at The Gate. The freedom of the city starts here.

The former ‘Friar House' is a well preserved example of a late Georgian town house which still retains many of its original features.This grade II listed building embodies many of the characteristics including a balanced proportion and a symmetry of design which make this form so distinct and pleasing to the eye.
Picture of Roomzzz Newcastle City, Newcastle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 2 nights for a birthday treat for my sister and had an absolutely fantastic stay, out 2 bedroomed apartment was spotless, very spacious and very modern.

Reviewed by
y rutherford

From Roslin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a city break
Great location, 5mins from the quayside and station, we we're in the apartment part of the hotel which was excellent. The only glitch was the car parking, but we eventually found a meter resonably close. Would use again.

Reviewed by
PETER C

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City centre gem
We stayed in the penthouse, what a great room packed with gadgets .
If the hotel had a car park, I think we would move in permanently.
Great value.

Reviewed by
Martin S

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
I was upgraded and had early check in on a special deal. My room was huge and very luxurious, clean and well decorated. Customer service was very friendly and I would def stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Edgecombe

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
This was our 3rd visit to Newcastle, having decide on an apartment rather than the traditional B & B we definitely wasn't disappointed. The apartment we stayed in was fabulous, great size, lovely décor and a real classy feel about it. The only downside I could say was the noise of the trains did disturb our sleep somewhat. Saying that we would definitely stay here again - and the staff could not be faulted - lovely friendly people, as we have always found in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
S Langrick

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay, central location to food places and pubs/clubs
4 of us stayed and were delighted with the room, well apartment, we were given. Great value for money. Little on the warm side temperature wise but nothing to complain about really.

Reviewed by
L Burns

From Cleator Moor, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will never stay anywhere else!
Just returned from the most fantastic stay. The apartment was of the highest quality and furnishings were gorgeous. As soon as we settled I was straight on the internet to try and book in for an extra night! Needless to say it was fully booked:( Can't wait for my next trip to Newcastle and I know where I'm staying! x

Reviewed by
Bernadette Quigley

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, a shame about the noise!
We have stayed at Roomzzz Newcastle twice. On our second visit we stayed in one of the 'penthouse suites' on the third floor of the hotel. The apartment was beautifully decorated and had excellent kitchen/dining/living room facilities downstairs and bedroom/bathroom facilities upstairs. However the apartment overlooked Central Station train station and as a result we could hear very loud train traffic noise which went on until after midnight and started again around 5 am. Usually I am a very heavy sleeper, but this noise was so loud you could even hear the train guard announcing the arrival and departure of trains clearly over the station intercom and I was woken up many times. We had payed an additional £10 to extend our checkout time from 11 am to 1 pm, however the noise disturbance was so persistent we decided to get up and checkout after we had eaten breakfast.
The first time we stayed at this hotel we stayed in a suite on the ground floor where there was no issue with noise disturbance at all. This room was considerably cheaper than the 'penthouse suite'.
Also we arrived in Newcastle at around 11 am. We were aware that check in was not until 3 pm however we went to the hotel to drop off our luggage before heading into the city. The hotel is accessed through a gate which is opened by reception through an intercom. When I pressed the intercom and informed the receptionist we had a reservation I was cut off mid sentence and told check in was not until 3 pm. When I explained I was aware of this but would like to drop off our luggage I was informed this would be at our own risk as the office behind the reception was not locked! Even if this is true it seemed a little unfriendly and did not give a good impression of the hotel as the room the luggage was stored in could only be accessed behind the reception desk and was therefore surely accessible to hotel staff.
I would recommend this hotel to other people for the excellent room facilities, but choose a suite on the ground floor otherwise you may not be able to sleep!

Reviewed by
Darren G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top place
Amazing room was mega couldn't ask for more beautiful place great staff loved every minuet of it clean tidy breakfast was lovely just right will return again.

Reviewed by
kasey cridland

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value Luxury
The apartment was furnished to an extremely high and luxurious standard with care and detail to interior design shown throughout and it was a pleasure to stay in the accommodation. The decor is modern heritage with a modern kitchen and wet room. The apartment itself was immaculate to standard that it felt new and unused. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Thomas Squire

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next