No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roomzzz Newcastle City

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Clavering Place , Newcastle, NE1 3NG
Roomzzz Newcastle City opened in November 2012. With 14 luxurious apartments with studios, one bed apartments and a penthouse suite to choose from, make yourself at home. Each apartment has been individually designed to create a spacious, well-planned living area. In fact, you'll find the rooms are 50% larger on average than comparable hotel rooms. All are fully-equipped for day to day living. And, you'll always rest easy on our generous, comfortable beds. Possibly the best night's sleep in Newcastle? We think so.

Newcastle Central Station is just half a mile away and St James Park the home of Newcastle United Football Club is under a mile away. During the day you can take a leisurely stroll to the nearby Quayside or visit the Castle Keep, one of the country's finest example of a Norman Keep, situated only 250 yards away. Or go shopping at Eldon Square, the UK's largest city centre shopping complex. For live performances try Theatre Royal or go to The Sage Gateshead for top class entertainment day and night. If you're in the city for its famous nightlife you're spoilt for choice at The Gate. The freedom of the city starts here.

The former ‘Friar House' is a well preserved example of a late Georgian town house which still retains many of its original features.This grade II listed building embodies many of the characteristics including a balanced proportion and a symmetry of design which make this form so distinct and pleasing to the eye.
Picture of Roomzzz Newcastle City, Newcastle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing stay, suite looks like a show room, affordable luxury
Absolutely incredibly stay at roomzzz! We arrived and the girl at reception was lovely - as it was our first time in Newcastle she assured us it was great and told us exactly the best nightlife and places to go. I actually left one of my bags downstairs and not only did she ring and inform our room - she came to our room to give it us back. Great customer service. As for the apartment itself - it was an absolute dream come true - show room-style luxury of which for my birthday me and my friends were absolutely delighted with. The accomodation itself is in a very central location - 2 mins walk from shops and nightlife. But it is also away enough from the main road to be lovely and peaceful and quiet. Overall the stay was amazing - the apartment was beautifully furnished and whoever maintains the place should be very proud. Only small complaint would be the 'breakfast included' - I wouldnt really call 8 croissants breakfast. But that is the ONLY thing I would say about the entire experience. Would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
Lucy Aspinall

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unbelievable quality and value for money
If your a couple looking to stay in the centre of Newcastle this is the ideal place. Walking distance to everything, at the back of the train station and spitting distance to bars/clubs. If your wanting a relaxing time the quality of room is fantastic. Spacious apartment for £75 (week night). Clean and soooooo cosy. Stayed twice now and will be back. Loved it

Reviewed by
Michael I

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Fabulous
We were absolutely over the moon with our fantastic room for our anniversary- it had a comfortable suite feel to it. Large living space with exposed beams and large flat screen TV , sofa area, dining area and a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, microwave, oven. Beautiful bathroom with fabulous walk in shower and the gorgeous bedroom was also equipped with large flat screen TV and iPod dock.
Would definitely recommend for any length of stay and at the price we found on laterooms you could afford to stay longer - by far superior to any hotel room I have stayed in.

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From Darlington , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Got this on a great deal, the room/apartment was worth way more than I paid for it. Great facilities.

Reviewed by
Scott F

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay and accommodation was straight up, simple and good value.
Only bad point would be the awkwardly small bathroom in our basement bedroom. It also had very low overhanging edges, with sharp metal edging. A foam strip or brightly coloured highlight may have saved my scalp a few cuts and bruises.

Reviewed by
Tom K

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!!!!
Best!!!!! Apartment ever!!!! Me and a friend went to Newcastle for the weekend and were so amazed at how lovely this hotel was!!!! Spotless, excellent interior design!! We were so happy it made our weekend! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there. Room service brought new towels, TVs in bedroom and living area! Kitchen has everything you need and more. Bed was sooooo comfy, stayed on a hot night and had a fan in the room thank god! Hotel staff boxed taxis for us! Even though its close to the train station we heard no noise really, bathroom was gorgeous! The only thing I would say the downfall is there is no parking and we had to park at the train station it's about £22 for two days but slightly annoying carrying all our luggage up the road. Other than that best place I've ever stayed and what a bargain at £70 per night! So close to the river side and the night/city life! Will defiantly be returning!!!!! :-)

Reviewed by
Kirsty H

From Grays , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Accommodation - Highly recommended
Pros - centrally located; tastefully converted building
Cons - lacks private parking facility; lacks licensed bar / restaurant

Reviewed by
mark p

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Absolutely beautiful hotel and lovely friendly staff. Great location. Great room. Will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
S Mantle

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Stayed her for one night and enjoyed every minute. Got a free upgrade to a suite which was an unexpected pleasure. The suite was immaculately clean, plenty of living space. the staff were friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to to recommend.

Reviewed by
George H

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning room, but not in hot weather!
I had a loft apartment, which was a truly stunning room - perfectly decorated, spacious and well equipped. In normal weather it would be amazing, however I stayed when it was hot (25 deg outside) and as the room faced SW, it was like an oven and even worse in the elevated bedroom. There is no air conditioning or fans and, even with all the windows open, it wasn't until 3am that it became bearable to sleep. As the hotel is near the train station, having the windows open overnight meant you are likely to be woken regularly by passing goods trains. I was told on departure that fans had arrived, so this may be less of an issue now. Shame, as otherwise the room was idyllic ! Breakfast a non starter.....you can eat it if you are starving, but better to go out and get a great breakfast at a local coffee shop. Coffee machine good though!

Reviewed by
Rod J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next