No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roomzzz Newcastle City

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Clavering Place , Newcastle, NE1 3NG
Roomzzz Newcastle City opened in November 2012. With 14 luxurious apartments with studios, one bed apartments and a penthouse suite to choose from, make yourself at home. Each apartment has been individually designed to create a spacious, well-planned living area. In fact, you'll find the rooms are 50% larger on average than comparable hotel rooms. All are fully-equipped for day to day living. And, you'll always rest easy on our generous, comfortable beds. Possibly the best night's sleep in Newcastle? We think so.

Newcastle Central Station is just half a mile away and St James Park the home of Newcastle United Football Club is under a mile away. During the day you can take a leisurely stroll to the nearby Quayside or visit the Castle Keep, one of the country's finest example of a Norman Keep, situated only 250 yards away. Or go shopping at Eldon Square, the UK's largest city centre shopping complex. For live performances try Theatre Royal or go to The Sage Gateshead for top class entertainment day and night. If you're in the city for its famous nightlife you're spoilt for choice at The Gate. The freedom of the city starts here.

The former ‘Friar House' is a well preserved example of a late Georgian town house which still retains many of its original features.This grade II listed building embodies many of the characteristics including a balanced proportion and a symmetry of design which make this form so distinct and pleasing to the eye.
Picture of Roomzzz Newcastle City, Newcastle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room but issues.
Bad points out the way first. There is no parking available for this hotel, so cost me another £30 to leave my car at the train station for 2 days. The sound proofing is poor, so you can hear all the announcements from the station and all the trains from 4am to 11pm.
However, the rooms are very nice, spacious and well appointed. However, would not stay there again due to the above points.

Reviewed by
S Nelson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very spacious however lots and lots of light switches that some of them didn't do anything. Kitchen was basic but had everything you would need. Bed very comfy. However the hotel overlooks the station and main train line north therefore you hear every announcement and every train. Internet connection was intermittent and poor

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

deinately recommend
we stayed here for a weekend visit to newcastle and were very impressed by the size of the apartment and the location. the room was spotless and fully equipped for cooking. the staff were very friendly and helpful. it's only a short walk to the city centre and the quayside and has lots of lively bars really close, yet the apartments are on a quiet side street so there is no noise from the street at night.

Reviewed by
amy s

From Carrickfergus, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accommodation!
Booked this hotel for a group of 4 girls for a night away. We couldn't believe our eyes when we got to the room, amazing standard of accommodation and price! We'd definitely come back and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best stay ever!!
Could not have asked for better location, staff or accommodation. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Newcastle now because it couldn't possibly be as good!

Reviewed by
A O'Mara

From Motherwell , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice new hotel, but very quiet. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
j smith

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing experience from start to finish!!
when we arrived in Newcastle we walked 5 minutes to the Hotel, we were a bit worried as the area is in the middle of re-development but when we saw the hotel and our room those fears disappeared. the staff were so helpful and chatty , the room was out of this world - everything was new , big and everything you would want from a home from home - but better.
12 out of 10!!!!

Reviewed by
j hill

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms with a wow factor
I had room 204 which consisted of a very large kitchen/dining/living area which had excellent modern decor but still kept the character of the building including the fireplace. All the cooking facilities you'd want. Separate bedroom with window into lounge and then a shower room with large walk in shower
Wifi was good, large TV in living room had Freeview set at just the right height. Comfortable seating in the lounge area and good desk space for work.
Negatives - TV in bedroom was set far too high up and some channels didn't seem to work. Once overpowering room scent plug turned off there was a slight smell of cigarettes emanating from the bathroom but just closed the door and OK. Surprisingly stingy on the teas and coffee materials inn the room but plenty more downstairs in the "pantry area". I had view to the front which unfortunately at the moment is waste ground.
Reception was manned and very well presented and excellent service from the staff
Breakfast is OK for me - grab and go pastries, fruit and juices in the lobby.
Shame I was only staying one night on business and had to leave early the next day otherwise it would be a perfect base for a city break. Station is only 5 minutes walk away and building has distinctive Roomzzzzz neon sign to guide you

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Warlingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here with my friends for a night out in Newcastle we stayed in the 4 person aparthold. It was perfect, clean modern, more than we could of asked for and for such a reasonable price. The reception staff were very helpful and were on hand for anything we needed.

Reviewed by
E Morrison

From Poulton-le-fylde, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room. Excellent central location.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next