No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bede's Well Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
146, Bede Burn Road , Jarrow, NE32 5AU
Bede's Well Guest House will make you feel welcome at this small, family run business. We are ideally situated for everything Tyneside has to offer.

We are very proud of our high standards here at Bede's Well, with housekeeping and cleanliness high priority.

You will also find that all of our rooms are attractively decorated, and we have even been awarded a 3 star award in recognition of our high standards from Visit Britain (the national tourist board).

We strive to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay, so don't hesitate, book today!

We are on the outskirts of Jarrow, but are still within a short driving distance of South and North Shields, Gateshead and Newcastle.

We are also situated close to a Metro system so we are ideal if you want to explore Tyneside by public transport. Further afield, you will find historic Durham and Hadrian's Wall country which are also well worth a visit.
Picture of Bede's Well Guest House, Jarrow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home
This is the kind of place you come to just to hang out and chat with people. The hosts were genial and extended a warm welcome. Come here if you want a cozy British home environment to stay in and you aren't too fussed by cigarette odours. The bedrooms are enormous, there's a communal tv room if you don't want to watch in your room. We were very impressed with their hospitality and amenable kindness.

Reviewed by
Cheryl B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very well looked after when I was ill

Reviewed by
d hill

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Above and beyond.
Great customer service, very friendly and great value for money

Reviewed by
G Williams

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 2 nights in Bede's Well Guest House and had a good time. The room was clean and we became a bigger room than paid for. The host gave us a warm welcome and was very lovely. He is really nice and always there to help you. One day he drove us with his car to the next metro station. We get a good full englisch breakfast. There are also cereals, yoghurt, fruits and pasties. Would recommend to stay there.

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Germany
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic, well enjoyed staing there and mr Paul such an amazing man. Thanks a million.

Reviewed by
leonard cenga

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an unexpected stay!
unexpted in the way of 'how can we make the tourist their days at our B&B as nice as possible'.
Never thought that there are still owners who care about their public and not just their money...

Reviewed by
Franky B

From 8400 Oostende, Belgium
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly service

Reviewed by
D Sexton

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly stay
Great little guest house: friendly and extremely helpful owner and excellent breakfast. Hard to fault at the price. Would stay again

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B! Highly recommended
This isn't the first time I've stayed at Bede's Well and it's not going to be the last. Paul is a fantastic host and can't do too much for his guests. He helped me with travel arrangements in the area, pointed out various pubs to go to and was generally really very helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were well appointed, with bath robes, lots of toiletries and a nice flat screen tv. Highly recommended. You wouldn't get this sort of personal service in larger hotels!

Reviewed by
K Sussams

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value guest house with very friendly staff. The cooked breakfast was good. Our room was large and comfortable, but in desperate need of a makeover. The furnishings and breakfast crockery etc were not terribly clean and, in fact, I felt the whole house needed a steam clean and redecoration. Warning to non-smokers - despite the no smoking sign the whole house smelt of stale tobacco smoke. With this obnoxious smell mixed with the lingering smell of fried breakfast we felt the need to 'Febreze' our room every day! We kept all clothing in our suitcases but still noticed the smell on our clothes when we returned home. Would I recommend this guest house? Only to someone looking for something cheap and cheerful!

ManagementResponse

In order to consider this guests comment objectively, I saw the opinion of a local resident who called unexpectedly. Having read the message her immediate response was that had she encountered circumstances as described she would have voiced her views straight away. I endorse this approach as being preferable to a guest house proprietor. She noticed neither stale tobacco smells and no food odour of any kind. It is agreed that an outlay of £49 for a room and a good cooked breakfast for 2 people is indeed excellent value and I emphasise this in particular, that this is for a room with refreshments and en-suite facilities plus a flat screen television. This guest house was Victorian built and in keeping with it's character, the coving on the ceiling is the original. The bedroom has been redecorated within 2 years, which was when the en-suite was created. My business is independently owned and resources as available are utilised between bedrooms and common areas with the context of continuing to offer such well priced accommodation. Both further redecoration and steam cleaning are always priorities. I am pleased to hear my staff being described as friendly. I am heartened by the positive views expressed by my previous guests.

Reviewed by
Susan O

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next