Reviews - Bede's Well Guest House

3

146, Bede Burn Road, Jarrow, NE32 5AU

Price From 92.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (41)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Williams

  • July 2014

Above and beyond.

Great customer service, very friendly and great value for money

  • Paul K

  • June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Bede's Well Guest House and had a good time.

The room was clean and we became a bigger room than paid for. The host gave us a warm welcome and was very lovely. He is really nice and always there to help you. One day he drove us with his car to the next metro station. We get a good full englisch breakfast. There are also cereals, yoghurt, fruits and pasties. Would recommend to stay there.

  • leonard cenga

  • June 2014

Absolutely fantastic, well enjoyed staing there and mr Paul such an amazing man.

Thanks a million.

  • Franky B

  • June 2014

an unexpected stay!

unexpted in the way of 'how can we make the tourist their days at our B&B as nice as possible'.

Never thought that there are still owners who care about their public and not just their money...

  • D Sexton

  • June 2014

Good friendly service

  • David S

  • May 2014

Friendly stay

Great little guest house: friendly and extremely helpful owner and excellent breakfast.

Hard to fault at the price. Would stay again

  • K Sussams

  • April 2014

Great B&B! Highly recommended

This isn't the first time I've stayed at Bede's Well and it's not going to be the last.

Paul is a fantastic host and can't do too much for his guests. He helped me with travel arrangements in the area, pointed out various pubs to go to and was generally really very helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were well appointed, with bath robes, lots of toiletries and a nice flat screen tv. Highly recommended. You wouldn't get this sort of personal service in larger hotels!

  • Susan O

  • March 2014

Excellent value guest house with very friendly staff.

The cooked breakfast was good. Our room was large and comfortable, but in desperate need of a makeover. The furnishings and breakfast crockery etc were not terribly clean and, in fact, I felt the whole house needed a steam clean and redecoration. Warning to non-smokers - despite the no smoking sign the whole house smelt of stale tobacco smoke. With this obnoxious smell mixed with the lingering smell of fried breakfast we felt the need to 'Febreze' our room every day. We kept all clothing in our suitcases but still noticed the smell on our clothes when we returned home. Would I recommend this guest house. Only to someone looking for something cheap and cheerful!

Response from hotel

In order to consider this guests comment objectively, I saw the opinion of a local resident who called unexpectedly. Having read the message her immediate response was that had she encountered circumstances as described she would have voiced her views straight away.

I endorse this approach as being preferable to a guest house proprietor. She noticed neither stale tobacco smells and no food odour of any kind. It is agreed that an outlay of £49 for a room and a good cooked breakfast for 2 people is indeed excellent value and I emphasise this in particular, that this is for a room with refreshments and en-suite facilities plus a flat screen television.

This guest house was Victorian built and in keeping with it's character, the coving on the ceiling is the original. The bedroom has been redecorated within 2 years, which was when the en-suite was created.

My business is independently owned and resources as available are utilised between bedrooms and common areas with the context of continuing to offer such well priced accommodation.

Both further redecoration and steam cleaning are always priorities. I am pleased to hear my staff being described as friendly. I am heartened by the positive views expressed by my previous guests.

  • richard knowles

  • February 2014

staff and service were excellent,could not do enough for us great welcome at late arrival breakfast was tasty full English paul was great give good advice on facilitys in house great value even droped us off at local pub not bad eh

  • Elizabeth H

  • February 2014

Friendly, clean and comfortable. Freshly cooked full English breakfast too.