No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
13/17 East Parade, , , Whitley Bay, NE26 1AP
The beach and promenade are literally just across the road from the hotel entrance. Since we do not cater for stag or hen parties, we can offer you an enjoyable and relaxed stay, supported by our friendly and dedicated staff. Our facilities include free WiFi anywhere in the hotel and plasma TVs with freeview channels in every room,Phones. We offer unlimited buffet-style English and continental breakfast in our Breakfast Room on the first floor. Enjoy fine Italian cuisine (lunch and dinner) at Davanti Restaurant (just off our Reception) from £10.00 per person for a three-course meal before 19:00 hours. With its close proximity to the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and other nearby industrial towns, Whitley Bay was ideal, attracting holidaymakers and day-trippers escaping from the daily grind and toil of Victorian industrial Britain.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Excellent as always except for parking which is an issue with restaurant next door sharing parking. However the restaurant is excused as their product is superb

Reviewed by
J Murdoch

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home.
I was visiting family in Whitley Bay and decided to stay in a hotel with a sea view, for a change.
After reading the reviews of this hotel it seemed to be suitable. It was, absolutely. Couldn't find
fault with it. I stayed in room 4 which has the most incredible sea views - a lovely big comfortable
room with a large en suite shower room. Recently renovated and tastefully decorated. Well stocked tray with tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. Beautiful fluffy white bath robes and slippers also provided
in wardrobe. Breakfast was delicious - anything you could possibly want was there. All the staff were
extremely helpful and friendly. I stayed four nights from Sunday to Thursday and was not troubled
by noise from the street outside or the bar and restaurant attached to the hotel. I was not able
to sample either of these unfortunately, but maybe next time, as I will certainly be staying there
again.

Reviewed by
S Fraser

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, friendly staff, good food
Our stay at this hotel was booked only a few days before and based on some of our experiences during our tour of Scotland I wasn't expecting anything special for £70, how wrong I was.
Upon our arrival I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who told me that we'd been upgraded to a sea view room at no extra cost.
The room was massive with a nice bay window overlooking the sea, king size bed nicely presented.
The hotel's restaurant served beautifully cooked Tapas and was excellent value for money.
I can't comment about the hotel's Italian restaurant but it looked nice.
A good choice of food for breakfast (either full English or continental).
The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in and I will definitely be going back some time.

Reviewed by
Clive Needham

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic, worth staying here, friendly kind and very helpful.
definitely recommend The Royal

Reviewed by
ali dolby

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short But Enjoyable
Spent only a single evening at this hotel but it was very nice. Staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent, would definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great wee hotel across from the sea front! would return for sure!
We arrived a bit late but staff were welcoming and friendly! Had a lovely meal at Davanti then a few drinks in the hotel bar! Breakfast was great, lots of food on offer and staff all available to assist. Room was the one on the website with the red flowers, was clean and had an extra heater available since it was quite cold, wet and windy on arrival. Slept well, no complaints at all!
The view would have been fab had the weather been better, will visit again.:-D

Reviewed by
Lynda B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute selection
Very friendly helpful staff
All facilities as described
Good quality breakfast
Handy Restaurants either side of the hotel

Reviewed by
Eric Taylor

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5* service defo worth a visit
Amazing staff - couldnt do enough - receptionist offered me her coat and umberella as id forgotten mine and it had started to rain. Double room - expected just a bed and ensuite but had a lovvely seperate area with a sofa infront of the tv. Would absoloutley go back again.

Reviewed by
joanne hodson

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean , comfortable if you don't mind stairs and an awkward shower.
No lift so not suitable for disabled. Room 18 Shower VERY difficult to regulate between freezing and scalding, with no clear instructions. I have a burn mark! Great breakfast. Comfortable, very clean but very small room. I was lucky and got a good parking space. Not many available.

Reviewed by
Peter Ackroyd

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single traveller breakaway weekend
The location of the hotel is very good, and the food at breakfast first class with excellent service. The staff generally were friendly and helpful. For a single room my bedroom was larger than some, clean and bed very comfortable. An improvement would be a heated towel rail and an easy chair.

Reviewed by
G Martin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next