No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
6, Clifton Road , Buxton, SK17 6QL
The Old Manse Guest House, Buxton is centrally located in Buxton, Derbyshire. An award winning 4 star Silver establishment offering bed and breakfast accommodation, ideally situated for exploring the Peak District National Park and Derbyshire Dales.

This high quality Guesthouse offers great value accommodation. Situated in a quiet tree lined street with free parking and only a 5 minutes walk to the market square where you will find an array of pubs and restaurants. The Pavillion and Opera House are only a 10 minute walk from us.

Picture of The Old Manse, Buxton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and welcoming
I missed my connection and arived late. Staff very kindly picked me up from Buxton station.

Reviewed by
K R

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would go back to Buxton just to stay here again!
Our experience at the Old Manse was lovely. We only stayed one night for a wedding, but the hosts were polite and informative without being overly attentive and invasive. The room was large, clean, and kitted out with everything we needed. Also had a lovely nights sleep on a very comfy bed!
The breakfast the next morning was as locally sourced as possible, and could be cereal, fruit salad, toast and full English if you wanted it! Needless to say it was delicious,
We don't have a bad word to say, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks Old Manse!

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Manse
We stayed 1 night as we had tickets for a show at the Buxton Opera House which is a short walk away, the walk back is a little challenging as the hill is steep but a taxi is very affordable as it is only a short distance. Our room was spotless with an excellent en-suite and great shower, the bed was a very comfortable large king size (maybe a little large for the size of room) and the room had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice as well as the usual 'full English'. Overall The Old Manse was perfect for our needs.

Reviewed by
S Parker

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at the Old Manse Buxton

Reviewed by
Samantha Smith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay
A most enjoyable short break. Friendly, helpful, clean... and a great breakfast!

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Opera house visit
We stayed at The Old Manse on Friday 2nd May whilst attending an event at the Opera House. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Elizabeth the owner of The Old Manse who was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction to our destination and providing us with a map of the local area. Our room was warm and comfortable with a huge comfortable bed and an array of information on things to do in the local area. Adequate tea and coffee making facilities and a flask of fresh milk provided by Elizabeth just in case we did not like the pre packed cartons, a nice touch.Breakfast was very nice with a great choice, would like to have stayed longer to sample some of these. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, local oat cake wraps, porridge and kippers. We would definitely recommend the Old Manse and would certainly return

Reviewed by
Graham Shepley

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel with friendly owners
Great welcome, comfotable and nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Matthewman

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay here, very warm welcome, clean, comfortable room and excellent, delicious breakfast. Thank you.

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Greeted with a wonderful warm welcome we were shown to our room where we were more than impressed. The room was beautifully decorated with a good balance between the traditional and contemporary, the bed was large and very comfortable, the bathroom and shower was impeccable and there was more than enough tea and coffee laid out. The furniture was very impressive and a good sized TV was on the wall in the corner. The owners have put a lot of time and effort into a welcome pack which I would recommend reading, as this gives you history and information about the area as well as recommending places to go and things to see and do. The guest house really is only a five to ten minute walk from the main square which boasts a good selection of local pubs, shops and restaurants, and is in walking distance of the Pavilion Gardens. Breakfast did not disappoint, with cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices, tea and coffee and then a good selection of cooked options which were very well cooked and delicious. Again we were made to feel very much at home and given lots of advice and tips on where to go and what to do. All in all I can honestly say The Old Manse made our stay memorable and very enjoyable and I would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Richard Eastwood

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellence all round
Friendly welcome, great breakfast, comfortable modern room, amazing shower, clean.

Reviewed by
John D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next