No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Warkworth House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16 BRIDGE STREET Warkworth, Northumberland, NE65 0XB
In the heart of the village of Warkworth, this 18th-century coaching inn offers 3-star hotel accommodation less than a mile from the Northumberland coast. There is some private parking on site but also free parking in the village square located to the rear of the hotel.

Warkworth is a small, charming village nestled in a loop of the River Coquet. Surrounded by wonderful beaches, castles, gardens and golf courses, the Warkworth House Hotel is a great base for exploring some of Northumberland’s most beautiful unspoilt countryside.

The Restaurant, serves high-quality food made using locally sourced produce.
Picture of Warkworth House Hotel, Northumberland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very adequate stay with good service but some problems
We were pleasantly greeted and quickly informed where to park the car which was nice. We were shown to our room which was also very nice. The niceties then started to get a little rarer although the room was not cold even though it was 5pm on a cold sunny November day. There was no secondary glazing and every car that passed the hotel could be heard clearly and counted. During the stay I counted 51 cars from late evening to Breakfast Time,some in the early hours. Although clean, the bathroom suffered from some negligence and poor design. There were no shelves for wash bags & the fan was broken making it very steamy. The switches for the bed lights were too high and brought on far too much light in the middle of the night when going to the toilet. On a better note the Dining experience was quite good but the dining room was unheated and it was tempting to go and put another jumper on.

Reviewed by
K Britton

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will return soon to Warkworth House Hotel.
Will stay here again next time we are in the area. Nice people, fair price, decent room and good food. What's not to like about that.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Dewsbury, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
E Alderson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice break
We enjoyed our two nights. Very friendly staff, nice clean and comfortable room and a good breakfast. We ate out in the evening at the local pub as we thought the bar and dining room lacked atmosphere, probably more because it was off-season and so quiet.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Really friendly, helpful staff and lovely hotel. Unfortunately our room was at the front of the hotel next to the main road and was a little noisy. Food was good and well cooked although some dishes lacked a little imagination but overall, for the price it was a welcome break.

Reviewed by
DAVID BERRY

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Hotel in an attractive village
Excellent short stay in a very pleasant area of Northumberland. Very good hotel, pleasant staff, good food.

Reviewed by
David M

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay again at Warkworth Castle Hotel
Great stay last year when new owners had just arrived and spoke of ambitious plans for refurbishment and modernisation
Came back at short notice ealier this month (September 13) for short break and althougjh some refurbishment still ongoing experience was as positive as last time.
Room lovely, modern and clean (if a little lacking in headroom), food superb, welcome and service top class.
Happy to recommended it to friends but want to keep the Hotel secret so its not booked up fully when we try to book in the spring!

Reviewed by
Peter O

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Room was spacious and clean, and appeared newly decorated (lovely thick carpet!) Fantastic bathroom with a large shower.
Breakfast and evening meal were excellent!
A lovely village, but not many shops/restaurants.

Reviewed by
K Petrie

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice comfortable, homely, lovely polite staff. would recommend and come again.

Reviewed by
Albert John McAvoy

From Heanor, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
very nice and clean and central

Reviewed by
christine s

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next