No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vermont Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Vermont Hotel, Castle Garth , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11RQ
The Landmark Vermont Hotel is proudly positioned in the heart of the City next to The Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall. The Vermont Hotel boasts an enviable city centre postcode; conveniently located just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station, not to mention the many shops, bars and attractions of Newcastle town centre.

Promising the perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Vermont Hotel Newcastle combines its proud 1930’s grandeur with modern 4 Star luxury. A stay in any one of its 101 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. Finished in soft relaxing colours, with facilities to allow you to sit back and relax in a comfortable arm chair, enjoy a drink from your personal bar or work at your dedicated work desk with high speed Wi Fi internet access.

Free internet access is now available throughout The Vermont. Catch up on a little bit of work, check your emails or surf the internet to find your perfect day out near The Vermont.

The impressive venue, with our fresh, vibrant and personal approach to hospitality is what will ensure an enjoyable, refreshing and unforgettable experience by you, our guest.
Picture of The Vermont Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 199 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Myself and my boyfriend booked the Vermont hotel for one night as a last minuite shopping break in newcastle. We booked through late rooms and got a cheap deal £65 for b&b. There were many mixed reviews about this hotel so I was a bit wary of what to expect. However it was fantastic! Welcoming friendly receptionist and lovely man who parked our car for us! Also free parking. Rooms are very clean but a little dated but think the hotel is being refurbished. Restaurant and bar area really nice decor. Food in restaurant lovely. Food and drinks reasonable priced. Breakfast great too. Buffet style lots to choose from. Also really nice cocktail bar on ground floor of hotel. Fantastic hotel in central location for nights out or shopping. I would most definitely stay here again great value for money. I would love to stay again and I will definitely reccomend to frfiends and family. I'm sure once the bedrooms are refurbished it will be more like a five star.

Reviewed by
carla n

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

want to return
Book an overnight stay for our 20th anniversary and wasn't disappointed.
Staff extremely helpfully and polite. Room lovely and clean, reception adjoining bar and dinning room beautifully decorated. We had breakfast here and there was a great choice and was lovely.
Could not fault our stay here, and am hoping to return next year.

Reviewed by
D Graves

From Welwyn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vermont Hotel
Booked for one night stay, everything was as expected. The room was on the 10th floor it was very clean and we had a nice view of the river Tyne.We had breakfast which was great value and there was lots to choose from.

Reviewed by
G Mcivor

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really upmarket hotel venue
For the discounted price i paid, this was an excellent booking. A great hotel for Business travellers, with decent location, large comfortable rooms and a really pleasant environment. Having stayed in other hotels either side of my night at the Vermont, this was the best of the three by far and I will return with fond memories.

Reviewed by
Jeremy F

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Very good

Reviewed by
W S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff good, lounge and bar area very good. Room was dated.

Reviewed by
John C

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay, helpful staff in a very convenient location.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Vermont. The concierge was extremely helpful with bags and parking etc and all staff were friendly. The public rooms are very well appointed, we had good breakfasts. The hotel is very convenient for Newcastle Centre and the Quayside. We shall return.

Reviewed by
Stephen O

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TRADITIONAL CHARM WITH GENEROUS SPACE
Quite forgotten what it was like to stay in a traditional hotel. Generous sized rooms with comfortable bed and I can't remember when I was last able to enjoy the luxury of being able to pull up and park for free outside the front door. I ate in the restaurant, where the food was gracefully served, but the flavour of my fish of the day (sea bass) didn't quite live up to its presentation - perhaps a mistaken choice for a Sunday evening. As an afficianado of kippers for breakfast since the halcyon days of the British Rail Restaurant Car, I am afraid that the miserly "boil in a bag" filleted effort at just shy of £10 was deeply, deeply disappointing! Notwithstanding, it wasn't enough to detract from an otherwise excellent experience! I have already commended it to members of the family!

Reviewed by
Philip Barber

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The outside of the hotel and the location was stunning. However the quality of the room was dated and tired. Disappointed. Front of house staff need to raise a smile once in a while and make their guests feel welcome. If you don't like your job, get a new one!!

Reviewed by
Victoria A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not 4*
I got this room at a bargain price, and this was certainly reflected in what I was given. The hotel entrance and lobby were stunning, really setting the scene of how good this hotel should have been. The staff were polite but I left them feeling rushed and they weren't exactly friendly. The standard double room I was given was ok however I feel a modern premier inn room would have been nicer. The wallpaper was peeling, the tiles in the bathroom had mould on the grout, the tv tuning was poor to say the least (4 channels and not the main ones, fuzzy picture) When it came to the 'valet' parking I had to do this myself and walk back up from the car park - only a few hundred metres away but this was meant to be part of the service. I suppose if I was driving a Aston Martin rather than a Corsa it would have been. I understand top hotels want to fill their rooms so offer them cheaper when they aren't selling them, but I still expect the normal service associated with that hotel. If this was supposed to be 4* then i've been staying in 5* budget accommodation as i've had better service and facilities in £30 a night rooms than this £70 a night one.

Reviewed by
A Lee

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next