No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Langdale Hotel & Spa

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside, LA22 9JD
This 4-star woodland estate stands in the heart of the Lake District offering a luxury spa, a cornucopia of dining experiences all set in a 35 acres. Langdale Hotel & Spa is a 10-minute drive from Lake Windermere or Lake Coniston, 4 miles outside of Ambleside. Great for that romantic get away
Our Lakeland Signature rooms each have a modern bathroom with designer toiletries and luxury bathrobes. All rooms feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and an iPod dock. The bedding is luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and goose down duvets.
The majority of the 56 bedrooms are located village-style, in historic building close to the reception & spa. Wainwrights' Inn is a traditional pub with open fires and real ale, whilst Purdey's Restaurant features an award winning tasting menu with complimentary wines overlooking views of a working water wheel. There is also informal dining in The Terrace Restaurant or Hobsons Bar.
The spa has a 20m indoor swimming pool and a fully equipped fitness centre. Guests can relax in the whirlpool bath, steam room or tropical showers or treat themselves to a relaxing spa treatment. Surrounded by mountains, great views of the famous Langdale Pikes and gentle streams, Langdale Hotel & Spa is just outside the hamlets of Elterwater and Chapel Stile. Free on-site parking is available.



Picture of Langdale Hotel & Spa, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Great place but could do with more light in room (very difficult to read in bed) and a much more powerful shower. Eco-friendly only goes so far at this price!

Reviewed by
Robert A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short unplanned stay
This was a last minute unplaned stay as a reward for selling our house and moving out. We stayed in room 121, the room was functional with all you would need for a short break but not really any better than a Premier Inn with the exception of a whirlpool bath that we didn't use. The hotel gym and pool were ok but the hot tub took a long time to start again after completing its cycle. The staff were very helpful as you would expect when staying at this type of hotel and the hotel grounds were excellent and well worth a walk. We found the hotel food to be adequate but not up to the standard that the hotel prices suggested they should be, in short over prised in our opinion. Other than we enjoyed our break and would stay again if we were in the area and could get another last minute deal.

Reviewed by
Alex P

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overall facilities, disappointing room size/lack of privacy
Overall experience was great - staff very friendly and helpful, great food and drink (particularly at Wainwrights!) and a fabulous setting. Only gripe was the size of the Fellside room we stayed in (small) and the lack of privacy - the windows opened onto a balcony/walkway so you couldn't really open the curtains.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet & out the way
Relaxing place but its a bit out the way. Taxis to ambleside are £18 one way and buses few and far between and stop after 7pm.The bar prices are extortionate but it is an upmarket place, take your own drink. Leisure facilities are nice enough though and the rooms tastefully decorated. I wouldn't pay top dollar for the room but if you can get get a discount it makes you feel better. Staff really nice and helpful but its rather dull and expensive. Ambleside is where the entertainment is.

Reviewed by
Gordon H

From Lochgelly, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal short break
Idyllic setting, lots of facilities, restaurants, spa and pool all first class. Luxurious rooms. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
R Walton

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was lovely, staff were polite

Reviewed by
A Iqbal

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was comfortable in a lovely location. The grounds were very well kept. Most of the staff were helpful and the service was good apart from the service in the Terrace Bar which was non existent.

Reviewed by
David K

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous weekend.
I booked this as a surprise for my girlfriends birthday and all I can say is wow. We had a fantastic weekend. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The facilities were amazing and the spa was excellent as well. We ate at the local pub on the first night and another pub near where we had walked on the second night, so I can't comment on the evening meals but breakfast was fantastic and I can't think of any thing else they could have done to make it better. All in all we had a fantastic time and if you want some where to relax away from it all I can't recommend the Langdale highly enough.

Reviewed by
T Staines

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities excellent break
Thoroughly enjoyable few days at the hotel & spa great accomodation, location and facilities. The weather even was sunny just to top things off.

Reviewed by
ALASTAIR R

From Saltcoats, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxurious but Naturally Beautiful Langdale
The Langdale is set in a naturally outstanding and beautiful location. Everything about the site is in keeping with it's surroundings ~ it is tasteful, elegant, natural yet luxurious. Just being within the grounds and walking about makes you feel good, looked after, treated. Lots to see and great base to explore the local villages and all of The Lakes.
The staff are polite, courteous and welcoming. They are hardworking and set and keep to high standards. They were respectful and friendly.
The Spa was wonderful - clean, well-presented with plenty to suit all. The changing room facilities were great. The food was amazing and there were plenty of bar/restaurant/pub choices.
The Signature Room was incredible, as was our en suite with complimentary products (generous, high quality). We felt pampered, relaxed and had all we desired. Our welcome tray was well-stocked, the information pack and additional map were useful. Everything about the room was well thought out and done to the highest standards with the best use of space, technology and innovative style. We even had our own umbrella, ipod dock and robes.
The Langdale is going to become a regular escape - at least twice a year!

Reviewed by
P van Dyk

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next