No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newton House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
5-7 York Place , Knaresborough, HG5 0AD
Wonderful 300-year-old townhouse, with 12 bedrooms, in centre of Knaresborough, just 5 mins from the A1M, and close to Harrogate and the Great Yorkshire Showground. Ideally situated for exploring Yorkshire Dales, Yorkshire Moors and York; and town centre location particularly good for guests travelling by public transport (just 10 mins walk from train station, and buses every 7 mins to Harrogate).

Allegedly built with stone from Knaresborough Castle, Newton House combines Georgian elegance with modern comforts and has been awarded 4 Gold Stars for excellence by the AA. Bedrooms are individually-decorated and furnished to complement the character of the building, and provide everything you could need for a comfortable nights stay. Spacious guest sitting-room, with the smallest bar in Knaresborough which is operated as an honesty bar for guests' convenience. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms; small private car park with space for 8/9 cars.

Award-winning breakfasts using local, free-range & home-made produce. (Newton House has been shortlisted for the 'Best Yorkshire Breakfast' in the 2014 Yorkshire Post and Deliciously Yorkshire Taste Awards.)

Two Family rooms and two pet-friendly rooms.
Picture of Newton House, Knaresborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newton House
Very comfortable 2 night stay , excellent central situation in Knaresborough and very convenient for the bus into Harrogate. Lovely warm room to return to on a dark cold winters night. Good breakfast selection and very friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
julie t

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable stay
Everything was just fine. We stayed in a stable room which was convenient for the car and coming and going. It was of little importance to us but the wifi signal did not appear to reach this room. The car parking was a little tight but we got a prime spot and didn't move. These points are not moans just observations. Will come again we hope.

ManagementResponse

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Newton House. You were upgraded from a Standard Double room to a Superior Double room - with a lot more space, and a much bigger bed. All our guests are advised on arrival how to contact me via the internal telephone system and asked to bring any problems to our attention straight away. It would have been helpful if you had advised me of the problem with the Wi-Fi as I could have checked it at the time. The signal does sometimes fluctuate, but I can confirm it is working noa choice of on-street parking, and a long stay public car park (free overnight and only £1.60 for the whole day), just one-minute's drive away. Denise, Owner

Reviewed by
Dudley Colwell

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Comments
We were in room 8 which was very nice lovely extras and facilities but it would have been nicer if the shower room had been heated for this time of the year.

Reviewed by
Sandra A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and la patronne have a gravitational pull
Excellent B&B with every possible facility (and beyond) one could imagine for this type of accommodation, especially old fashioned and now unfortunately rare idiosyncracies like an "honesty bar". Breakfast was far better than many I've had in Michelin starred establishments!
I normally stay in homogenous, faceless 3-5 star Hotels. Newton House was a refreshing, nay, mind blowing change from the corporate, souless ubiquity of large/chain hotels, but the real Jewel in the Crown is Denise, the owner; a magnificent tour de force who runs the establishment with aplomb and a personal, knowledgable touch. How many B&B's have a concierge? More than just a bed - excellent.

ManagementResponse

Wow - thank you so much for such a great review. Do come and see us again - as long as you are still alive after eating all those wild mushrooms! Do be careful . . . Denise, Owner

Reviewed by
Peter Shertser

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay!
We had a wonderful night's stay at Newton House. Denise was kindly and welcoming. There is a lovely home from home feel and everything was done to make us comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the dining room laid out beautifully. It was super to have a drawing room to relax in. So many thoughtful extras- fresh milk in the fridge in our bedroom for example. Thank you Newton House!

Reviewed by
Catherine V

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overnight stay
A very comfortable and clean room with all the services you could wish for. Excellent food locally sourced which happens to be important to me and my husband. We don't like air fresheners or smelly stuff in pots but that is avery minor issue probably specific to us.

Reviewed by
Thelma B

From Moffat, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Friendly staff always willing to help. Good breakfast lots of choice. Close to town centre.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everyone was very helpfull

Reviewed by
Steven m

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The room was fantastic and the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast was served promptly.

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warmth in the wet and windy north.
Albeit for a very short stay in this [ almost French style ] hotel where the comfort and relaxation of guests are uppermost , I was more than comfortable. So many extras provided in the accommodation and the bed was SO comfortable that , despite my alarm , I slept in and was 45 minutes late for the breakfast time that I had booked!! Everyone was very understanding and not at all "put out" by this . ALL the staff were extremely helpful in so many ways and a special thank you for that extra cup of coffee when I came in out of the rain .I wished I could have stayed longer. Definitely hope to return.

Reviewed by
barbara c

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next