No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Stone

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Old Stone, Wandylaw, Chathill , Alnwick, NE67 5HG
Welcome to Old Stone Bed and Breakfast

Old Stone is a recently converted stone building set in a peaceful location on a small exclusive development. Nestled between fields & close to the Northumbrian Heritage Coastline with beautiful views across to Bamburgh, Holy Island and the magnificent coastline, Old Stone is owned and run by Melanie and Rob who have added many personal touches to their home to ensure you have a peaceful and relaxing break.

Their generous breakfast menu uses locally sourced food wherever possible such as free range eggs, award winning sausages from Rothbury Family Butchers and Craster Kippers served with freshly brewed tea and coffee, fresh orange juice & toast.

Local Attractions

Old Stone is ideally situated for easy access to many local attractions such as the historic town of Alnwick, just 9 miles away with it’s cobbled streets, weekly market, Playhouse Theatre, the majestic Medieval Castle used in Harry Potter and water feature gardens offering a unique dining experience at The Tree House.

A short drive takes you to the picturesque village of Bamburgh with it’s spectacular castle and amazing stretch of golden sandy beach and the stunning Northumberland coastline.

Ideal location for walk, cycling, climbing and golfing breaks. Close to the Cheviot hills and little further away you can visit Hadrians wall.
Picture of Old Stone, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super accommodation
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Stone B&B. The accommodation was excellent and we could not have asked for more friendly and helpful hosts. The room had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was very substantial and we had a wide variety of things to choose from. We have recommended this B&B to friends and would certainly stay again ourselves.

Reviewed by
A Cundell

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Stone - An amazing property in superb location with excellent hosts
Melanie and Rob are such wonderful hosts, they made us feel very welcome and provided us with a fantastic room,superb food, local knowledge and ideas of where to visit. The room was spacious, comfortable and relaxing, with excellent attention to detail - we couldn't have asked for better! The location of Old stone makes an ideal place for exploring the Northumberland coastline and countryside. Would love to return for longer!

Reviewed by
Monica H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Weekend Break
From the moment we arrived at the Old Stone Alnwick we were greeted with a wonderful warm welcome, we were away for the weekend celebrating a birthday and there were four scrummy cup cakes with candles – a lovely touch.
Melanie and Rob are a lovely couple and superb hosts. They have taken the time to research the best places to eat, socialise and are a mine of information on local attractions. The food was fabulous – Rob definitely missed his calling (watch out Gordon Ramsey), and there was a wide variety of beverages in the room and dining room, with unlimited fruit and little treats dotted around.
The rooms are to a very high standard, good size and very clean, all aspects covered, robes, slippers, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi, TV, DVD player and a good section of DVDs and books. The views are amazing and the area is tranquil, extremely relaxing but within striking distance to local heritage, stunning coastlines, quaint market towns.
Very good value for money! If you are thinking of visiting the area book it now you won’t be disappointed!!!!!

Reviewed by
S Collins

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Once again the accomodation was superb. Mel & Rob make you feel very welcome. Their local knowledge and recomendations of where to eat is spot on.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we would reccomend to anyone to try them.

Reviewed by
R Collings

From Bedale, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect break
This was our first visit to Northumberland and it couldn't have been better. Mel and Rob are perfect hosts and the accommodation and food are excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and Mel's homemade cake and flapjacks are to die for and came home with the recipe. If you are going for a break to this area, we would recommend with no hesitation. There is plenty to do in the area and Mel and Rob will give you lots of information on places to visit and local places to eat out - perfect - will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
Nicholas White

From Halesowen, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Everything about the place is outstanding

Reviewed by
S Toze

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Real Gem!
Cannot rate this B and B highly enough...I was wary of trusting online reviews, but I'm glad I did!
We arrived during the last game of Andy Murray's Wimbledon Final, and were made most welcome by Mel!
The hosts have thought of everything here, the quality of the room, surroundings, service and breakfast were all outstanding.
Keep up the good work guys!

Reviewed by
fiona w

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks very much to Mel & Rob for their hospitality during out 3 night stay, lovely rooms, very relaxing break.

Reviewed by
I Jones

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the Best B&B's, Great Hospitality, Beautiful Room and Lovely Hosts
This is one of the nicest B & B's we have stayed in. The hosts Melanie and Rob were great and could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable. The room was beautiful with everything you could possibly need and the breakfast was first class. It was our first visit to this area and we loved it so will definitely be back. Thanks again Mel and Rob.

Reviewed by
Lesley Stephens

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed and breakfast perfection.
Enjoyed a wonderful stay, Rob and Mel were the perfect hosts, very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Room was gorgeous, light and airy, superb bathroom, car parked outside our door. Lovely location, great views and a breakfast that was beautiful. Undoubtedly the finest B&B we have stayed in. We will be back very soon. Karen and Rob.

Reviewed by
karen stewart

From Saltburn by The Sea, England
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next