Old Stone

4

Old Stone, Wandylaw, Chathill, Alnwick, NE67 5HG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (14)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Roberts

  • March 2015

A first rate guest house

My wife and I stayed for two nights and were most impressed with the standard of accommodation and the really excellent breakfasts.

The locally-sourced fresh food was exceptionally tasty and expertly cooked. We were given a friendly welcome and generally very satisfied.

  • A Cundell

  • August 2014

Super accommodation

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Stone B&B.

The accommodation was excellent and we could not have asked for more friendly and helpful hosts. The room had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was very substantial and we had a wide variety of things to choose from. We have recommended this B&B to friends and would certainly stay again ourselves.

  • Monica H

  • April 2014

Old Stone - An amazing property in superb location with excellent hosts

Melanie and Rob are such wonderful hosts, they made us feel very welcome and provided us with a fantastic room,superb food, local knowledge and ideas of where to visit.

The room was spacious, comfortable and relaxing, with excellent attention to detail - we couldn't have asked for better. The location of Old stone makes an ideal place for exploring the Northumberland coastline and countryside. Would love to return for longer!

  • S Collins

  • March 2014

Wonderful Weekend Break

From the moment we arrived at the Old Stone Alnwick we were greeted with a wonderful warm welcome, we were away for the weekend celebrating a birthday and there were four scrummy cup cakes with candles – a lovely touch.

Melanie and Rob are a lovely couple and superb hosts. They have taken the time to research the best places to eat, socialise and are a mine of information on local attractions. The food was fabulous – Rob definitely missed his calling (watch out Gordon Ramsey), and there was a wide variety of beverages in the room and dining room, with unlimited fruit and little treats dotted around. The rooms are to a very high standard, good size and very clean, all aspects covered, robes, slippers, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi, TV, DVD player and a good section of DVDs and books. The views are amazing and the area is tranquil, extremely relaxing but within striking distance to local heritage, stunning coastlines, quaint market towns. Very good value for money. If you are thinking of visiting the area book it now you won’t be disappointed!!!!.

  • R Collings

  • October 2013

Excellent value for money

Once again the accomodation was superb.

Mel & Rob make you feel very welcome. Their local knowledge and recomendations of where to eat is spot on. This is the 2nd time we have stayed and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we would reccomend to anyone to try them.

  • Nicholas White

  • August 2013

Perfect break

This was our first visit to Northumberland and it couldn't have been better.

Mel and Rob are perfect hosts and the accommodation and food are excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and Mel's homemade cake and flapjacks are to die for and came home with the recipe. If you are going for a break to this area, we would recommend with no hesitation. There is plenty to do in the area and Mel and Rob will give you lots of information on places to visit and local places to eat out - perfect - will definitely be returning.

  • S Toze

  • August 2013

Excellent

Everything about the place is outstanding

  • fiona w

  • July 2013

A Real Gem!

Cannot rate this B and B highly enough...I was wary of trusting online reviews, but I'm glad I did.

We arrived during the last game of Andy Murray's Wimbledon Final, and were made most welcome by Mel. The hosts have thought of everything here, the quality of the room, surroundings, service and breakfast were all outstanding. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Lesley Stephens

  • July 2013

One of the Best B&B's, Great Hospitality, Beautiful Room and Lovely Hosts

This is one of the nicest B & B's we have stayed in.

The hosts Melanie and Rob were great and could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable. The room was beautiful with everything you could possibly need and the breakfast was first class. It was our first visit to this area and we loved it so will definitely be back. Thanks again Mel and Rob.

  • I Jones

  • July 2013

Thanks very much to Mel & Rob for their hospitality during out 3 night stay, lovely rooms, very relaxing break.