No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wilmslow Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
356, Wilmslow Road , Manchester, M14 6AB
The Wilmslow Hotel offers attractive, comfortable bedrooms at reasonable rates. Most rooms having private bath or shower, tv, telephone and free tea/coffee facilities.

We are situated within easy reach of Manchester City Centre, Universities, Manchester Airport, Sporting/Concert Venues and the(Rusholme) "curry mile."

We have free on-site parking and our helpful reception staff are available 24 hours a day.

Breakfast is available at the hotel with prices starting from £3.00

Business or pleasure – there is always a warm welcome at the Wilmslow Hotel.
Picture of Wilmslow Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
34% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is dated and could use modernisation but was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.
If you just want somewhere basic with quick and easy access to the city centre then this place is absolutely fine.

Reviewed by
Scott C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap but old...
A few things broken and dirty but room was cheap and good customer service.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a dump.

Reviewed by
C Kane

From Bonnybridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
I wasn't expecting luxury, but the double en-suite room was in very poor condition. Decoration was tatty, furniture was in poor condition and the bathroom wasn't very clean. Nearly baled out to go to another hotel nearby, but decided I could live with it for one night. Wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
D Clark

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here and if you really have no other option then certainly don't eat here!!!
A down market hotel. The ensuite double room that I stayed in had a bath but no shower and had mould on the bedroom ceiling. The room had a TV but it only worked if you were prepared to pay the £10 depoit for the remote controller. To top it off, though, was the discovery of mould on the toast at breakfast. when this was brought to the attention of the nearest staff member, her initial reaction was ...'I didn't serve it to you.' On a positive note - it is only a short(ish) walk from the Curry Mile.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit grim, as expected from the reviews.
I went in know what to expect. The hotel was old and musty and the room was tiny. I don't think it had been given any attention since the 70's. There was no ensuite but that was stated in the description, would have been nice to have some signs for the toilet/shower. The room's lack of quality wouldn't have mattered too but it absolutely stank of cigarettes and there was mud on my duvet. I complained but the receptionist had no offer of sympathy. Having said that, the staff were friendly enough and the 24 hour reception was useful as I couldn't check in until early morning (1am).
I'd only recommend it if you know what you're going in for and you can't get in the Travelodge in city centre that's the same price.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed at all.
The ensuite room had a tiny bathroom with a leaking toilet cisterne and a bath but no shower - the showers were available at the other end of the hotel for guests who had non-ensuite rooms. The neighbouring rooms were full and the guest were shouting until 3-3:30am - there was a space downstairs where they could easily have socialised. It was indeed a tiny room with little space to move around and I managed to obtain four big black bruises during the two nights' stay. The breakfast on Saturday and Sunday started at 8am which was the time I had to leave in order to get to my business arrangements, so no breakfast - although, fair enough the gentleman on reception allowed me to take cereal but of no interest. And finally, having arrived in two cars proved another challenge since the hotel was full and there was a very limited number of parking spaces. The hotel is on a major road with a petrol station just across from it (which was good for some late-evening snacks and drinks) but there were sirens wailing and traffic all night which combined with the noisy neighbours made space for very little sleep.

Reviewed by
L Mikkelsen

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty Dire
The hotel is run down and our room had a curtain at the window that was broken so only covered part of it. We did only go as somewhere to crash after a gig and was cheap enough but I would not recommend for a romantic weekend away, unless your own home is really minging.

Reviewed by
S Pick

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wilmslow Hotel, Fallowfield, Manchester
Very friendly atmosphere, rooms good value for money.

Reviewed by
Tina G

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was cheap but I wouldn't stay again
Room smelt slightly of smoke which really put me off, it looked like the previous occupants had smoked out of the window as there were lots of cigarette butts on top of the bay window below. Curtains were really thin and didn't keep any light out. I was expecting the bathroom on the landing to be closer, it was down a small flight of stairs. Full size towels did not appear to be provided, only a hand towel. Staff were polite.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next