No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wilmslow Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
356 Wilmslow Road , Manchester, M14 6AB
The Wilmslow Hotel offers attractive, comfortable bedrooms at reasonable rates. Most rooms having private bath or shower, tv, telephone and free tea/coffee facilities.

We are situated within easy reach of Manchester City Centre, Universities, Manchester Airport, Sporting/Concert Venues and the(Rusholme) "curry mile."

We have free on-site parking and our helpful reception staff are available 24 hours a day.

Breakfast is available at the hotel with prices starting from £3.00

Business or pleasure – there is always a warm welcome at the Wilmslow Hotel.
Picture of Wilmslow Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
36% recommended this accommodation to a friend 40% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing night
the room was too small, tired looking and uninviting. It needed new bulbs in the ceiling light as well as the bed light. The room was situated at the front of the hotel which was on the main road but as there wasn't double glazing the road noise was too loud. It felt like we were sleeping on the road rather than in the room. The traffic is constant throughout the night and was preventing us from having a good nights sleep. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows were too flat, I had to fold mine in half to get some height. The heating wasn't adequate and the bathroom radiator was not even on. Going to the bathroom in the night created extra noise because the extractor fan kicked in and didn't go off for a long time after. There was only a bath and no shower. The tv looked like a portable from decades ago and to operate it we had to go to reception to pay a £10 deposit for a remote controller as they have been stolen in the past! We only paid £55 for the night so wasn't expecting 5 star accommodation but we know we could have paid a little extra and got a better standard somewhere else. Perhaps another room within the same hotel may have been a bit better but we will not be returning to this hotel in the future.

Reviewed by
L Fadhlaoui

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, poor quality, and even at a low price, not good
The hotel was constantly very loud, I was woken many times through the night. The single room I stay in was very small, with on plug socket, which was occupied by a TV, to which no remote was provided.
The window didn't close, which in such cold weather wasn't idea, and upon trying to draw the curtain, the piece of duct tape that held one end up gave way. Additionally, the door didn't lock from the inside, just a bolt and chain, which didn't provide much in Terms of piece of mind.
Positives, the room was warm, and the bed wasn't too bad. The pillow however had to be folded in half to give any sort of support. Not a room for more than one nights stay, and even then, it wouldn't be out of choice.

Reviewed by
ross c

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and Cheerful
We needed a bed for the night whilst out on the razz in Manchester. That's exactly what we got. Cheap and Cheerful although, be warned. Our "ensuite" didn't have a shower.
If you need a cheap bed and nothing more then this is fine.

Reviewed by
Lewis C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well, you get what you pay for
I paid £37 per night for a single room. While reasonably clean, the desk chair was broken in two and the shower had very weak water pressure. Despite being a regular traveller, there were a few things I was unaccustomed to - being called "mate" by the man on Reception and having to request a TV remote (for the Freeview box) from Reception.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a budget night sleep
Great for a cheap clean bed for the night with helpful staff. 75% cheaper than city accommodation so don't expect the Ritz. Perfect for workers 16 mins from Manchester city center. !!

Reviewed by
chris s

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is very cheap and good value for money. location of the hotel is good. easy to find

Reviewed by
s todd

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for what we needed it for
This was ideal to get our heads down after being at a gig. And not getting in until early hrs. Staff were very froendly

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel looked very tatty on arriving and the room was basic but comfortable, shower was good, tv didn't work, our room was next to the wood stairs up to the next level and people were up and down all night so we didn't sleep very well. If you do stay at this hotel do not have room 18.
The bar wasn't a bar as they had no licence to sell alcohol
All in all I wouldn't have booked this hotel if I knew what I know now and it was certainly not worth anywhere near the £55 we paid for one night, we have stayed in hotels for £19 per night that have been far better.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, good value room
I stayed in a basic single room which was clean and had a TV. This was good value for a last minute booking. 24 hour reception is also a big attraction.

Reviewed by
I Webb

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was cheap, so I suppose I got what I paid for, but the TV didn't work and the room smelled pretty bad.

Reviewed by
N Fisher

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next