No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cross Keys Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
Cross Keys Inn Bellerby, Leyburn, DL8 5QS
Tom and his team offer you a warm welcome to the ‘Cross Keys’ which we are proud to maintain as a traditional British Inn catering for the needs of locals and tourists alike. We stock four cask ales including 'Bellerby Bitter' (brewed for us by the Wesleydale Brewery which is located in the village and to which we can arrange visits) as well as a range of quality wines and our collection of 'single malt' whisky.

Bellerby is an ideal base for exploring the 'Dales' being located on the 'cusp' of 'Wensley' & 'Swaledale' literally one mile outside of Leyburn and an easy 15 minute drive into such local attractions as the market town of Richmond with it's imposing castle, the 'racing' town of Middleham and of course the legendary 'Forbidden Corner'!

We are very proud of the reputation which we have built up for the quality of our bar meals (apparently our breakfasts are not too bad either!) and would describe ourselves very much as a 'Pub which serves meals' rather than a 'Restaurant which serves beer'. All our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared, including of course our homemade chips and free range eggs from our own chickens. Please see our sample menu, which does alter slightly on a daily basis depending upon which dishes we have cooked.

We have 3 lovely, recently refurbished, en-suite letting rooms on offer, all themed differently.

There are some great walks from the pub where you can explore the beautiful countryside; we have ample parking and we can also provide secure storage facilities for your cycles.

Families and dogs are welcome in the pub, beer garden and paddock and there is disabled access to the bar and toilets.

We have our own 'Quoits' pits in our paddock and guests are very welcome to try their hand at this traditional Dales sport.
Picture of Cross Keys Inn, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Welcome
Following a warm welcome. We had a very comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Sayer

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine Yorkshire hospitality
A really good old English pub. Friendly staff and friendly locals plus great food. No tv in rooms or WiFi but we didn't go away to view tv or go on the internet. If that's important to you then this is not the place for you. We spent a lovely evening in the bar enjoying the atmosphere,food and beer. We had a huge comfy bed and little noise from the bar area. Tom served up a magnificent breakfast to send us on our way. Proper Yorkshire fayre.

Reviewed by
alan w

From Heywood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
2nd time at cross keys, lovely stay, great food, lovely comfy room, tom the host is very friendly goes out of his way to make sure our stay was enjoyable, can't wait to stay again

Reviewed by
gillian wood

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky little inn in North Yorkshire
Enormous comfy bed in an attractive room. Tasty home cooked food ,(especially the fish pie) fun quiz night in the bar. A couple of things would have raised this from very good to excellent- better water pressure in the shower, and serving real coffee instead of just instant. These are only minor things though and easily borne for a short visit. I would recommend this accommodation.

Reviewed by
V Chappell

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

country getaway
the cross keys is a very nice village pub with 3 rooms to let,Tom the landlord is a congenial host and the food is excellent be aware you are in Yorkshire they don,t do small. The locals are very friendly and easy to get on with we had a lovely time here just the job for exploring the local area.

Reviewed by
bryan a

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Sadly the landlord had over booked us but as these things do happen he that is Tom found us alternative guest house accommodation nearby which was lovely. Tom also gave us a complementary dinner that evening so everything turned out fine and we would stay in both places again having tasted the food and the hospitality of the local folk

Reviewed by
Susan S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value weekend
Tom is a very relaxed host, we were made very welcome, our room was very well decorated and clean. The evening meal was excellent good Value freshly cooked , the steak and ale pie was the best I have ever tasted , there were many choices the lamb was my second favourite........ Then there was the breakfast , fresh orange cereals , fruit and the biggest breakfast to take you through the rest of the day. If you want a relaxing weekend good food and nice company then the cross keys is for you .enjoy

Reviewed by
Denise F

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Made to feel very welcome from Dawn when we arrived. Sorry that Tom was not there to meet us due to not being well,but next morning made us a lovely breakfast. Had evening meal and it was very very good big portions and his garlic bread was the best we had tasted. Bedroom was small and shower was not very powerfull , but room was spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
Linda Scott

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay, friendly with excellent food. Room was comfortable and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in September
A very pleasant overnight stop in a friendly, comfortable pub. We thought the evening menu offered a good choice at a sensible price and we both enjoyed our meals. Our room was comfortable, though obviously, not like a room in a modern 'chain' hotel but it was what we wanted on this occasion. We'd happily stay there again. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Keith H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next