No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Resolution Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Skinner Street , Whitby, YO21 3AH
The Resolution Hotel is far more than just a place to stay. With 2 bars, a Main Restaurant, Snack and Lounge Bar and some of the best views you could possibly hope for. There is regular Live entertainment and bags of charm (This was dubbed "Whitby's most Beautiful building" when it was built back in 1774). All rooms are en-suite and include hot beverage facilities, toiletries, Hairdryers etc...

As a Hotel group we pride ourselves on friendly professional service and providing the warmest of Whitby Welcomes.
Picture of The Resolution Hotel, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Resolution Hotel
Good location. Excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Resolution, Whitby
Excellent situation, with everything within easy walking reach. Staff were polite and efficient. Room was everything we would want. We only ate breakfast, and the full English was average at best but smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were spot on. It was out of season, so although the bar looks good, we did not get to experience it with any atmosphere. We would gladly return.

Reviewed by
Michael Jenkinson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Resolution Hotel
Very happy with the room, the view and service.

Reviewed by
j ryan

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premier prices!!! Not premier accomodation
Upon arrival we had to wait in reception for several minutes for someone to actually come and give us a room key. They came from the bar area which wasn't particularly busy as it was early evening and the New Year's Eve Party go'ers hadn't arrived.
Went up to our room a lovely big room with oranate four poster as booked but not quite sure what the quilt was all about. Thinest duvet ever and only went edge to edge on the bed. Dirty cups on tea tray, I must admit I usually rinse them out but they need a full wash as old coffee hadn't been removed still had Cappucino foam on them from the look of it.
The bathroom looked lovely at first glance but wasn't all it seemed. The old light fitting had been replaced with a beautiful new chandelier unfortunately where the old fitting had been had instead of being filled in and replastered had been stuffed with toilet paper ruining the effects of a new light fitting. A fire hazard in anyone's books I would have thought? The bath side to looked a little tired and should probably be replaced as it was swollen and discoloured where water had obviously got behind it.
In all a very disappointing visit, a premier price was paid but I do not feel like we had a premier room and although I love Whitby I wouldn't be tempted to stay here again!

Reviewed by
TRACY F

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay cant fault it
had everything we needed for an overnight stay only thing i would comment on was the price but a room at new year ,we expected to pay a bit more apart from that , nothing wrong

Reviewed by
r fordham

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Resolution Hotel
Lovely hotel, great location. Would use it again.

Reviewed by
J Hemmingway

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a nice hotel.
This hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. The cleanliness was excellent And the price was spot on. Well done resolution Hotel. We will definitely be booking your hotel again.

Reviewed by
r oconnor

From bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A poor experience
We paid £218 for a two night B&B stay in an upgraded deluxe room. The room had a four poster bed although all the drapes were missing and a view of the abbey through a very dirty window. The other pieces of furniture were old and tatty, only one bedside lamp, a large what looked like damp patch on the wall above the TV and a tap in the bathroom that was just about connected to the sink. On Saturday I had to scrape round the fresh fruit bowl to get half a bowl of fruit for breakfast by Sunday there was no fruit offering at all. When I asked I was told the fruit had run out and there was no delivery until Monday. Overall the standard of the room was really very poor when I pointed this out at reception they advised me I had a four poster bed (I think this was supposed to be the "deluxe" aspect of the accommodation) and they fixed the tap. Drinks at the bar seemed to be quite cheap, the entertainment was loud and tuneless...

Reviewed by
m latham

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was really clean, with a great view . Breakfast was very good ,plenty to choice.
The staff were nice and friendly.

Reviewed by
Patricia C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Resolution Hotel
The Hotel is situated centrally with very good access to the main attractions of Whitby.
We paid £198 for two nights bed and breakfast mid week expecting something a little more up market than your traditional small guest house. It was not worth the extra money. The room was spacious enough, but there was limited wardrobe space and a large marked area on one wall which appeared as if it was or had recently experienced damp. The bathroom was large and clean.
We did experience noise from the room above early mornings.
The breakfasts were good; with a reasonable choice as you would expect from a seaside guest house type establishment. We did not take evening meals at the hotel, but the menu did look quite good.
There were no car parking facilities at the hotel (which we knew in advance) and we ended up paying £10 to house the car for two days at a nearby pay and display car park. Indeed, it appears that Whitby Council has introduced some quite restrictive on street car parking arrangements. I will certainly think twice about returning to Whitby as a consequence of this.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
I have indicated that we would stay here again but only if the cost was less than we paid on this occasion.

Reviewed by
Ian Don-Leo

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next