No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Resolution Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Skinner Street , Whitby, YO21 3AH
The Resolution Hotel is far more than just a place to stay. With 2 bars, a Main Restaurant, Snack and Lounge Bar and some of the best views you could possibly hope for. There is regular Live entertainment and bags of charm (This was dubbed "Whitby's most Beautiful building" when it was built back in 1774). All rooms are en-suite and include hot beverage facilities, toiletries, Hairdryers etc...

As a Hotel group we pride ourselves on friendly professional service and providing the warmest of Whitby Welcomes.
Picture of The Resolution Hotel, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room and very pleasant stay
Nice and spacious, well appointed and pleasant.

Reviewed by
R Loscalzo

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night in Whitby
one of the reasons for selecting this Hotel was the on site parking offered on rthe web site, on arrival the helpful staff informed us that the nearest parking was about 400 yards away along a very narrow roade was also a 5.00 a day charge [24 hours]. the room we booked was the slightly dearer room with promised views over the bay and to the Abbey , room 209 gave a view to the Abbey but reestricted veiw of the Bay [ you could only view the far corner of the Bay].

Reviewed by
Peter M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable b&b
We only stayed here for one night but wish it could have been longer. When we got there the girl on reception was helpful, polite and efficient. We booked 2 rooms, both were next to each other on the second floor, theres a lift to the floors so good if you have suitcases. One room was quite alot bigger than the other, but the smaller room was still plenty big enough. Everything was clean, plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, towels and toiletries. Breakfast was really nice, you helped yourself to tea, coffee, toast, juice and cereals, then had a full english which was cooked really well.. poached eggs were especially good. When we go back to whitby well be staying here agsin and would recoommend.

Reviewed by
t wright

From alfreton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small and very basic,no internet service ,hot water in bathroom was very very hot and no parking had to pay extra for 2 days parking .i would not stay here again

Reviewed by
K Stobbart

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely but needs finishing touches
We had the room with the four poster bed as a surprise for my girlfriend after the coast to coast walk. Whilst the initial appearance of the room was great on closer inspection there were a few bits and pieces that needed smartening up. The staff were all helpful and really friendly. We were able to stay over the check out time by about 1 hour and they were able to store our bags whilst we looked around Whitby. The breakfast was good, although a buffet style would be better to allow portion sizes to vary. All in all a lovely stay and I am being picky.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved Whitby, The Resolution was well situated, clean and tidy but in need of a bit of a facelift. We felt for £99 a night the room wasn't really very good value for money. The shower was quite small and at only 5ft I couldn't fit underneath so my husband at 6ft had no chance! Breakfast was well presented and tasty. If we were paying less we would have been happier with the room. There were no car parking facilities at £5 for overnight parking is a little steep when you have outlaid £99.

Reviewed by
louisa woods

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

definitely not worth £100 a night
The room itself was fine - however the bathroom absolutely stank of bleach (at least we knew it was clean) but it was not pleasant especially when the bathroom door was opened and the smell permeated into the bedroom. Comfortable enough beds but only one bedside lamp (in a twin room with 2 single beds). Lovely view over the town.
Unfortunately there was no hairdryer in the room - I went to reception to ask for one and was hesitantly told they would try to find one. They came up to the room and apologised, saying there should be one in every room, but this one must have been stolen, and sorry they did not have a spare. We were offered a free bottle of wine, which did nothing to sort the situation of 2 women needing to wash and dry their hair in the morning.
Breakfast was a little disappointing with no fresh fruit, only sweet muller light yoghurt flavoured caramel, however the poached eggs were nice.
I would not stay here again because having come directly from a central London hotel for exactly the same money which was beyond excellent, this hotel unfortunately was left wanting in many areas.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We liked this hotel very much especially the room which had windows on two sides with good views
The hotel was very central so we could walk everywhere easily. We had difficulty in finding the way to the public car park up the road but once found it was very convenient. The music in the evening was quite loud but it didn't go on too late and, as we were on the second floor, it didn't bother us much. The room was nice and spacious and the breakfast was very well cooked and the staff friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
L Cox-Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Robert B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greatall round stay
Stayed at the Resolution for 3 nights and could not fault it in any way. Room clean and tidy, staff very friendly, great breakfast with plenty of choice and only a five mins walk into the centre of whitby. What more could you ask for - Excellent

Reviewed by
gloria s

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next