No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Resolution Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Skinner Street , Whitby, YO21 3AH
The Resolution Hotel is far more than just a place to stay. With 2 bars, a Main Restaurant, Snack and Lounge Bar and some of the best views you could possibly hope for. There is regular Live entertainment and bags of charm (This was dubbed "Whitby's most Beautiful building" when it was built back in 1774). All rooms are en-suite and include hot beverage facilities, toiletries, Hairdryers etc...

As a Hotel group we pride ourselves on friendly professional service and providing the warmest of Whitby Welcomes.
Picture of The Resolution Hotel, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Resolution Hotel
The Hotel is situated centrally with very good access to the main attractions of Whitby.
We paid £198 for two nights bed and breakfast mid week expecting something a little more up market than your traditional small guest house. It was not worth the extra money. The room was spacious enough, but there was limited wardrobe space and a large marked area on one wall which appeared as if it was or had recently experienced damp. The bathroom was large and clean.
We did experience noise from the room above early mornings.
The breakfasts were good; with a reasonable choice as you would expect from a seaside guest house type establishment. We did not take evening meals at the hotel, but the menu did look quite good.
There were no car parking facilities at the hotel (which we knew in advance) and we ended up paying £10 to house the car for two days at a nearby pay and display car park. Indeed, it appears that Whitby Council has introduced some quite restrictive on street car parking arrangements. I will certainly think twice about returning to Whitby as a consequence of this.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
I have indicated that we would stay here again but only if the cost was less than we paid on this occasion.

Reviewed by
Ian Don-Leo

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Excellent stay thoughout

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay - recommended
We had a very enjoyable stop over at the Resolution. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely; large and airy with nice solid wooden furniture and a comfortable bed. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent. We were also very happy with the breakfast; after enjoying the continental breakfast the waiter took our order off the wide selection on offer for the cooked breakfast. This arrived shortly afterwards and was freshly cooked and delicious - much better than the buffet-style hot breakfasts I've had elsewhere. We'd definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room and very pleasant stay
Nice and spacious, well appointed and pleasant.

Reviewed by
R Loscalzo

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night in Whitby
one of the reasons for selecting this Hotel was the on site parking offered on rthe web site, on arrival the helpful staff informed us that the nearest parking was about 400 yards away along a very narrow roade was also a 5.00 a day charge [24 hours]. the room we booked was the slightly dearer room with promised views over the bay and to the Abbey , room 209 gave a view to the Abbey but reestricted veiw of the Bay [ you could only view the far corner of the Bay].

Reviewed by
Peter M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable b&b
We only stayed here for one night but wish it could have been longer. When we got there the girl on reception was helpful, polite and efficient. We booked 2 rooms, both were next to each other on the second floor, theres a lift to the floors so good if you have suitcases. One room was quite alot bigger than the other, but the smaller room was still plenty big enough. Everything was clean, plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, towels and toiletries. Breakfast was really nice, you helped yourself to tea, coffee, toast, juice and cereals, then had a full english which was cooked really well.. poached eggs were especially good. When we go back to whitby well be staying here agsin and would recoommend.

Reviewed by
t wright

From alfreton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small and very basic,no internet service ,hot water in bathroom was very very hot and no parking had to pay extra for 2 days parking .i would not stay here again

Reviewed by
K Stobbart

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely but needs finishing touches
We had the room with the four poster bed as a surprise for my girlfriend after the coast to coast walk. Whilst the initial appearance of the room was great on closer inspection there were a few bits and pieces that needed smartening up. The staff were all helpful and really friendly. We were able to stay over the check out time by about 1 hour and they were able to store our bags whilst we looked around Whitby. The breakfast was good, although a buffet style would be better to allow portion sizes to vary. All in all a lovely stay and I am being picky.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved Whitby, The Resolution was well situated, clean and tidy but in need of a bit of a facelift. We felt for £99 a night the room wasn't really very good value for money. The shower was quite small and at only 5ft I couldn't fit underneath so my husband at 6ft had no chance! Breakfast was well presented and tasty. If we were paying less we would have been happier with the room. There were no car parking facilities at £5 for overnight parking is a little steep when you have outlaid £99.

Reviewed by
louisa woods

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

definitely not worth £100 a night
The room itself was fine - however the bathroom absolutely stank of bleach (at least we knew it was clean) but it was not pleasant especially when the bathroom door was opened and the smell permeated into the bedroom. Comfortable enough beds but only one bedside lamp (in a twin room with 2 single beds). Lovely view over the town.
Unfortunately there was no hairdryer in the room - I went to reception to ask for one and was hesitantly told they would try to find one. They came up to the room and apologised, saying there should be one in every room, but this one must have been stolen, and sorry they did not have a spare. We were offered a free bottle of wine, which did nothing to sort the situation of 2 women needing to wash and dry their hair in the morning.
Breakfast was a little disappointing with no fresh fruit, only sweet muller light yoghurt flavoured caramel, however the poached eggs were nice.
I would not stay here again because having come directly from a central London hotel for exactly the same money which was beyond excellent, this hotel unfortunately was left wanting in many areas.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next