No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Resolution Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Skinner Street , Whitby, YO21 3AH
The Resolution Hotel is far more than just a place to stay. With 2 bars, a Main Restaurant, Snack and Lounge Bar and some of the best views you could possibly hope for. There is regular Live entertainment and bags of charm (This was dubbed "Whitby's most Beautiful building" when it was built back in 1774). All rooms are en-suite and include hot beverage facilities, toiletries, Hairdryers etc...

As a Hotel group we pride ourselves on friendly professional service and providing the warmest of Whitby Welcomes.
Picture of The Resolution Hotel, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a nice hotel.
This hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. The cleanliness was excellent And the price was spot on. Well done resolution Hotel. We will definitely be booking your hotel again.

Reviewed by
r oconnor

From bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A poor experience
We paid £218 for a two night B&B stay in an upgraded deluxe room. The room had a four poster bed although all the drapes were missing and a view of the abbey through a very dirty window. The other pieces of furniture were old and tatty, only one bedside lamp, a large what looked like damp patch on the wall above the TV and a tap in the bathroom that was just about connected to the sink. On Saturday I had to scrape round the fresh fruit bowl to get half a bowl of fruit for breakfast by Sunday there was no fruit offering at all. When I asked I was told the fruit had run out and there was no delivery until Monday. Overall the standard of the room was really very poor when I pointed this out at reception they advised me I had a four poster bed (I think this was supposed to be the "deluxe" aspect of the accommodation) and they fixed the tap. Drinks at the bar seemed to be quite cheap, the entertainment was loud and tuneless...

Reviewed by
m latham

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was really clean, with a great view . Breakfast was very good ,plenty to choice.
The staff were nice and friendly.

Reviewed by
Patricia C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Resolution Hotel
The Hotel is situated centrally with very good access to the main attractions of Whitby.
We paid £198 for two nights bed and breakfast mid week expecting something a little more up market than your traditional small guest house. It was not worth the extra money. The room was spacious enough, but there was limited wardrobe space and a large marked area on one wall which appeared as if it was or had recently experienced damp. The bathroom was large and clean.
We did experience noise from the room above early mornings.
The breakfasts were good; with a reasonable choice as you would expect from a seaside guest house type establishment. We did not take evening meals at the hotel, but the menu did look quite good.
There were no car parking facilities at the hotel (which we knew in advance) and we ended up paying £10 to house the car for two days at a nearby pay and display car park. Indeed, it appears that Whitby Council has introduced some quite restrictive on street car parking arrangements. I will certainly think twice about returning to Whitby as a consequence of this.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
I have indicated that we would stay here again but only if the cost was less than we paid on this occasion.

Reviewed by
Ian Don-Leo

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Excellent stay thoughout

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay - recommended
We had a very enjoyable stop over at the Resolution. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely; large and airy with nice solid wooden furniture and a comfortable bed. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent. We were also very happy with the breakfast; after enjoying the continental breakfast the waiter took our order off the wide selection on offer for the cooked breakfast. This arrived shortly afterwards and was freshly cooked and delicious - much better than the buffet-style hot breakfasts I've had elsewhere. We'd definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room and very pleasant stay
Nice and spacious, well appointed and pleasant.

Reviewed by
R Loscalzo

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night in Whitby
one of the reasons for selecting this Hotel was the on site parking offered on rthe web site, on arrival the helpful staff informed us that the nearest parking was about 400 yards away along a very narrow roade was also a 5.00 a day charge [24 hours]. the room we booked was the slightly dearer room with promised views over the bay and to the Abbey , room 209 gave a view to the Abbey but reestricted veiw of the Bay [ you could only view the far corner of the Bay].

Reviewed by
Peter M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable b&b
We only stayed here for one night but wish it could have been longer. When we got there the girl on reception was helpful, polite and efficient. We booked 2 rooms, both were next to each other on the second floor, theres a lift to the floors so good if you have suitcases. One room was quite alot bigger than the other, but the smaller room was still plenty big enough. Everything was clean, plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, towels and toiletries. Breakfast was really nice, you helped yourself to tea, coffee, toast, juice and cereals, then had a full english which was cooked really well.. poached eggs were especially good. When we go back to whitby well be staying here agsin and would recoommend.

Reviewed by
t wright

From alfreton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small and very basic,no internet service ,hot water in bathroom was very very hot and no parking had to pay extra for 2 days parking .i would not stay here again

Reviewed by
K Stobbart

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next