No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ME London

5Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
336-337 The Strand , London, WC2R 1HA
Located in the bustling heart of Aldwych, ME London is just moments away from Covent Garden, the River Thames and Trafalgar Square. Overlooking Somerset House the hotel is ideally located for the bright lights of the West End, and is the place to see and be seen during Fashion Week.

Superstar design practice Foster + Partners (founded by Lord Norman Foster himself) have been responsible for all exterior and interior design for the hotel, and the end-product is a building of unique personality, reflecting a vibe that is truly London.

The 157 rooms, including 16 Suites, of ME London each feature floor-to-ceiling windows offering unparalleled views of the city. Guests can take advantage of the integrated digital media hubs, rain shower in the en-suite bathroom and flat screen LCD TVs.

Entering the hotel, guests are whisked away from the bustle of the street to the First Floor Reception, housed in a breath-taking nine-storey white marble pyramid. Here the Aura Manager will greet each guest by name and begin the truly individual service ME London promises. Unique to ME by Melia hotels, The Aura Manager’s job is it is to know the city back-to-front, to get to know each guest personally, and use this knowledge to make the hotel's service truly bespoke. From in-room lighting and your favourite chocolate on the pillow to insider tips on what to do in the city and securing the hottest ticket in town – the AM will have everything in hand.

Guests are spoilt for choice by the hotel's two ground-floor restaurants. STK London, a vibrant and modern steakhouse concept straight out of New York, creates an energetic vibe with in-house DJ and black gloss and cream design-scheme. Whereas Cucina Asselina, ME London’s Italian Mediterranean relaxed-dining concept, promises a taste of Tuscany in the heart of London.

Also on the ground floor is the ultra-modern Marconi Lounge Bar. The perfect location for any meeting, business or pleasure, Marconi serves tea/coffee, smoothies, handmade pastries as well as a curated selection of alcoholic beverages.

Head to the top floor of ME London and be ready for the stunning panoramic views offered at Radio, the partially-covered rooftop terrace bar, unrivalled in London. The only rooftop space in the area to be open from breakfast-late, Radio serves a broad selection of spirits, wines and soft drinks and boasts a quirky and innovative cocktail menu.

Picture of ME London, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the start of the check in we realized this was class! A luxury hotel with a modern feel and it was a experience that I will come back to x

Reviewed by
c fisher

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel, but little disappointed at times.
Was very annoyed at the fact when we walked in to the hotel me and my girlfriend were looked up and down, and were questioned that we have the right hotel, and I am possative it's because we don't dress and talk like the normal customers this hotel would have. And when I thought it was just that we're was not told on how we was able to get to the roof top bar, and was not told that we could look round the banksy art collection for free. I was told by a member of the banksy staff that I should of been told, when I did get up to the roof top bar in the morning , I was again made to feel like I should be here and that I wasn't able to afford the champagne that I ordered. I was not rude to any member of staff about anything that annoyed me. Was just disappointed as my girlfriends birthday weekend away now has a slight downer to it. A result of this a may go else were next time. Just expected more from a 5 star hotel..

Reviewed by
M Johnston

From Hunstanton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again.....5* rating fail to see how
This hotel clearly doesn't know where it wants to be in the 5* market. Impressive design, but the black, glass and chrome is clearly giving the cleaners a tough time. Non attentive staff, who then are incapable of understanding what you say. The breakfast was dreadful. A tea bag on a saucer with tepid water and undrinkable coffee arrived at the table, grubby sachets of sugar, cold cooked buffet breakfast and staff not trained in hospitality, never mind 5*. Roof top bar, what a shame could have been wonderful - scruffy 20 something clientele, drunk and then a fight over some champagne but admittedly the bouncers dealt with it well. Wonderful DJ tough. We didn't eat in the restaurant......glad we didn't if the breakfast was anything to go by. The staff uniforms were poorly presented except for the reception personnel and bouncers. Ladies toilets in the roof top bar were a disgrace - positive points excellent DJ, comfortable bed, and location. Is there any accountable management? If you want a good all round 5* experience this isn't the hotel. Other 5*s in London I don't think have to worry too much!

Reviewed by
Julia B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the best contemporary hotel in London
Having designed quite a number of hotels over the years I'm always quite critical of the accommodation. Norman Foster's design was superbly executed in both the public areas and our bedroom. The superior room was slick, well specified, tranquil and relaxing with a range of different features and a tremendous bathroom. The floor to ceiling window and ground glass shutters were so different to normal hotel windows. Very comfortable bed, Egyptian linen and the sound insulation provided by the room's structure and finishes gave the best nights sleep in a hotel for years. The reception was truly different and staffed by a well trained team. We didn't get to the rooftop bar this visit but will do next time. There will certainly be a next time, as this place has spoiled us for other London hotels. Unreservedly recommended. Expensive (even through Laterooms), but well worth it for a treat.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time Out
Helpful, friendly staff. Very comfortable room and great location. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
M Green

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel, everything fabulous, location, accommodation and sleep quality!
Stunning Hotel, all reception areas are wow! The room was beautifully designed, clean, warm and for the middle of London...quiet! Staff were friendly and helpful, we didn't get chance to eat there sadly, will have to go again!

Reviewed by
Diane A

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the ME and would definitely stay here again. Room was fab and the public rooms amazing. The only minus point I would suggest that pots of tea/coffee could be served at breakfast. We had to wait quite a while for our drinks and had to ask twice for a refill!! It was not even busy at the time. The Concierge team were fab and very helpful. It really was a treat for us to stay here.

Reviewed by
S Roberts

From Wales
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent modern hotel with stunning views over London. Our room was luxurious.
This was a 2 night treat for my daughter's 20th birthday. Her comment on our room was 'wow', especially the mood lighting and the view. The wet room was something else. The whole hotel had a real expensive modern feel. The reception was amazing. All in all we had a great experience and my daughter can't stop talking about it. Well worth the money for a touch of utter luxury.

Reviewed by
Josie S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!!
An amazing modern hotel, fantastic attention to detail. Loved it!

Reviewed by
L Woods

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stylish in a good location
A good quality hotel, the helpfulness of the staff and quality of the room appeared better than average for a 'boutique' style hotel. Free bottled water in the room would have been nice though.

Reviewed by
simon g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next