No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street, Orton, , Penrith, CA10 3RJ
The George Hotel is a traditional country pub in the village of Orton in Cumbria dating back to 1826. We have 8 rooms in total, 6 are ensuite, 2 have a shared bathroom with a bath. Runners up on the Channel 4 programme "4 IN A BED" series 5 Nov 2013. We received 95% of our asking price. All rooms have a television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer, ironing board available on request. We now also have facilities for up to 4 tents at the rear of the pub. Enjoy a terraced beer garden for the summer or a roaring log fire in the winter, you will always get a warm welcome and somewhere to relax whatever the weather. A full English breakfast is on offer, Hazel’s own sausage and bacon is a must in the mornings. We serve a traditional menu at lunchtime and evenings ranging from gourmet burgers, homemade pies to sizzling steaks or freshly battered cod. We also have 3-4 vegetarian options normally available and we also have a good selection of gluten free meals as well. We have a good selection of real ales from Jennings, wines and soft drinks in the bar area, you can choose to eat in the 28 seater restaurant or in the bar area. We are easy to find as Orton is just 3 minutes from Junction 38 M6 Motorway or 4 scenic miles from Junction 39. We are also on the Coast 2 Coast walk & cycle routes and the W2W cycle route as well. We also have the world famous Kennedy's chocolate factory just across the road which is a real treat for all visitors.
Picture of The George Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, good value, friendly

Reviewed by
R Howard

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
this is off the beaten track but a really nice place to stay - perfect room - great value and a very good breakfast - deserves all the custom it can get .

Reviewed by
alan m

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, Friendly Village Pub
Booked this place after a vehicle breakdown. They really looked after me. Super friendly great value. Pub itself is lively.

Reviewed by
Martin W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wow
Really enjoyed staying here staff were really nice and the food was really resonable and tasty. Really happy with the whole experience would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice find
Stayed for three nights good central location for lakes and dales
Good food well priced. Would stay again

Reviewed by
Trevor Lines

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dear Sirs, I ended up staying here by mistake as I had booked on your site to stay at the George Penrith and found I had paid for another George Hotel forty minutes away (at orton, not Penrith) so I ended up paying again .... my room slightly dusty but it was a good hotel, as I remembered and expected.
Your staff are lovely!

Reviewed by
F Armstrong

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely location in Cumria.. Friendly and comfortable place to stay.

Reviewed by
c lawton

From brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Quiet place, very clean, very comfortable and very welcoming.

Reviewed by
T Isaac

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay
A very warm and friendly welcome, a great place to stay. Food was first class, would stay again and recomend

Reviewed by
philip kirk

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.