No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buck Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
29, Newbiggin , Richmond, DL104DX
The Buck Hotel is located in the heart of Richmond, ideally situated for exploring the beautiful scenery and features what the beautiful town has to offer. Built in a beautiful 16th century Victorian house, the inn offers a comfortable stay with light airy rooms that create the traditional atmosphere of Richmond. We are also one of the few public houses in Richmond that has a beer garden that is not only large in size, but also has stunning views of the countryside and the Richmond castle. The hotel provides food as well as drink that you can view from one of our menus that are always available.

Our fully licensed public house also offers accommodation for those wishing to stay in this beautiful town. Our en-suite rooms are individually decorated in traditional style with modern comforts. For more information about our accommodation, please click here.

There is plenty to see and do. Home of the oldest Georgian theatre in the country, Richmond has a vast cobbled market place and three excellent museums. There is also a wide variety of shops, tea-rooms and galleries and spectacular riverside walks down to the waterfall, known locally as 'the foss', and to Easby Abbey. All of which, are just a walk away from The Buck Hotel
Picture of The Buck Hotel , Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Friendly welcome, clean room and comfy bed followed by a tasty breakfast in the morning.. What more could you ask for when looking for a one night stop over for a social event.
Interesting range of furniture in room though including plastic garden chairs but hey each to their own.
would I recommend yes, but remember a luxury hotel this is not - value for money absolutely !!

Reviewed by
Allison O

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good and would stay again

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buck hotel
Small but nice hotel/pub. Room was lovely and clean, bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was spotless.
Bar was a bit noisy late at night but what do you expect, it is above a pub.
No car parking at hotel apart from 2 hour parking disks available behind bar for roadway, this would be a problem apart from Sundays.

Reviewed by
S Reed

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of attention
Stayed in room 3. It was looking very 'tired', but the hole in the floorboards under the carpet was a bit worrying!
Breakfast wasn't great. Very poor quality sausage and the bread was stale.
This was not good value for money.

Reviewed by
Gareth H

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not bucks fizz
the buck hotel is not a hotel it is a pub a very noisy pub at that especially on a saterday night whole place needs an update would not go back thankyou

Reviewed by
john w

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WON'T BE BACK
First impression of the hotel is it needs to be thoroughly cleaned and decorated. The bedroom itself was ok but the shower was very temperamental (flowing hot then cold and little power). The bar area is very dark and drab and when we returned from our night out it was full of younger people who seemed to have been drinking in excess. The music was very loud and not somewhere I would recommend for a drink. I have stayed in many hotels and have been welcomed by the manager, I have still to meet the manager of The Buck Hotel! The staff themselve were very pleasant but there is definately something lacking here - management.

Reviewed by
Loraine McArdle

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay at the buck hotel friendly good accomadation and really good atmosphere
the hotel very clean and the atmosphere is very friendly good food and a lovely beer garden

Reviewed by
sharon nolan

From Torquay, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxed
We went for a short break, and were very happy with the Buck. The staff were great: helpful and friendly. We stayed in the family room, which had everything you need. It could maybe do with a lick of paint and a slightly bigger bathroom, but for a hotel of that age, space is precious!
The breakfast was lovely, just the right portion, and, a little thing, I know, the coffee was lovely.
It was a Friday night when we stayed, and the only negative would have been if we needed an early start in the morning, as the noise and music from the pub downstairs was quite loud. But we didn't, so it was fine!

Reviewed by
John C

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly pub basic but clean bed a bit uncomforable and shower small but friendly welcome and nice staff

Reviewed by
L johnston

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
Very friendly welcome, room very clean and warm, bed very comfy, managed to park right outside so that was a bonus I left something in the room which is very kindly being posted on to me would stay again no problem

Reviewed by
j mcclellan

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next