No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pines Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
34 36, Burlington Road , Swanage, BH191LT
The Pines Hotel enjoys an unrivalled position with a magnificent view over Swanage Bay on the South coast of Dorset near the historic village of Corfe Castle on the Isle of Purbeck.
The Hotel enjoys an excellent AA Rating of 79%.

Swanage is a gateway town to The Jurassic Coast , set in an area of great natural beauty and retains much of the charm of its Victorian heritage. It is an ideal location for the discerning visitor at any time of the year. The surrounding area offers great variety, from the medieval history of Corfe Castle and its hinterland of Hardy’s "Wessex", to the major cosmopolitan resort of nearby Bournemouth.

Many of our comfortable, well-appointed bedrooms have outstanding Sea Views. All have Private Ensuite Facilities, Flatscreen Freeview TV, Free Wi-Fi, Direct Dial Telephone and Baby Listening via a Mobile Handset for your convenience.

Our Seaview Lounges and Seaview Restaurant are on the level with easy access.
The Head Chef is justly proud of his excellent reputation. His "raison d’être" is to delight guests with a variety of splendid menus. With his enthusiastic team he uses only the finest fresh produce and makes full use of local specialities.
The Restaurant is personally supervised by an experienced Manager who ensures that you will receive the friendly, attentive service necessary to enjoy your meal – complimented by a wide choice of wines from the cellar.

Picture of The Pines Hotel, Swanage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely view,great food,helpful staff.
Our room had lovely sea views over to the Isle of Wight. The beach is strange as it's privately owned so you can't really stroll along it easily. The lounge area is modern and spacious and our room had a separate section for our son with its own TV- ideal. Food and bar at hotel good but if you want a stroll out to eat , shop etc it is a stretch but you could nip out in car as parking at hotel seems plentiful.

Reviewed by
A Walkey

From Torrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I Pine to be back!
Very pleased with my stay and experience. Would definitely return and recommend.

Reviewed by
Sharon W

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Excellent customer service. We liked our first room with a view of the hills but when we had a problem with low water pressure in our shower we were moved to a superior room with a seaview. Superb views from the restaurant, a huge wholesome breakfast and tasty evening meal, we'll certainly be returning.

Reviewed by
S Blain

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful!
The Pines is in an enviable position on the top of the cliff and only a short week to the beach and on to the wonderful little town of Swanage. I was in a ground floor sea view room, the room was comfortable and clean and the view was amazing. I was working and was able to connect to WIFI though the signal was a little faint at times. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent, and my newspaper was waiting for me at my table (a nice touch). This is a fantastic, relaxed and friendly hotel in an excellent position in Swanage, I strongly recommend the Pines.

Reviewed by
paula m

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice
We booked for one night at the last minute. We expected small, single rooms. We were delighted as each had a king-sized bed, in a beautiful room, with a lovely en-suite - small but well stocked! The breakfast was one of the best I've had. Everything was great, except for the noisy air-fan from the kitchens below - although this did switch off at 11pm until 7am. If you're sensitive to noises like that, it's worth checking. The hotel is also very well placed for walking along the coast and into Swanage town.

Reviewed by
Anne R

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice View.
The room was fine for a family of 4, though the extra bed was surplus and restricted space somewhat.
Fine views over the sea and the breakfast was hot and prompt. The service was good.

Reviewed by
Tim A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pines Hotel Swanage
A mediocre hotel that can only charge the prices they do because of its position and views.

Reviewed by
Douglas A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelllent Hotel but poor value evening meal
Excellent hotel, good decor, good facilities, all staff very good. But Evening meal was overpriced and poor quality, two teaspoons full of potato with meal, meat 25% grisle and fat ( pork) for £18, £6 sweet was cold pear with icecream under fancy title. Although breakfast was very good - full english, generous portions well presented on plate, and staff were very efficient. A mixed bag, would stay again but eat out in evening.

Reviewed by
Terence D

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied friendly staff great location and awesome view of

Reviewed by
S Barrett

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant hotel
First class stay. Would go out of my way to recommend this hotel to anyone

Reviewed by
C Mccrae

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next