No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 42 The Calls Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
42, The Calls , Leeds, LS27EW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

42 The Calls is a 18th Century riverside corn mill converted into a boutique hotel. From the beamed ceilings with their original Mill mechanism, to the handmade beds, and the extensive collection of original paintings and drawings, friendly touches such as home made shortbread and fudge, 42 The Calls has crafted each room to a unique character.
This homely boutique hotel, has an honesty bar to allow guests an alternative place to meet and relax outside of their bedrooms and has complimentary Wi-Fi internet access.
Original mill mechanisms protrude from the ceiling (once used for hauling the grain up from The River Aire). Cream paintwork, exposed brick walls and bold modernist colour schemes make up the interiors.
The hotel offers Study Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Director Rooms, Junior Suites and The Penthouse Suite and is a non smoking establishment.
Don't miss out on 42 The Calls legendary breakfast featuring an extensive 'sausage menu' celebrating local farmers produce, home made jams and marmalades, traditional Whitby kippers and all the trimmings to make a full Yorkshire breakfast which is definitely worth leaving home for.

Picture of 42 The Calls Hotel  , Leeds at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Leeds Accomodation
Really enjoyed our stay and would do it again

Reviewed by
Darren K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, lovely location. River view room was fantastic, nice to see the existing features of yhe building retained

Reviewed by
D Finch

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms. shame no parking and not clearly stated on website
Very nice, stylish room. Looking slightly tired but converted a long time ago. No tissues in holder. Room service late at night appreciated.

Reviewed by
Maria V

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, a hidden gem
Fantastic hotel in a great location, quirky and different. When we checked in the receptionist said we had her favorite room (I had requested river view) and it didn't disappoint - Room 304 is the only room with an alcove over the river and is the main picture shown for the hotel (as above), has bear brick walls, beams in the ceiling and the original winch still in place from when it was a corn mill. The receptionist was nice and welcoming, also little touches made a difference like a glass of wine on arrival and sweets in the room.
Located right next to the bridge over the river and a 5 min walk to the city center, bus and train stations. Great places to eat and drink all round and a quick walk down the river bank to the armouries. Don't miss breakfast! Full English with a choice of sausages
Will definitely stay there if we go to Leeds again.

Reviewed by
L Eubanks

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel lovely location in which we were made to feel very welcome upon arrival offered a glass of wine , great room with good facilities and complementty items

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel in a great location

Reviewed by
A Thompson

From Normanton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too noisy
The noise from this hotel is a great deal more than we expected. As a city centre hotel we knew it would be noisy but this was exceptional. The hotel is not boutique as it needs a great deal of renovation. Sadly we won't be staying again.

Reviewed by
Catriona E

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome recieved at this hotel
This is a boutique hotel and not the sort of place we would normally book, but I have to say the hotel, staff and customer service were second to none. Our large room was over looking the river Aire and our little dog was made most welcome with his own bowl and bottle of water!
There was a beautiful breakfast with a choice of 12 specialist sausages to choose from. The staff were very attentive and helpful.
Only down side for us was the lack of a car park, although there was a car park not too far away costing about £7.00 for the night. This would not put us off booking this hotel again though.
All in all, a well placed small hotel in a lovely location which is perfect for the night life of Leeds city centre.

Reviewed by
R Gormer

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable hotel
I arrived very late and the night manager was very helpful. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom was spotless but would benefit from somewhere to place your toiletries bag next to the sink. Loved the added bonus of the bathrobe. Will definitely stay again at Laterooms prices.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in Leeds
Perfect little hotel for a city break. Comfy rooms, a glass of wine on arrival and lots of nice touches. Definitely recommended!

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next