Reviews - Angel Inn


Angel Inn, Front Street, Alston, CA93HU

Price From 123.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (11)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • D Storey

  • July 2015

Angel inn

This is a really old pub / Guesthouse with plenty of character.

First impression of my room was not quite what I expected. But as I settled in I warmed to it. Nice clean bathroom and shower, tea and coffee making facilities in room. Bed was comfy room was clean. Only real complaint was would have liked a better tv.

The pub itself served excellent food, would certainly recommend the gammon steak. The manager and staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Would certainly use again, or if passing through would stop for a meal.

  • K Higgins

  • May 2015

over night stay

We had a very pleasant stay at the Angel Inn, the room was well proportioned and very clean and all the staff working there were pleasant and welcoming.

The free breakfast was substantial and set us up for the rest of the day.

  • Kim L

  • August 2014

One night stay

This was a one night stay to break our journey up to Scotland.

The welcome was fab - very helpful and friendly. This is an old Inn and should be recognised as such - it appears weary and worn in places but all was clean and tidy - on the whole ok for a short stay. Alston is a really beautiful part of the country.

  • J Tinsley

  • August 2014

A Welcome pint!!!

I stayed here with my walking buddy, we did a 26 mile charity walk.

We were late back so the kitchen was closed, the landlord made us the most fabulous ham sandwiches and lemon pie with cream. It was truly the best sandwich ever, he also provided us with a much needed pint of Blacksheep. He will never know how much we enjoyed it. The breakfast was also amazing absolutley massive!!. The room was basic but had everything we needed it was clean and warm. The people were so freindly and i think this is a perfect place for walkers to stay.

  • A K B

  • July 2014

Had difficulty finding the entrance which was 'round the back' and not signed.

Could do with a good scrub throughout - but a typical oldie pub. Staff very good and food was good.

  • malcolm p

  • July 2014

not to bad basic

shame about alston closed

  • p armstrong

  • July 2014

expensive for what you get

overpriced for what it was.

very basic, room furniture old and tired. shower was total waste of time would take me a week to get wet through. no mirror for my wife to do her hair/makeup in the bedroom only socket close to the mirror in the bathroom was too far away. Also strange loud rumbling sounds coming from something in the bathroom. I appreciate that Alston is used by a lot of walkers who aren't bothered about so called luxuries but it certainly wasn't worth nearly £60 a night . On the upside we couldn't fault the staff who were friendly and polite and the bar meals were excellent.

  • Tony A

  • June 2014

The Angel Inn is a traditional country inn packed with original features.

The hosts provide a warm welcome and excellent value for money.

  • Jackie B

  • January 2014

Great location

As expected, basic room but fine fir price.

Friendly staff. Great location in central Alston. Noisy but just what you'd expect on a Saturday night in a lively pub!

  • nigel c

  • December 2013

Good old style pub with a friendly chef but attention to detail was missing.

We couldn't get the telly to work an when I told the landlord the next morning he didn't seem surprised like it was a common occurrence. Sort out an easy to use telly or leave a set of instructions!.