No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Heroes Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Grainger Street, , , Newcastle, NE1 5JE
Heroes Hotel is within the walls of the City of Newcastle on Tyne. It is 10 metres from the famous 'Bigg Market'. You are within walking distance of the Theatre Royal, the Catherals, the Metro Arena, Newcastle United Football Ground, the Newcastle quayside and bridges. 'The Gate' entertainment complex, bars and Casino. The 'Eldon Square' Shopping Centre are only 100 metres from Heroes Hotel.

The Gateshead Metro Centre is a 15 min bus or train ride away. The whole of the North East history is within your reach, 'Hadrians Wall' is a World Heritage site, or visit the famous 'Vindolanda Roman Camp'

Also Fun days can be arranged such as paintballing, go-karting and clay pigeon shooting
Picture of Heroes Hotel, Newcastle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chip shop reception
It's very strange when you queue up behind people ordering cod and chips for your room key. Yes reception is a fish & chip shop of the same name. Clean but lacking in amenities - shower not working - had to ask for a towel - handles falling off etc / uncomfortable bunk beds -. I have amused many friends with my account of a night at this hotel. And having a few beers bought by your friends as you recount the tale is the best you are going to do here - Oh it's central, by the way.

Reviewed by
J Gorton

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

seagulls
Very Good location

Reviewed by
T Perfect

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heroes hotel
The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There was just a triple bunk bed in a room which would have been small for one person. Sheets were dirty. Hotel overpriced for what you get. Entrance to the hotel is through a kebab shop I wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
J B

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and chearful
Cheap and cheerful right in the heart of all the pubs and clubs

Reviewed by
Tyson B

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We knew exactly what we were expecting because we had looked at the website before we arrived, otherwise we'd have been a bit surprised to see the entrance through a fish and chip shop! However, as we were prepared and were only using the room to sleep in when we came in drunk, it really didn't matter. It was fit for purpose and we all quite enjoyed clambering into the three tiered bunk beds. Unfortunately Late Rooms hadn't transferred our booking properly so they were not expecting us so rather than a 6 bed room, we were in two 3 beds but again it didn't matter.
We really enjoyed ourselves and because of it's fantastic central location we would always recommend it to other groups of friends just looking for a bed for the night. It was fantastic value for money and we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very basic and not much room for 3 burly lads. One of the mattresses had had it's day and was fit only for a skip the other 2 in the triple bunk was fine however. This could have caused arguments if my friend had not very kindly agreed to suffer it. No tea or coffee making facilities and no towels provided. A portable radiator was provided on request. Took a while to heat up but then room was fine. The cleanliness was fair. Shower was hard to operate and took a lot of fiddling to get hot. Also was blocked! When reported to staff we were handed a plunger!! 1 of the doors was hanging off and this caused the shower to leak over the floor outside the shower which we were constantly mopping up with toilet roll. The location however is good very close for everything. The price I suppose is fair but I would not stay here again

Reviewed by
John Francis

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again very run down
We gave this place the benefit of the doubt because it says its a hotel but I think it was a misprint because its definitely missing the s, I'm a soldier of seventeen years and I would not go back to this place, do yourself a favour if you value your nights sleep and pay a bit more for a real hotel.

Reviewed by
darren H

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.