Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead


Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (196)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul B

  • December 2014

Good Hotel, but would not recommend the food!

Probably the worst meal I have had whilst away!

  • K Portman

  • December 2014


For the money, our expectations were a bit higher than we got and were therefore a wee bit dissapointed.

The room was adequate but I had to ask for more towels, tea bags and glasses. It was noisy, with hen and stags nights returning well into the early hours of the morning. The room was over the main entrance. The loung area was very impersonal and clinical, therefore we did not take advantage of the bar. The location to the City was very good.

  • J Smith

  • December 2014

Very friendly hotel

This is a first class hotel.

Great value for money. Very clean and staff look after you very well.

Had an evening meal each night of my stay and the food was first class. Could not fault this hotel at all.

  • Christopher Malko

  • November 2014

Sort of ok place to stay!

Wasn't 100% sure where to stay in Newcastle as we were there to do some Christmas shopping.

Picked the Ramada Encore mainly due to the price offered by last minute. Found the hotel ok despite the many road works in the area, it had adequate parking although a £5 charge per night is made. Wish hotels would stop charging to park as it does put people off. The hotel was clean, tidy but very business like. Room was the same, no bath only a walk in shower but it was a very good shower. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the town centre that was ok if your reasonably fit but not good if your elderly or find walking difficult due to the stairs & hill climbs involved. Would I stay here again, possibly but there are better placed hotels in the centre of your not travelling by car.

  • Colin S

  • November 2014

ok for revellers

if you want to stop at a hotel for stag and hen parties then this is the place,

people roaming around in underwear late at night

then girls dressed only in pyjamers at breakfast

  • Alexantrou S

  • November 2014

Good location if visiting the Newcastle business hub.

Perhaps a bit difficult to get to the metro system. Rooms were clean and practical.

  • M Garvey

  • November 2014

  • Andy M

  • November 2014

Room was a bit small

room ( and bed in particular) was a bit small .

Also the pre authorisation payment that they took from my credit card still hasnt been refunded , days after we have left hotel. . Tried to charge us for breakfasts that we didnt have too. A bit dissapointed. :/

  • P Bell

  • November 2014

Poor wifi

Not sure if the issue was a temporary glitch but could not get onto the wifi all evening; when away for business this caused a big inconvenience

  • Will A

  • November 2014

Superb clean hotel with great staff and so close to the centre of Newcastle(5 minute walk over the Tyne) easy to find and quiet!