No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD
Just 300 metres from the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Baltic Art Centre, this modern hotel has a stylish on-site restaurant, bar, gym, and free Wi-Fi throughout.
The hotel is located less than 20 minutes walk from Newcastle city centre, and the Quayside’s bars and restaurants are just a 10-minute walk away. The Sage, a performance and conference venue, is just 5 minutes’ walk away and Gateshead Metro Station is within a 15-minute walk.
There is a 24-hour business centre, which is free to use. Each contemporary, wooden-floored room includes a Freeview flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, and an en suite bathroom with power shower.
Picture of Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 256 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely, very modern and smelt nice and new. The only thing was the shower.....it was like a wet room with a glass partition with no door and the water pressure wasn't very good....I always like to have a nice powerful shower but this was quite disappointing...however i was able to wash under it so it did it's job.

Reviewed by
L Welsh

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Location is good for Millennium Bridge, Quayside and the Sage. Although, hotel very popular with hen and stag nights. Lots of noise as they arrive back in the early hours.
Breakfast OK but monotonous after a few days. Clean room, although bathroom looks good is very damp and no facility to dry towels, these can be changed daily. Sleep quality poor, beds are very soft and only 4ft 6in, kept rolling into the middle. Tried 2 rooms both the same!

Reviewed by
Janice H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly welcome on arrival
A clean friendly hotel worthy of a visit, decent prices for a family room,plus with me visiting with my 2 boys a brucey bonus kids eat free for breakfast.....👍😊 defo visit again, one happy customer !

Reviewed by
Andrew Williams

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Encore Encore.
Excellent modern hotel which was a pleasure to stay in.Will use again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
stephen cain

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No air con, wi fi down at times, towel hanging in the wrong place, no fridge, no shampoo.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel clean basic in very quiet area

Reviewed by
s burke

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
Sofa bed was appalling - General Manager said that she was aware they had some substandard sofa beds and would remove it from service. She would not compensate us for an extremely uncomfortable/sleepless night though; apparently we should have told them so that they could change our room (late at night with 2 children that had to be up at 6am). Here's a thought: if you are aware you have substandard family rooms, don't charge people to sleep in them; remove them from service!
Don't rely on a wake-up call. We asked for a wake-up call for 6am. We woke up at half past 6, almost missed our taxi - the taxi driver actually asked at the desk if we were there and was told, no! To add insult to injury, when we spoke to the general manager, she said we HAD received a wake-up call and that her staff were not in the habit of lying to her - implying we were! Unbelievably, she hadn't actually checked whether the call had been made to a different room in error or whether the phone was actually working. She did reduce our bill (whilst maintaining the call had been made) but by this point I was so frustrated by her lack of customer service and basic people skills that frankly, this was the least she could do.
On the plus side, the reception staff were friendly, professional and extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a bit noisy
The room was good but Saturday night was a bit noisy

Reviewed by
Robert G

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All included
Friendly and polite staff. Rooms are clean and the toilet is fine, but the shower area needs more attention. The breakfast filled a hole, but I can't expect much from a budget hotel. Comfortable bed. I would come back again and I recommend to anyone looking for a fuss free hotel.

Reviewed by
L Savage

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough but could have been cleaner
A perfectly adequate room, it has been finished to a pretty high standard although a couple of areas seem to get missed everytime the rooms gets cleaned.

Reviewed by
Mat S

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next