Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead


Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD

Price From 152.19 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (197)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Davies

  • September 2014

Never again!

Sofa bed was appalling - General Manager said that she was aware they had some substandard sofa beds and would remove it from service.

She would not compensate us for an extremely uncomfortable/sleepless night though; apparently we should have told them so that they could change our room (late at night with 2 children that had to be up at 6am). Here's a thought: if you are aware you have substandard family rooms, don't charge people to sleep in them; remove them from service. Don't rely on a wake-up call. We asked for a wake-up call for 6am. We woke up at half past 6, almost missed our taxi - the taxi driver actually asked at the desk if we were there and was told, no. To add insult to injury, when we spoke to the general manager, she said we HAD received a wake-up call and that her staff were not in the habit of lying to her - implying we were. Unbelievably, she hadn't actually checked whether the call had been made to a different room in error or whether the phone was actually working. She did reduce our bill (whilst maintaining the call had been made) but by this point I was so frustrated by her lack of customer service and basic people skills that frankly, this was the least she could do. On the plus side, the reception staff were friendly, professional and extremely helpful.

  • C Marshall

  • September 2014

A good location with easy walking access and excellent Q1 bus links. Very poor evening meal.

Our stay of 3 nights was spoilt by a very poor evening meal on the first day-- Monday 1st September 2014.

So we did not risk eating anything at all during our stay and trekked out to eat all our meals.

We have eaten good meals before at Ramada Encore so invited friends to join us for a meal to celebrate our arrival and a friends birthday. This turned out to be a disaster and was very embarrassing for all concerned including your staff. We were the first to sit down in the restaurant.. Yet we waited for about one hour for food. We did not receive the Roasted Mediterranean vegetables with goats cheese ordered as a starter by my wife.. Apparently this was not available being informed much later after a long wait. My wife also ordered Caesar Salad as a main course which consisted of just plain lettuce and Parmesan Cheese with a hint of dressing.(nothing like the details in the menu) More like a small starter and at a cost of £7.95. By then more and more customers were complaining to the waiters over the long delays of up to one hour and a half hours, poor quality and small quantity of food. This was very embarrassing. One of friends ordered Mussels with garlic and tomato sauce. Whilst he enjoyed this meal there was no bread or roll to use up the sauce or a spoon. The other two steak meals were OK except for midget sized portions. After this poor experience we did not bother with sweets. It appears that there was chaos in the kitchen with untrained staff with no supervision. One of my friends looked into the kitchen when passing to see what was going on and noticed items dropped and spilt on the floor. We were therefore very concerned about hygiene. We were offered an apologetic 25% discount which in no way compensated for a very spoilt evening. Never again. I gave a poor rating for the room as the mattress to the double bed was well used and sloped into the middle making sleeping uncomfortable (room 610). There was an intermittent whining noise which disturbed our sleep. This was possibly caused by the operation of a shower in adjacent room.

  • Janice H

  • August 2014

Good location

Location is good for Millennium Bridge, Quayside and the Sage.

Although, hotel very popular with hen and stag nights. Lots of noise as they arrive back in the early hours.

Breakfast OK but monotonous after a few days. Clean room, although bathroom looks good is very damp and no facility to dry towels, these can be changed daily. Sleep quality poor, beds are very soft and only 4ft 6in, kept rolling into the middle. Tried 2 rooms both the same!

  • L Welsh

  • August 2014

The room was lovely, very modern and smelt nice and new.

The only thing was the was like a wet room with a glass partition with no door and the water pressure wasn't very good....I always like to have a nice powerful shower but this was quite disappointing...however i was able to wash under it so it did it's job.

  • A Sedgwick

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel

Nice modern hotel with good facilities.

Only one issue, the bed was far too soft, it sunk in the middle

  • Andrew Williams

  • August 2014

friendly welcome on arrival

A clean friendly hotel worthy of a visit, decent prices for a family room,plus with me visiting with my 2 boys a brucey bonus kids eat free for breakfast.....👍😊 defo visit again, one happy customer .

  • s burke

  • August 2014

hotel clean basic in very quiet area

  • stephen cain

  • August 2014

Encore Encore.

Excellent modern hotel which was a pleasure to stay in.Will use again without hesitation.

  • Richard H

  • August 2014

No air con, wi fi down at times, towel hanging in the wrong place, no fridge, no shampoo.

  • Robert G

  • August 2014

Was a bit noisy

The room was good but Saturday night was a bit noisy