No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Raincliffe Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
21 Valley Rd, , , Scarborough, YO11 2LY
Welcome to the Raincliffe, we are a comfortable and well appointed licensed property, situated in a convenient position for leisure visitors, business people and conference delegates, with an almost level approach, though Valley Gardens, to Scarborough’s beautiful, favoured South Bay beach. We are the only accommodation that has achieved a ranking within the Top 8 on Tripadvisor and other Internet review sites for over 8 years due to our high levels of service, cleanliness and comfort which we offer to many discerning customers annually; we have a quality guest house for nice people. PLEASE NOTE THAT PARKING IS ON STREET DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF OUR BUILDING AND ALONG VALLEY ROAD, YOU WILL REQUIRE A COUNCIL PARKING PERMIT FROM OURSELVES AT A SMALL ADDITIONAL CHARGE. REGRETTABLY WE CAN ONLY ACCEPT WELL BEHAVED CHILDREN OVER THE AGE OF 8 YEARS.

Our sole aim is to offer all our guests' unrivalled comfort, value, quality and peace of mind - a 100% positive experience. We offer easy parking, evening meals (pre booking required) all freshly prepared and cooked on the premises, a comfortable residents' lounge, free wi-fi, digital televisions and a small bar, licensed until 22.00hrs. Run personally by the owners in a relaxed, friendly yet professional manner.

The main routes to Pickering, York, Whitby and Filey are easily accessible from Valley Road. Many attractions and amenities are within easy walking distance notably the town centre, beach, Spa Theatre, harbour, gardens, railway station. Please Note: We are fully non-smoking accommodation. No pets are permitted on the premises (only working pets are allowed). On street parking facilities available (Full CCTV security system is installed at the front/ rear of the premises). Strictly no food or drink allowed in the bedrooms, unless purchased on the premises. Check-in time 14.00 hrs, check-out time 10.00hrs.

We play host to many visitors to Scarborough, notably foreign professionals attending language courses at Anglolang School of English, visitors on business, delegates for various conferences, chess, bridge tournaments, Scarborough cricket festival, Jazz festival, Stephen Joseph Theatre, motor racing and many other special events.
Picture of Raincliffe Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mum/daughter weekend break
Ground floor garden room perfect for our stay.
Mum struggles with stairs so this was ideal.
Nice large, airy room. Beds comfortable and spacious bathroom. Toiletries provided a nice touch
Plentiful supply tea, coffee etc.
Mal and kath friendly hosts and breakfast is first class
Great choice and all good quality.
Didn't have any problems parking on road, plenty spaces despite the school holidays.
Would definitely stay at Raincliffe again.

Reviewed by
Christine Walsh

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Extremely friendly, Made very welcome. Food excellent, Room was very clean and well decorated. All in all a very enjoyable stay, great value.

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Armed forces weekend
A last minute booking for a Reunion.
Very pleasant welcome, room good quality & although we missed breakfast a sandwich was quickly presented on checkout. Will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
G Taylor

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Raincliffe Hotel
We had a short weekend break to attend a friends wedding and our stay was first class , from the moment we arrived Mal made us feel welcome and looked after, ordering us a taxi , letting us in the room a little early to get ready and sorting out a parking permit immediately outside the hotel. Our room was spotless, airy , bright and the bed very comfortable. Mal's wife Katherine spoilt us for choice at breakfast and the staff were cheerful and helpful. We had a very relaxing stay and did not want to come home , we have re booked for three nights in August , cannot wait.

Reviewed by
Susan W

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!
Hosts very warm and welcoming, accomodating and fun!

Reviewed by
Caroline K

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scarborough Weekend
The Raincliffe was clean and tidy and the breakfast was very good, but we felt the rooms where overpriced for what you got. we noticed other accommodation at at more reasonable price

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, we are glad that most aspects of your stay you considered positive and you hopefully enjoyed your time with us and in Scarborough. Regarding the aspect of overpricing - your 4 poster room has a completely brand new ensuite with Mira/Ideal Standard fittings and a sizeable 4 poster room with Willis Gambier Furniture throughout; this is actually our most requested room from our returning customers. Over 40% commission and VAT charges are deducted from the £176.00 (2 nights) you paid; these are costs that regrettably we have to pass on to you - the end user. Please feel free to inspect and compare the single room for £30.00 at nearby accommodation next time you are in Scarborough. Our rooms represent excellent value for the investment, comfort and service given and our discerning customers recognise this, apologies if you did not think this was so. If customers have any specific requirements or queries when booking, it is imperative we are contacted that way any misunderstandings are avoided.

Reviewed by
S Atkin

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good find in Scarborough
Raincliffe was a great find, perfect for attending conferences at The Spa and a short walk (uphill) into town. Very friendly, very clean, very nice.

Reviewed by
G Rice

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Find
Having in stayed in the more expensive and larger hotels in scarborough this last minute getaway wasn't supposed to be anything special just a night away.. How wrong could I be, the hotel was lovely, spotlessly clean and whilst a little chintzy for my liking it was a real gem. The hoteliers were helpful friendly and went out of their way, obviously loved what they did and it came through in their hospitality. I would go back in a flash and intend too on our next visit to the coast.

Reviewed by
Mandy Rodgers

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top marks
Stayed on 3.9.13 Very friendly owners who made me feel welcome. I stayed on business in room 16 which was recently decorated to a good standard. Bathroom was nice and bright. I would definitely stay again and book direct to save money. Top marks

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little B&B
Lovely little B&B with a very friendly welcome at the door. Nice and quite, good food in the morning and very clean. Talk to the owners direct for future discounts as they do a 3 for 2 deal.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next