No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Garden House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sarkfoot Road , GRETNA, DG16 5EP
More than just a fabulous wedding venue with large affordable accommodation, the Garden House Hotel is The Perfect Spot to meet for business meetings, to take a break on longer journeys or to simply relax in our beautiful gardens.

Whatever your reasons for visiting Scotland why not stop off and enjoy the relaxing surroundings of the Garden House Hotel in Gretna Green?

The hotel already has a fantastic reputation as a great romantic location for couples who want to get married in Gretna Green.

But the Garden House Hotel is also a great place to stay if you’re going on holiday and want to break the journey or just to recharge your batteries if you’re on an important business trip.

The hotel’s location, just off the M6, is ideal for a short comfort break, with affordable hot food, tea and coffee and free wi-fi to check those important email messages.

And while your phone recharges you can wile away a couple of hours in the beautiful and relaxing Japanese gardens. Or guests can make use of the superbly equipped conference facilities.

And for those wanting to stay a little longer the rooms are huge but the prices are reasonable.

In short The Garden House Hotel is a great place to get married or hold a civil ceremony, is ideal for business meetings, to break a longer journey or simply to chill out and relax.
Picture of Garden House Hotel, GRETNA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gretna weekend
We came from Notts for a wedding and were so pleased to find the hotel so easily The staff were lovely very helpful and the room was excellent value for the price The breakfast was very good and evening meal only plentiful We would love to re-visit and would recommend it without hesitation

Reviewed by
isabella adams

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Happy!
We stayed for one night on the 18th March 2014. We booked a deluxe room and were allocateded room 111 on arrival.
The mattress underneath the plastic incontinence sheet was soiled with what appeared to be dried blood. The bed appeared unmade, the room was grubby. In the bathroom the tiles were mouldy and a hatch had been left unlocked which gave access to a void between the cavity wall. The body hairs of previous occupants were still in the bath.
We went to the reception and asked for another room. The young lad didn't offer any type of apology, but just gave us another key as if this was normal practice.
The replacement room was better but in need of a proper clean and a lick of paint. The settee was broken. The bathroom was shabby and had loose floor tiles.
The carpet and stairwells looked as if they had not been vacuumed in months.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does the job
Budget accommodation with good value breakfast.

Reviewed by
Cara D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No compliants
The hotel was easy to find and staff were welcoming.
It's set in a nice location, has keen prices and friendly staff.
The rooms were spacious, very clean, but starting to show signs of the need for a freshen up.
The only real negative for us was that the hotel was very empty on the night we stayed, so little atmosphere in the bar/restaurant area.
Would stay there again if needed.

Reviewed by
B Hasler

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location great hotel great staff would highly recommend hotel to stay at

Reviewed by
N Houliston

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting family in Gretna
We only had breakfast, which was very nice, the room was well appointed, although not thoroughly cleaned, and possibly a bit dated, but very comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful, and for the price we paid, it was excellent value and we will return next time we visit the area.

Reviewed by
P Holt

From Port Erin, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value hotel. Lovely staff.
Stayed for one night. Very pleasant staff. Huge room. Slightly dated but for the price, really can't complain!
Breakfast was fine. Self service. Not the best of quality but again, to be included in the price, bargain!

Reviewed by
Victoria S

From dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money

Reviewed by
brian paxton

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, excellent welcome and service. Would not hesitate to recommended.

Reviewed by
Heather F

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value
Cheap and cheerful

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next