No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Indigo Newcastle

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2/8 FENKLE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5XU
Situated on Fenkle Street, Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse , delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience. Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the citys art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Each room has air Conditioning, LCDTV, invigorating rainfall shower with luxurious toiletries and bathrobe as well as complimentary Wi-fi and a selection of complimentary items from the mini bar. Over 80 car parking spaces are available on site at the Hotel.
Picture of Hotel Indigo Newcastle, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient and very modern
Helpful reception, clean stylish hotel, well placed in central New castle can't fault it.

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From Near Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central. Clean comfortable accommodation. good breakfast Helpful staff

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first stay in Newcastle
Very helpful staff on the front desk friendly good local knowledge. Didn't like the toiletries not my personal taste mint and rosemary I enjoy a mint tea don't want to shower in it . Personal choice. Lovely big towels. Comfy bed birdy neighbours noisy it was kittiwake time of year. A very good meal in the restaurant as a coeliac i was well catered for. thank you, i could eat with confidence desert was very yummy and decent portions price was right for a satisfying meal very good service. I will be staying again. Why do I always get the car park view? A Father Christmas lunch event looked most odd in June. A great stay.

Reviewed by
L Clark

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
I do not often write reviews but really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Indigo. It is central, the staff were friendly and efficient, the room was modern, clean and comfortable and I really liked the decor. Bed comfy, shower great, did not hear any noise from anyone else and slept like baby. Was quite excited to find the mini bar was free (soft drinks only) so did my work and had a few snacks!

Reviewed by
mary lewis

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel indigo
Beautiful hotel. Room was spacious and very comfortable with everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Close to train station and shops

Reviewed by
J Lucas

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean Modern but Pricey Hotel
A clean and modern hotel that likes to charge for extras. Car park £12, breakfast £12-£16. This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Newcastle and within walking distance of all amenities but due to the cost of £99 for a standard (SMALL) double which is no better than a Premier Inn room I would advise anyone to shop around.

ManagementResponse

Dear M Stradling, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to know that you found our property to be modern and neat. I apologize if you were dissatisfied with the charges for parking and breakfast. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Sincerely, Pam

Reviewed by
M Stradling

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely loved the bedroom and my stay at the hotel. The only reason for a lower score on the food is due to it being a steakhouse and grill and I'm a vegetarian so not much option for me. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Lucy Cawson

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marco Pierre White's hair loses a point for Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
I booked the Hotel Indigo in Newcastle, determined to look for faults (of which more later). As I was travelling later than I thought, I phoned ahead to let them know I would be arriving late. The receptionist who took my call was charm itself and assured me that was no problem at all. When I arrived, the receptionist knew who I was immediately, and that I had phoned ahead. I couldn't help thinking this is what is meant by customer service. Where is the fault in that. Arriving late meant that I had missed dinner at the restaurant (last orders at 9:30 pm). This is where customer service kicked in for real. With her local knowledge, the receptionist recommended a Chinese restaurant nearby. She advised to ignore the decor, and concentrate on the food. It was the best Chinese this side of the Yangtze river! Where is the fault in that, again. And so back to the room; clean and modern, with all the mod cons, and with complementary mini-bar thrown into the bargain; a boutique in every sense. Then a wall-to-wall number described as a double bed. I'm sure there is something in the Trades Description Act against calling a bed of this size a double. If you were to have a tiff with your loved one here, you could easily be sleeping in separate rooms if you take one side of the bed each. Where is the fault in that. The best part for light sleeper me was the black-out curtains. I awoke the next morning in a panic because my watch said it was past 7:00 am, but it was complete darkness inside. I opened the curtain to find Newcastle bathed in the most glorious sunshine; the one day Newcastle has had sunshine this spring, and I almost missed it! Breakfast was sumptuous, but the service was even more so. By now I had marked Hotel Indigo Newcastle 11 out of 10, and I had not found a single fault. Just as I thought I'd have to come to terms and accept this is an exceptional hotel, I saw a picture of Marco Pierre White tucked on a wall somewhere. Marco Pierre White is rich and can afford a barber, so why has he got long hair? Why is he not like that other foul-mouthed Scot, Gordon Ramsey, who pays someone to cut his hair? I thought this deserved one point off, which meant the Hotel Indigo had scored 10 out of 10.
I checked out after breakfast, leaving my luggage behind to collect later. When I did later that afternoon, I was seen off with the same ready smile and politeness which make you think you are the only person who matters at that time. After asking about how I had found my stay, I was made to promise I would come back to stay again; at which point I reinstated the one point Marco Pierre White had cost them. So the Hotel Indigo Newcastle scores 11 out of 10, for class, style and unrivaled customer service. If you are going to Newcastle, make it your first choice. No, make it your only choice.

Reviewed by
N Tackey

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay here
This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and this experience was as good as the first even though this was a business trip. The staff are so lovely they make it an absolutely pleasurable place to come.

Reviewed by
Jo W

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Class
Staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble and always with smiley faces

Reviewed by
James S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next