Reviews - millfields hotel


53 Bargate, Grimsby, DN34 5AD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • david s

  • December 2014

Reception staff very welcoming and friendly at both arrival and departure.

Bar staff were stretched and were more attentive to regulars. Choice of food by 9.00 pm restricted and rather expensive. Breakfast staff very friendly. Good range of food but a bit dried up

  • Joan C

  • October 2014

Room 24

Room 24 is ground floor, looking out onto rear car park.

The room is large with plenty of space and the en suite is lovely. Shower could have been more powerful but it was adequate and everything was very clean and attractive. We have recently moved from Grimsby to Scotland and we are familiar with Millfields over many years although this is the first time we have stayed overnight. We will definitely try to book there again when we visit Grimsby in the future because it meets our needs, safe parking, close to old haunts and comfortable. In our experience staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • d smith

  • October 2014

David's review

Welcome, bar staff and breakfast fine.

Had to wait a very long time for some simple food despite the bar staff constantly badgering the kitchen. Bar staff were embarrassed by their colleagues who weren't busy

  • Jane P

  • July 2014

The rooms are of varying outlook

The receptionist was delightful.

Very efficient and friendly. She showed us to a very nice room on the ground floor but after she had gone, we realised that staff were sitting on a bench just outside smoking and the smell was wafting in through the window. As it was a hot day we could not have stayed in the room with the window shut so we asked to change. We were shown to a lovely room on the first floor which was far brighter and more pleasant where the windows opened properly. Whilst the receptionist dealt with all this commendably promptly, it does beg the question of why, when the hotel was clearly very quiet, we could not have been given the better room in the first instance. Lateroom discrimination, I wonder.

  • Tracy H

  • July 2014

nice hotel

Very comfortable room, staff attentive, good location.

  • Kevin Barr

  • July 2014

Great value

Very nice hotel.

Quiet considering the busy road. Friendly staff. Cheaper than a national budget chain. Reasonable bar prices. Will definitely stay again.

  • Gail M

  • June 2014

too few staff

Stayed on a Saturday night.

The bar was very busy. There was not enough staff. I waited at the reception desk for more than 15 minutes before being attended to. No dedicated reception staff. The member of staff that finally got to me was pleasant and attentive.

  • A Taylor

  • June 2014

One night stay

Stayed for a single night whilst visiting family.

Friendly service and well presented.

  • j wraith

  • June 2014

Great Hotel

I booked the accommodation for a birthday surprise for my son the hotel staff went out of there way to make it special for him, the room was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Michael W

  • April 2014


This is the only place i would choose to stay in Grimsby (i have stayed three times).

Staff are welcoming, rooms are spacious, with gym facilities on site. I even managed to get a game of squash in as well. A nice bar with a friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend.