No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 204 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfinished room
Room 211, Ceiling wasnt even painted, Metal trucking still exposed and rust in the bathroom. The doors are paper thin and you can here everone talking or walking outside. Room was above the bar and the windows didnt shut out the noise at all. Finally got sleep at 3.30 am! terrible place

Reviewed by
M Hawks

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night executive double with balcony wouldn't stay again
First of all, arrival was awkward and parking almost impossible, 3 u turns later from the busy main road and ending up on a multi story about a mile away! Hotel lobby looked nice, check in quick. Room was very dissapointing on first impressions, the so called balcony was barely 6x6 with 2 cheap chairs no table and an industrial view of the back of the hotel. It's also separated from the rest of the room. Waste of cash so would advise against unless a smoker! Carpets tired and worn, paint on walls marked, tiles in bathroom chipped. We got moved from first room due to fault with plug in bath and 2nd room standard of decor was identical, overall tired looking! Would I stay again, probably not and certainly wouldn't pay for an exec double with balcony, maybe a basic room at a cheap rate yes.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay overall. Very good price- just over £300 for 4 nights with parking. Well equipped room and helpful staff. Great location, easy walking distance to lots of things in Newcastle and right next to a metro station. Only issue was that one of the shower heads was very black and clogged up and on our last night we noticed that 2 of the pillow cases had mould marks on them. Admittedly we didn't mention it at the time, as only noticed at about 11pm and we had two perfectly good pillows that we could use. I get the impression that the staff would have corrected this for us had we of asked them to. Despite this issue we would stay again.

Reviewed by
S McCance

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay, over priced, lifts broke again...
Stayed here twice now, elevators broke both times, which meant climbing 8 flights of stairs and 10 flights of stairs. Thought it was a bit overpriced although, if you fish around for dates, you can get a decent deal.

Reviewed by
I Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with lovely staff. Disappointed with room and food even though we were upgraded.
The whole point of our night away was to get away, relax and lie in as we were child free for one evening. Our room (even though we were upgraded) overlooked a building site and we were woken up early morning by the site noise, we were really disappointed with this.
We paid an additional £11.95 each for breakfast and the food was cold, eggs were rubbery as they had been sat there some time. We could've had a better breakfast at the wether spoons. I brought this up at front desk but just a sorry to hear that was given.
Wasn't impressed with that as it ended our stay on a poor note. It's not often I have a breakfast cooked for me, abs as an exhausted mum my break was not as great as I had anticipated.
Please pass my feedback on to Louchia the reception manager.

Reviewed by
Ashly Watson

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel lovely stay all round very very polite staff would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
l wood

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel. Dead central to nightlife, bars and shops. Quite hotel. Great facilities.

Reviewed by
K Fisher

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Stayed at the hotel before and was pleased with the room so decided to book again and wasnt dissapointed. Will definetly stay again

Reviewed by
Marco A

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable and welcoming stay
The Sandman is an excellent hotel in a brilliant location near the city centre. The staff were very friendly and if there was anything wrong they rectified it immediately I had a problem with evening meal and the staff were very helpful and the manager gave us his apologies and a free drink to. The breakfast was very good and plenty of variety I really enjoyed my short stay at this hotel.

Reviewed by
C Rigby

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation review.
Excellent accommodation, on the floor that I wanted, good value for money - pity the food and bars weren't the same!

Reviewed by
Ian Murray

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next