No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 211 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent from start to finish
Arrived at the hotel & was amazed at the friendliness of staff. Hotel accomodation was 2nd to none & would recommend family & friends to stay there...only down side was parking but that is been picky. The rooms were spotless & the view looking at st james park was stunning.

Reviewed by
martin trow

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!!
I have no negatives! We arrived exceptionally early and had the intention to ask the hotel to keep our case until check-in time. We were pleasantly surprised when reception told us we could have our room early as it was ready. The room was spacious, clean and to be honest was so good we didn't want to leave. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for the shops, pubs and restaurants. All in all a fantastic hotel we will definitely be booking again.

Reviewed by
E Limpitlaw

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy short stay

Reviewed by
B Pattison

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boiler Packed in on stay NO HOT WATER
Very dissapointed that the Boiler packed in at the hotel, and no alternative hot water was available, no back up boiler etc, When paying in excess of £100 a night you expect a bit better, and also only to be offered a 'better rate' on your next stay is appauling.

Reviewed by
Garry P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful hotel, great location
Absolutely beautiful hotel in a great location. Staff were all great hosts and tailored to our every need. would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying in the future. 5/5 rating!

Reviewed by
ellen askew

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
This was my first stay at the Sandman and it's a lovely hotel. The room was very clean and tidy and had a nice decor. Very comfortable bed. The only downside for me was that I was unable to shower in the morning as the hot water wouldn't work (presumably to do with the water pressure). It was also a shame that there was only 1 packet of the nice biscuits!!!

Reviewed by
Lee S

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay, the room and the hotel were spotless. Within walking distance if the weather is ok, you were able to get complimentary tea, coffee or hot chocolate in the lobby. The staff were all friendly and helped with any questions we had about the town as we were visitors. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
D McDiarmid

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous!!
We stayed at the Sandman Signature for a lovely treat and little get away. Walking in the reception was fab and the staff were absolutely brilliant, they were so helpful and literally could not have done anything more to help us. The room was spotless and very modern. The hotel provided a car park across the road which was £8 and that took us until the next day at checkout. Very reasonable. Would definately stay there again and would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
A Stevenson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Met our expectations and more! Perfect location!
We stayed at this hotel for one night and from check in right up until check out we were very impressed with the hotel and the staff who went that extra mile to ensure our stay was pleasant! Our room was a good size for what we needed it for and was very clean on arrival. We ordered room service which arrived promptly and was very reasonably priced. We ordered breakfast the morning after and this too was also very nice and there was a good selection to chose from. The hotel itself is set in an excellent location.. overlooking St James park which is across the road and a stone throw away from the shopping centre, restaurants and bars. We also had a late check out as part of our deal until 2pm which worked very well as we was able to leave the car in the car park whilst we went shopping. Parking for 24 hours cost around £8. We will definitely be returning to this hotel again and have since recommended it to all our friends and family who may visit Newcastle in the future. :-)

Reviewed by
C Daniel

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, good value for money
Hotel was very nice, in a really good location. Hotel staff couldnt be nicer really helpful and polite.

Reviewed by
Lee P

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.