Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle


Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Price From 204.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (170)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Georgina C

  • September 2014

Great experience

Had a fab nights stay.

Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough. Bed was comfortable and the room was lovely.

  • Audrey C

  • September 2014

Ideal location

Ideally situated between the city centre and the RVI where my husband had been admitted for a few days, both within easy walking distance.

  • Martin C

  • August 2014

Great value, great location and great service

Most happy with our stay here.

Location can't be beaten. Close to everything but away from the immediate noise of the town centre. Room was great - modern, clean and everything we needed. Service was very pleasant, and parking charges reasonable for a city centre hotel. Didn't try the bar or restaurant - looked nice, but no need as all the town has to offer is right on the doorstep!

  • Debbie Steel

  • August 2014

Pleasant accommodation

Our room was comfortable if somewhat compact.

All clean and tidy. The fan didn't work in the wet room so stayed steamy. The water just went everywhere from shower so made the bath mat soaked . Needs some thinking about ... It was a particularly noisy area, sirens going all night long and it was a Sunday evening. Twice in the night it sounded like someone tried to get in our room

  • Paul W

  • August 2014

Excelent accomodation central to newcastle.

Decided to book a late room and stay for a night and experience newcastle nightlife.

Had a warm welcome and recieved a free £15 voucher to spend on drinks or food, free bottle of bubbly on arrival, free breakfast and late checkout which we did not expect. Rooms were to the high standard as we always expect from sandmans as this is our 4th time staying here. Only slight problem within the room was the aircon made a noise through te night everytime it fired up. Recieved out breakfast on the morning with a large selection from cerials, fruit and juice to full english breakfasts and service providing tea and coffee. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • H halbert

  • August 2014

lovely stay

Very impressive reception.

Very polite staff. Room nice and modern but a little on the small side and the ceiling in desperate need of painting. Overall a lovely stay and enjoyable weekend.

  • S Pleace

  • August 2014

Mostly good, would visit again

Booked Sandman at very short notice i.e.

day before for a two night stay. Courteous staff and clean lobby with free tea and coffee in the lobby made a pleasant start. The room was fine, made up with a spare bed and it had a kitchen area although that wasn't used by us.

The far side of the bedroom floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered but otherwise room was fine although the building work at the back of the hotel and the loud air units located behind the hotel made for a noisy night, early morning. The bathroom was pleasant however there was no lock on the glass sliding door and there was a gap where anyone could see into the bathroom from one side of the bedroom. This seems like a massive design flaw. Overall was fine for our needs and reasonably priced but wouldn't class it four star.

  • I Suttle

  • August 2014

Passing through

  • L Holt

  • August 2014

Cheeky night away

Hotel is super clean and tastefully decorated.

Had a lovely stay and the bed was very comfertable The staff were very accommodating and i would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Would definetly stay again. Good location for night life too, overall an excellent night away.

  • Thomas V

  • August 2014

Great location and a good quality hotel

The room was a junior suite and possessed all the amenities expected of a quality hotel.

An iron that worked, plentiful televisions and a great shower. The bed was firm and very comfortable and overall the hotel was very quiet. The location is excellent with pubs, restaurants and the city centre a very short stroll away.