No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 200 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
We were going to a show at the Metro Arena and needed somewhere to stop overnight. The walk was a bit further than advertised but ok - about 15 minutes. Directions were a bit confusing but parking was ok. Room was fine - clean and comfy. Breakfast was plentiful. Would recommend it for a city visit for shopping

Reviewed by
Ann R

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay... June 2013
Hotel was great, lovely room with great views. Staff were friendly and approachable! Location is fantastic, opposite St James' Park, near shops, restraints and bars etc. Parking nearby! Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
D Burn

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, excellent location, friendly helpful staff. Ideal for our requirements.

Reviewed by
J Pratt

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely, really modern an lovely comfy bed. But it wasnt clean, there were hair grips an hair ffrom previous guests. The glass hadn't been cleaned as a smiley face was evident when any condensation appeared and there was foundation on glass/bathroom surfaces from previous guests.

Reviewed by
Emma I

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
From start to finish the Sandman provided us with a great stay. The reception staff were excellent, very friendly and knowledgable about all the good places to eat and how to get around.
The room was lovely, compact, but clean, bright and the bed was very comfy.
We sampled the room service on one night and it was fantastic. The service was very quick and it was one of the nicest pizzas we have ever had.
The only minor, teenie weenie, ever so small problem was the bath towels, its barely worth mentioning but I am built on the comfy side and the towels did go around me but a bigger towel would have been great. Like I said barely worth mentioning
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience, giving you a beautiful view of Newcastle, the customer service was good, however we didn't receive out dressings-gowns and our room didn't have a large mirror as shown

Reviewed by
S Masood

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, good access, clean, excellent value for money. Clearly a popular conference centre. Dinner was good, breakfast acceptable. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful and friendly. Good choice.

Reviewed by
P Prosser

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great modern hotel
Stayed for 1 night as was going to watch the Toon play. Room on 9th floor overlooking St James Park (thanks for giving me a room on that side of hotel).
Room was spacious with comfortable king sized bed, modern bathroom with great wet room.
Breakfast good; Staff very friendly. Great central location for shops and other attractions

Reviewed by
brian s

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must try harder
no car park is a bit of an issue. not helped by the fact Newcastle were playing Arsenal !!!
At check in Credit Card was requested for pre-authorisation, did that not a prob. managed to get the car parked and was advised it would cost £8, not a prob, asked that it be added to my bill, was asked for my CC for pre-authorisation, told them it had been done, they said no, i said yes, they found the person, they said sorry, car parking for free as good will gesture for the unexpected hassle. Check out next day parking charge was added to the bill, thanks for nothing!! its the simple things that matter most, sorry but you fell short.
Breakfast £17 i could have got a better deal at McDonalds and the food would have been better.

Reviewed by
Scott Forsyth

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel
I would recommend this hotel to all family and friends. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very plush and done to a very high standard. Great location to get to all nightlife and restaurants.

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Brierley hill, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next