Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle


Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Price From 178.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (170)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L McShane

  • February 2015

Damp smell

My husband and I stayed in a gorgeous room spoiled by an awful smell of damp.


  • February 2015

great location

Great location and a trendy bedroom, that's all the good things I have to say about this hotel.

The breakfast room is not very appropriate being a bar. Seats are uncomfortable and food was tasteless. Customer service was poor. The young girl at reception did not even acknowledge me as I was standing in front of her.

  • Ria R

  • January 2015

The room and its fittings were very dated.

I found the room cold and the heater was industrial and noisy.

Despite asking for a room with a view I was placed in the 1st floor where the view was road traffic. I think the hotel does have potential if the rooms were updated.

  • josh riley

  • January 2015

best hotel in newcastle

We where staying 2 nights one of them being a match day and we where a little bit concerned.

No need to be at all l, what an experience!!. We loved every second been there and never wanted to leave. Room was lush. The hotel is lush. The staff where top class. Fantastic stay. We will be back!!!

  • Anne Catherine F

  • January 2015

The room was very cold and the walls and ceiling where badly painted. The glass doors dangerous.

We expected the receptionists to ask if everything was OK but to no avail.

  • John Dear

  • January 2015

Excellent hotel in City Centre

The only fault we found was that the room was very cold and there were damp patches in the window recesses.

The heater was quite difficult to work,

  • Craig Edwards

  • January 2015

Would stay again

  • John M

  • January 2015

Modern central hotel

We had a 2 night stay and the accommodation was great, spotlessly clean and free wifi in room, staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Ellie I

  • January 2015

Excellent stay

Stayed here for New Year's Eve.

Fantastic hotel with lovely views. Staff lovely and helpful and restraunt attached to the hotel is fantastic. Best steak I have ever tasted. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Lynne G

  • January 2015

Good, but the bargain offer suggests much more for the special price.

The location is excellent and both access and car parking are convenient.

The hotel is very good in every respect: clean, attentive staff, good atmosphere in the bar... The room we had overlooked St Jmes's Park. The hotel has a modern/contemporary feel about it. My only slightly negative comment is that the special offer suggests that the full price is relating to a hotel with that little extra such as spacious bedrooms, being a hotel that is a part of the weekend away experience rather than just a very nice place to shower and sleep and maybe offers fine dining experiences etc. having said that, the special offer price paid was right for what we got but I would have expected more for ore money.