You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle


Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (101)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Rachel B

  • May 2016

The Sandman gave us a lovely nights sleep

The room was clean, fresh & modern with a lovely view.

We had the free bubbly and late check out and champagne was in the fridge waiting for us. The room had everything you'd want - microwave, kettle, fridge etc but was a little small. The shower drainage wasn't the best and the fridge section didn't have a door so whirred all night but it didn't detract from a lovely room. Check in staff were pleasant but breakfast was a bit disorganised (some food sections were empty when we went and we had to ask for them to be refilled) it wasn't particularly hot either but still, food choice was good and tasty. An enjoyable stay :)

  • J Tennet

  • March 2016

Great stay everything you need and more!

Room and hotel in general was excellent from the front reception to our room we were well impressed, even being room Newcastle just staying in the city centre we loved it!

  • Rhona P

  • March 2016

48 hours in Newcastle

very central hotel, reasonably priced parking, easy walking to everywhere we wanted to visit, family room was perfect for 2 adults and 2 teenagers and kitchen was a real bonus with everything we needed for quick breakfasts and snacks.

Will recommend to others and plan to stay again.

  • Laura D

  • March 2016

Great hotel and location!

Excellent service, polite reception staff.

Hotel room was clean and good quality. Ideal location to the city centre and St James Park. Would stay here again.

  • M Gray

  • March 2016

Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

For the price you pay the room was very small.

  • J Wright

  • March 2016

Great weekend shame about the football

If you are thinking of spending a weekend watching NUFC you could not pick a hotel that's nearer the ground.

First class hotel unlike the football team who seem on their way to the Football League.

  • R Hughes

  • March 2016

Sandman Review

Enjoyed our stay at the sandman for a football weekend.

Fantastic staff and quick service. Room was a little disappointing as it was quite noisey at night being about the road, also a few unwanted hairs wete clearly visible on the bed and carpet needed a hoover. Great location, happy with the stay.

  • Emma Coulter

  • March 2016

Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

Myself and my boyfriend had an excellent weekend.

We could not complain about the hotel it was fab.

  • R Pollard

  • February 2016

Birthday weekend for girls

We brought my friend's daughter in for a weekend for her 18th.

From the minute we arrived at the hotel, we had a great time. The receptionist was very friendly and upgraded us to 2 x suites on learning I use them for work bookings and more importantly it was a special weekend trip for us. Hotel Very clean, extremely comfortable beds - wanted to take the pillows home - and a great location.

  • I Stewart

  • February 2016

Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

Beautiful hotel and fixture and fittings only cleanliness issue was the net curtain in our room very quite dirty with some mould patches on and one side of the bathroom mirror wasn't very clean.

However, everything else was spotless. The coffee machine in the reception wasnt working and the recepitonist was clearly not trained on how to look for the problem she did appologise but I was left dissapointed that I couldn't have my morning latte and had to go to greggs around the corner.