Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle


Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Price From 205.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (161)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Shannon

  • July 2015


Stayed here on Saturday in room 306.

Arrived at 2 and and let into room early which was great. Had paid £140 for room and felt this was a lot for such a small room. Room was modern and bathroom was very nice. Main problem the room was far to hot and ended up with very restless sleep. Only far side window would open and air con was terrible. Was my birthday weekend and they left a card and 1 bottle of beer for this. All in all didn't completely spoil my weekend but expected more for my money.

  • Alex P

  • July 2015

Excellent Stay

Stayed over after a graduation ceremony and was an excellent hotel, would definitely return.

The bed was very comfortable and the wet room was a beautiful touch.

  • Rosie D

  • April 2015


Beautiful modern Room with a really comfy king size bed and amazing shower/wet room

  • V Rose

  • April 2015

Great location

Great location for a short trip, very close to the town center, train station etc.

The room was small but good value for the price we paid. Could do with a mirror beside a plug socket for getting ready.

  • Mbiye M

  • April 2015

Outstanding Accomodation

Very clean, quiet and comfortable.

Excellent customer service.

  • Lee Wilson

  • April 2015

Amazing hotel

What can I say, This hotel is amazing.

Staff were really friendly and could not fault the cleanliness of the room. We got a bottle of bubbly on arrival which was a nice touch and complimentary late check out. The location was absolutely perfect too. Will definately be coming back here without a doubt!


  • April 2015

Good but smelly

Room small but clean and shower lovely and hot.

Strong smell of damp in room that did not diminish and noisy heater but switched that of as not needed. Bed comfy. In morning manager apologetic about damp smell and offered upgrade on next visit but I won't go back

  • Stuart Burman

  • March 2015


I'm a massive newcastle fan and have wanted to stay here for a while.

Staff I cannot fault them they were friendly and helpful. I was very disappointed with the room, the room was freezing cold but the heater was so loud and noisy I couldn't hear the tv and certainly couldn't sleep with it on. The lights either Side of the bathroom mirror didn't work, the iron ruined one of my shirts as the face of the iron had something melted to it which I didn't notice and also. The only good point of the room was the view of St James park. Overall opinion the hotel looks great but lacks the quality of what it's trying to be, really disappointing.

  • S Gascoigne

  • March 2015


Had an awful experience with the bath, the tap connection came off fully and the water gushed all ove my partner from the wall, the room was average.

We were moved to another room and offered 2 glasses of wine which I can only imagine was an apology but not a very good one. I took my partner as a surprise and it wasn't an enjoyable stay at all. Waiting for a response from the hotel as we speak.

  • Steven H

  • March 2015

Expensive Hotel but Great Location

Here on a weekend break with my wife.

The location of the Hotel is directly opposite the football stadium on a very busy road (expect noise) All within easy walking distance are: China town 3 min, the town centre & shopping centre (John Lewis) 10 min, 15 min restaurants & bars with Quay side (walk bridge) 20mins through town centre, these points make the hotel a great location. That said that's it. The hotel entrance is modern & very welcoming with good lifts and friendly staff with parking straight over the road (£8 per night). We stayed in a double room that was very small, too small. I had to walk sideways along the wall to get into bed as there was not enough space to walk normally. We are normal size people & having swapped with my wife she had to do the same (think caravan and you would have more room in that) Breakfast was £12 per person in the Sharks bar joining the Hotel. We thought was rather expensive and choose to eat in the centre as lots of choice & inexpensive.